Barrie Day Camp - Silver Spring Maryland - Information, Reviews, Ratings
Categories > Equestrian/Horseback Riding, Swimming, Traditional,
Email this to a friend Email this page  Printer friendly format Printer friendly


Barrie Day Camp

3 Stars based on 6 reviews (review)

Camp Directors - Update this Listing

Camp Location: 13500 Layhill Road, Silver Spring, Maryland, 20906, United States
Ages: 4 - 14
Gender: Male and Female
Camp type:Day
Session dates: June 11, 2007 to June 10, 2007
Cost (range): $340/week to $438/week
Contact Person: Peter Vogdes, Director
Phone: 301-576-2816
Fax: 301-576-2805
Mailing Address:
13500 Layhill Road
Silver Spring, Maryland, 20906
United States
Camp Website

Camp's Description

The Barrie Camp, founded in 1932, is open for nine weeks on the 45-acre wooded campus of The Barrie School. Our facilities include a pool, riding stables and an assortment of school buildings, including a full size gymnasium and black box theater.

The Regular Camp program includes a wide range of on-site activities, including swimming, riding, sports, nature, arts and crafts, dance or movement, music, creative dramatics, canoeing, archery, karate, cooperative games, morning Flagpole, Special Event Days and, for certain age groups, field trips, overnights, and counselor-in-training programs.

The Barrie Camp also offers campers Specialty Camps for Riding, Video Arts, Theater, Art, Sports, Nature, Karate, and Leadership Training.

Before and after camp supervision and bus service is available.


Barrie Day Camp View Larger

Camp Reviews     Write an online review for Barrie Day CampWrite a review


Showing 1 to 6 of 6 reviews.    | 1 |
Real Camp - Great!!! September 08, 2011
Reviewer: LBurton from Silver Spring, MD
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I can't understand the parent who commented about their younger child having a bad experience at Barrie. The camp is a happy, fun, safe place for children of all ages. We haven't had anything but the best response from staff when an issue arises. My two kids are able to enjoy life like it used to be - freedom to explore new things and be with friends. My kids want to come back year after year. It is one of the best things I do for my children each summer.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
horrible for preschoolers July 27, 2011
Reviewer: J from
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

My 3.5 yr daughter is attending for 3 weeks right now. I would like to withdraw her but knowing there is no refund, it is very hard. We dropped her off and put her things in her cubby which was marked.By the afternoon, all her things had disappeared and no explanation from staff. Things keep disappearing and I send notes after notes. Labeling everything with painter's tape with her name, age and number. Never had to label things this boldly despite all of my 3 children in daycare. Finally after one week, I went to the class. They had returned from swimming.It was utter chaos.Children throwing things everywhere, teachers (high school or older with no training) just putting things without giving any directions or organization. No one was in charge. Very casual attitude. Granted this is not a daycare but there is a degree of supervision required for preschoolers which is different than older children. No wonder they put someone else's clearly labeled towel in my daughter bag.When asked, no apologies just that wasn't that her towel. My rising 2nd grader loves his group but I will not recommend this camp for rising 4 and 5 ys olds. No accountability, training or maturity in handling the children this age. After reading the other reviews, the camp director is not interested in improvement but getting $ from the popularity of the camps. There has been an email about lice this year. I can see how this is a problem every yearas they do not sanitize their equipment. I am surprised that parents haven't connected the dots esp the ones who return every year. I also have the bus for the children. Driver (woman) was quite rude. Website says the arrival time of the bus but she apparently has a different opinion. The famous bridge. Why can't they expand it to 2lanes. There is enough space. We give them enough $ forcamps. Surprised that police hasn't cited them for carpooling sometimes half mile into Layhill road.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Many years and counting August 05, 2010
Reviewer: Noname from Silver Spring, MD
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My kids have loved Barrie. They now both work at Barrie after being dedicated campers there throughout their childhood. They've done both specialty camps and regular camps with each favoring a different one.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Happy campers for 5 years March 25, 2010
Reviewer: Sbrestein from MoCo, MD
4 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We had a positive experience with both of our children (kids are almost 8 and 12) at Barrie camp. It has varied activities, such as swimming two times a day, horseback riding, karate, dancing, arts and crafts, canoeing and kayaks. It's like sleep away camp without the sleeping away. We believe it is well run and outdoorsy.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Happy campers for 4 years March 25, 2010
Reviewer: Sbrestein from MoCo, MD
4 Stars 1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We had a positive experience with both of our children (kids are almost 8 and 12) at Barrie camp. It has varied activities, such as swimming two times a day, horseback riding, karate, dancing, arts and crafts, canoeing and kayaking. It's like sleep away camp without the sleeping away. We believe it is well run and outdoorsy.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Very Disappointed by the Barrie Camp August 08, 2007
Reviewer: MOMOF2 from Chevy Chase, MD
1 Star 12 of 25 people found this review helpful

I cannot express how disappointed I was with the Barrie Camp staff. Shortly after starting, my typically happy and easy going 5-year old daughter was unhappy referencing a teacher who "sounded like she was yelling." I then visited the camp and observed the room myself and right away I knew who she was talking about. The counselor had a very authoritative manner and ordered the children around. While the mission of the Barrie Camp suggested they had a committment to fostering a fun environment, that was not the experience my child had. When I called the camp to discuss the situation it took them a week to return my phone call and even then they were not particularly helpful. In the end, I withdrew my daughter from the camp, but they would not refund my money. Overall, it was a very disappointing experience. Given the reputation of the Barrie camp, I was very surprised and disappointed by this experience.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)

Showing 1 to 6 of 6 reviews.     | 1 |