Broadreach Summer Adventures for Teenagers - Various Locations N/A - Information, Reviews, Ratings
Categories > Academic, SCUBA, Travel,
Email this to a friend Email this page  Printer friendly format Printer friendly


Broadreach Summer Adventures for Teenagers

5 Stars based on 33 reviews (review)

Camp Directors - Update this Listing

Camp Location: Various Locations, N/A, Various Locations
Ages: 13 to 19 years old
Gender: Male and Female
Camp type:Overnight
Session dates: Multiple sessions in June, July and August
Cost (range): $1,000 - $2,000 a week
Contact Person:
Phone: 919-256-8200
Fax: 919-833-2129
Mailing Address:
806 McCulloch St. Suite 102
Raleigh, North Carolina, 27603
USA
Camp Website

Camp's Description

Summer adventures for teenagers including scuba, sailing, marine biology, academic and wilderness programs in the Caribbean, Bahamas, Australia, Costa Rica, Honduras, Panama, Ecuador, Fiji, the Solomon Islands, Canada, Mexico and Egypt. No experience is required for most trips. Small groups allow participants to do more, learn more and have more fun! High and school/college credit is available. No experience is required for most trips.  Adventures are hands-on, action-packed and a blast!

Camp Reviews     Write an online review for Broadreach Summer Adventures for TeenagersWrite a review


Showing 21 to 33 of 33 reviews.    | 1 | 2     Prev | - View All
The best experience of my life October 19, 2011
Reviewer: Alex91694 from Austin, TX
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I went on the Caribbean trip. I can honestly say this was the best experience I have ever had. This trip was so much fun, you're thrown into a new environment with new people. I became great friends with everyone there and even though I have to admit I had some problems with people (never openly) I couldn't have asked for a better group of people. I had really chill instructors and we all had lots of fun. Learning how to dive and sail were some of the coolest things I have ever learned to do. The environment is absolutely amazing. Some of my favorite things were: the hike up a volcano, going on night dives in Saba, making my own glass bead, and the long sails. I truly loved every moment of the trip and was so sad to leave. I will definitely be taking more trips through Broadreach. <3
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
French Immersion in Guadeloupe! October 17, 2011
Reviewer: Luluu0604 from Chicago, IL
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

If I had to tell someone a highlight of my summer, it would most definitely be my french immersion trip to Guadeloupe! I had never been down to the Caribbean - let alone the french west indies! Everything about the trip was great, and I was exposed to so many new things that I wasn't expecting. As I got of the plane, I had no idea what I was getting myself into; but by the end of the trip, I had no intention of ever having to say goodbye to the people that I had become so close with. The first week, our group of seven people, went on an overnight camping trip, enrolled in school, and engaged in cultural activity. The second week, we had a homestay! This was completely out of league, but it was so fun getting to know another family - even more special because we had to speak to them, and each other, in french! The last week, as if it could get better, was great! We were on a catamaran for four nights! Although some of the group members felt a little seasick, I really enjoyed being on the boat. Sleeping out on the trams(in the front of the boat) was great! I think it's pretty clear that I enjoyed this trip, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone who's interested!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
French Immersion in Guadeloupe! October 17, 2011
Reviewer: Luluu0604 from Chicago, IL
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

If I had to tell someone a highlight of my summer, it would most definitely be my french immersion trip to Guadeloupe! I had never been down to the Caribbean - let alone the french west indies! Everything about the trip was great, and I was exposed to so many new things that I wasn't expecting. As I got of the plane, I had no idea what I was getting myself into; but by the end of the trip, I had no intention of ever having to say goodbye to the people that I had become so close with. The first week, our group of seven people, went on an overnight camping trip, enrolled in school, and engaged in cultural activity. The second week, we had a homestay! This was completely out of league, but it was so fun getting to know another family - even more special because we had to speak to them, and each other, in french! The last week, as if it could get better, was great! We were on a catamaran for four nights! Although some of the group members felt a little seasick, I really enjoyed being on the boat. Sleeping out on the trams(in the front of the boat) was great! I think it's pretty clear that I enjoyed this trip, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone who's interested!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Broadreach ATC- Fiji Shark Behavior and Conservation October 17, 2011
Reviewer: Jeburney from Raleigh, NC
5 Stars 0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I spent my summer with Broadreach in Viti Levu, Fiji. Our group studied shark biology, behavior, and conservation and participated in research for Beqa Adventure Divers and the Shark Reef Marine Reserve. This trip was the most rewarding and life-changing experience I have ever had. I was able to scuba dive with bull sharks (among other sharks), experience Fijian culture, form lasting relationships with my team, explore the island, and eat some amazing food! Words cannot fully describe how amazing this trip was, and anyone that is interested in sharks or scuba diving should go! I honestly never wanted the trip to end.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Broadreach ATC- Fiji Shark Behavior and Conservation October 17, 2011
Reviewer: Jeburney from Raleigh, NC
5 Stars 1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I spent my summer with Broadreach in Viti Levu, Fiji. Our group studied shark biology, behavior, and conservation and participated in research for Beqa Adventure Divers and the Shark Reef Marine Reserve. This trip was the most rewarding and life-changing experience I have ever had. I was able to scuba dive with bull sharks (among other sharks), experience Fijian culture, form lasting relationships with my team, explore the island, and eat some amazing food! Words cannot fully describe how amazing this trip was, and anyone that is interested in sharks or scuba diving should go! I honestly never wanted the trip to end.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Broadreach ATC- Fiji Shark Behavior and Conservation October 17, 2011
Reviewer: Jeburney from Raleigh, NC
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I spent my summer with Broadreach in Viti Levu, Fiji. Our group studied shark biology, behavior, and conservation and participated in research for Beqa Adventure Divers and the Shark Reef Marine Reserve. This trip was the most rewarding and life-changing experience I have ever had. I was able to scuba dive with bull sharks (among other sharks), experience Fijian culture, form lasting relationships with my team, explore the island, and eat some amazing food! Words cannot fully describe how amazing this trip was, and anyone that is interested in sharks or scuba diving should go! I honestly never wanted the trip to end.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Broadreach ATC- Fiji Shark Behavior and Conservation October 17, 2011
Reviewer: Jeburney from Raleigh, NC
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I spent my summer with Broadreach in Viti Levu, Fiji. Our group studied shark biology, behavior, and conservation and participated in research for Beqa Adventure Divers and the Shark Reef Marine Reserve. This trip was the most rewarding and life-changing experience I have ever had. I was able to scuba dive with bull sharks (among other sharks), experience Fijian culture, form lasting relationships with my team, explore the island, and eat some amazing food! Words cannot fully describe how amazing this trip was, and anyone that is interested in sharks or scuba diving should go! I honestly never wanted the trip to end.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Costa Rica & Nicaragua October 17, 2011
Reviewer: Priyankasanand from Kinston, NC
4 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

In the summer of 2011, I took my first trip abroad without my family. I was nervous, a little bit scared, and apprehensive, but most of all, ready to embark on this unfamiliar adventure. I traveled through a program called Broadreach with five other high school students and two trained leaders. We all flew to Costa Rica and Nicaragua for a Spanish Immersion program that lasted three weeks. In Costa Rica, we rafted 21 miles down the Pacuare River, lived with a Costa Rican family for one week, and took Spanish classes with a local Spanish teacher. In Nicaragua, we ziplined through tree canopies, remodeled a classroom at an elementary school, witnessed a turtle lay eggs and then saved those eggs from local poachers. My favorite part during this trip was the homestay. I truly experienced the life and customs of a Costa Rican family who I knew nothing about. The families did not speak a word of English, which forced us to speak Spanish and learn a few Costa Rican sayings such as Pura Vida, meaning "it's all good." As nervous as I was at the beginning of these three weeks, they turned out to be the best three weeks of my life. And more than anything, I realized there is still so much more to see in the world and so much more to learn about others. It was an incredible experience, one I will never forget.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Vive La France October 17, 2011
Reviewer: Hkstarkey from Lexington, KY
4 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This summer I went on a trip to France for a month. Before I went on this trip I was so scared to go. It taught me many things about myself, the French language, and about navigating a foreign country. I was truly immersed and my favorite part was that I met so many different people. How many people can say they know a guy from Australia, and several people from Brazil? I had a blast and my favorite part was definitely the hiking in the Alps. Once I returned from my trip I realized how beautiful the views were and what a great opportunity I was given!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Bahamas Marine Biology Adventure October 08, 2011
Reviewer: Hmentjes from Milwaukee, WI
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I can honestly say that this was one of the best things that I have done in my entire life. This past summer, I went to the Bahamas for about a month and I studied Marine Biology as well as getting the opportunity to dive every day. Not only do I believe that the friends I made on the trip will last a lifetime, but I still find myself using the things that I learned in my school life, almost 3 months after my trip has ended. I learned all about the environment and I got a chance to find out more about myself while doing things that I love most. I had never gotten the opportunity to scuba dive before, and that just made that experience worth it on it's own. The counselors were sme of the nicest people that I have ever met and they made learning and taking tests actually fun by being able to connect what we were learning in class to what we got to see when we dove. If I could, I would do this trip all over again. Going on this trip was the best decision that I have ever made.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Marine Biology Adventure October 07, 2011
Reviewer: Carly.dennison from
5 Stars 1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I can honestly say that this was the best experience I have had by far. I absolutely loved spending time in the Bahamas, learning about the culture and every aspect surrounding it, but what made it so memorable was the amazing people I met while I was on the trip. I remember everything I learned while I was there because there are so many unforgetable memories around it. It has been almost three months since my trip ended, but the friendships made are going to last a lifetime. I would highly recommend any of the Broadreach trips to anyone no matter what they want to study for do later in life.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Peru Spanish and Service October 06, 2011
Reviewer: Covolo94 from NC
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Without a doubt, I can say that Broadreach's Peru Spanish and Service trip was the best experience of my entire life. I never felt like a tourist; I saw every part of Peru, the capital, the mountains, and the amazon, in the same way that the locals do. Everywhere we went, our experiences felt incredibly authentic. The community service projects we took on were incredibly fulfilling, and taught me more about myself and my own priorities than I could have ever imagined. The service projects allowed me to see how the Peruvian people truly live in every region of the country. In addition, the bond that formed between all of the members of the group was unlike anything I can explain. Over two months later, we all talk in a Facebook group every day. One of my friends from the trip, who happens to live in Texas, is even coming to visit me in NC over Christmas. I wouldn't trade what I gained from this Broadreach experience for anything.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Caribbean Underwater Discoveries October 06, 2011
Reviewer: Pcarruthers from Cincinnati, OH
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I sent my daughter on the Caribbean Underwater Discoveries Voyage trip last summer and she loved it! It was non-stop diving and sailing. The instructors were incredible and the friends she made will last a lifetime. I highly recommend this trip to anyone who wants to their child to have an experience they will never forget!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)

Showing 21 to 33 of 33 reviews.     | 1 | 2     Prev | - View All