Camp Becket YMCA - Becket Massachusetts - Information, Reviews, Ratings
Categories > Traditional,
Email this to a friend Email this page  Printer friendly format Printer friendly


Camp Becket YMCA

5 Stars based on 10 reviews (review)

Camp Directors - Update this Listing

Camp Location: 748 Hamilton Road, Becket, Massachusetts, 01223,
Ages: 8-15
Gender: Male
Camp type:Overnight
Session dates: June 26 - July 23, July 24 - August 20
Cost (range): $3,815/Month
Contact Person: Chris Burke (Executive Director)
Phone: 413-623-8991
Fax: 413-623-5890
Mailing Address:
748 Hamilton Road
Becket, Massachusetts, 01223
Camp Website

Camp's Description

For over a century, Camp Becket has been a place where boys have spent their summers learning, laughing, and building life-long friendships

Camp Becket for boys founded in 1903 offers boys a traditional, resident camp experience with a wide variety of activity choices on 1400 acres in the beautiful Berkshire Hills of Western Massachusetts.


The focus of the camp program is on building confidence, character and teamwork in a small group setting.  
 
The typical day at camp offers a balance of choice and group activities. Campers choose from a wide variety of activities including water activities, performing arts, creative arts, nature, wood working, photography, and a wide variety of sports programs.
 
While the day is active and structured, there are also free time periods when campers can take time to relax or spend time with friends. 
 
Specialty cabins such as our Construction and Adventure Odyssey cabin programs, offer new opportunities for older campers. 
 
A two-week starter program is available for children finishing the 2nd and 3rd grades.
 
The Becket-Chimney Corners YMCA offers challenges to older teens through our leadership programs. We offer international and domestic travel programs where participants travel to Chile, Russia, Sweden, Japan, New Zealand, Costa Rica, Peru and Australia and participate in community service and cultural exchange. Our domestic programs travel to Yellowstone National Park and to the Sioux Reservation in South Dakota.
 
Please visit our website for more information. Financial assistance is available. You may contact us at (413) 623-8991 or through our website at www.bccymca.org/campbecket

Camp Becket YMCA View Larger

Camp Reviews     Write an online review for Camp Becket YMCAWrite a review


Showing 1 to 10 of 10 reviews.    | 1 |
BA-BA-BA BECKET IN THE BIRKSHIRES March 05, 2010
Reviewer: Dtheif from
5 Stars 1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is going to be my third year in camp and I love it! There is some kind of connection between me and the camp, and I will not ever leave. I am in a varsity choir that goes around the world, but I will gladly quit that if it gets in my way from going to Becket. I wouldn't give it up for the world
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Better Faithful then Famous. July 03, 2007
Reviewer: RhettThanas from Boston, MA
5 Stars 1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I went to this camp for nine summers, and the are byfar the happiest memories of my childhood. Beyond just having pleasant memories, this place literally changed my life and helped build my character in ways no experience since has. This camp is a truly special place, and as I've discovered through re-joining its Alumni network that it has deeply touched everyone who has gone there.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Great camp. May 22, 2007
Reviewer: Asherm4 from New york, NY
5 Stars 0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Great camp. I went there and it completely changed my life for the better.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Personal development and tons of fun April 05, 2007
Reviewer: Gordon from Cambridge, MA
5 Stars 2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This summer will be my 13th at Becket. From my days as a camper, I learned how to live, work, and play with boys from different backgrounds and as a staff member I learned how to create an environment were such social intelligence can develop. At Becket I have had enormous amounts of fun, made lasting friendships, met people from all over the world, and grown in ways that I will never forget. My greatest role models have come from Becket; my father passed away when I was 14, and I was supported through this time of loss by friends who knew that Becket is not just about the summer. I know of no other place where boys have such freedom to choose their activities, are supported to be themselves, and are encouraged to reflect upon and learn from their experiences. Camp Becket is as active and tiring as life at school, but it provides the seldom found and greatly needed space for real positive personal growth.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Becket is the place to be! April 02, 2007
Reviewer: Kfitz from Boston, MA
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Becket has been a part of my family from before I was born. My brothers went to Becket, along with my cousins and everyone in my neighborhood. Now that I'm older my son is at Becket and it is still the most amazing place to be...incredible staff, excellent programs, a dedicated community in a beautiful setting. There is no reason to go anywhere else.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Fantastic, Unforgettable Camp Experience April 02, 2007
Reviewer: Adamgaynor from
5 Stars 1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I began at Becket as a camper when I was 11. what attracted my parents to Becket was the focus on the cabin group, on relationship building in a small family-style unit with dedicated and well trained counselors. They made the right choice! I was a camper at Becket for 5 years. I then traveled to Australia on a six week summer exchange with other campers from Becket and its sister camp, Chimney Corners. I was hooked! I stayed for another summer in a leadership program, and then worked as a counselor for five summers and administrator for two. My experience at Becket has shaped who I am as a person, and was a driving factor in my decision to become a professional educator and child social worker. As an adult, I am frequently in touch with Becket and Chimney Corners friends from around the country. I highly recommend Becket and Chimney Corners Camps to prospective parents. The experience is unforgettable.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
awesome April 01, 2007
Reviewer: Twcrane from Boston, MA
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Becket is an awesome place. I've been going there for the past 7 summers, and am still really excited to be going back again this summer. The staff are great - they're funny, helpful, and really seem to care a lot about their work. I've made a lot of great friends there. All in all a fantastic camp.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
A life-changing experience April 01, 2007
Reviewer: Amici from Easthampton, MA
5 Stars 1 of 1 people found this review helpful

While there are a lot of camps out there that provide a fun "home away from home" in the summer, Camp Becket and Chimney Corners (Becket's sister camp) are way more than simply summer camps. The core values of the organization provide its campers with critical life lessons, learned and shared within a close-knit community. The friends that I made there, in my 17 years of involvement, are the best friends that I have. The staff is top notch, the facilities are outstanding (1400 pristine acres in the Berkshires with 2 private lakes), it is even one of the few summer camps to have a pediatrician on site 24/7. As you stroll through the grounds, you can't help but feel over 100 years of history in the place. But what will impress you the most is how the kids treat each other. Not to mention the dining hall songs! As a non-profit camp, the tuition is a bargain. Besides, you can't put a price on the impact that Becket will have on your children, and you!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Best Camp April 01, 2007
Reviewer: Matt from Middletown, CT
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This upcoming summer will be my 11th(!!) summer at the Becket/Chimney Corners YMCA and my sixth on their staff. My experience at Becket has been amazing. This is where I matured as a young adult. It is where I learned to live by a moral code (which I proudly display in my office), to appreciate nature, and to respect every person I meet. Without the experience of attending Becket I would not be the person I am today and there is no where in the world more dear to my heart. At Becket I have been encouraged to face challenges, and during their Dad's Weekends I solidified my relationship with my father. I know he cherishes memories of these weekends as well. Overall Becket has changed me for the better, and I look foward to sending my own children to Becket one day.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Becket: MY FIRST LOVE April 01, 2007
Reviewer: Chuckroast from Boston, MA
5 Stars 2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Becket holds a special place in my heart. The camp brought me up and helped me find my path to manhood. I will never forget becket, my fellow campers, my counselors, other staff, singing the songs of camp, the general comraderie. Becket allows its campers to try new things outside of an environment where winnig and loosing matters. I learned how to rock climb, sail, throw a frisbee while surrounded by people who wanted to help me succeed. I have attended other YMCA overnight camps, and BCC YMCA is another place entirely. Come for a tour, and i promiss the first time you lay eyes on the waterfront, or see the view from the Library porch, you will look no further. I hope becket stays part of my life forever, and no matter where i end up in the world, i know it will be there as a constant.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)

Showing 1 to 10 of 10 reviews.     | 1 |