Broadreach Summer Adventures for Teenagers - Various Locations N/A - Information, Reviews, Ratings
Categories > Academic, SCUBA, Travel,
Email this to a friend Email this page  Printer friendly format Printer friendly


Broadreach Summer Adventures for Teenagers

5 Stars based on 33 reviews (review)

Camp Directors - Update this Listing

Camp Location: Various Locations, N/A, Various Locations
Ages: 13 to 19 years old
Gender: Male and Female
Camp type:Overnight
Session dates: Multiple sessions in June, July and August
Cost (range): $1,000 - $2,000 a week
Contact Person:
Phone: 919-256-8200
Fax: 919-833-2129
Mailing Address:
806 McCulloch St. Suite 102
Raleigh, North Carolina, 27603
USA
Camp Website

Camp's Description

Summer adventures for teenagers including scuba, sailing, marine biology, academic and wilderness programs in the Caribbean, Bahamas, Australia, Costa Rica, Honduras, Panama, Ecuador, Fiji, the Solomon Islands, Canada, Mexico and Egypt. No experience is required for most trips. Small groups allow participants to do more, learn more and have more fun!†High and school/college credit is available. No experience is required for most trips.† Adventures are hands-on, action-packed and a blast!

Camp Reviews     Write an online review for Broadreach Summer Adventures for TeenagersWrite a review


Showing 1 to 33 of 33 reviews.    | 1 | Back To Paged View |
The Best Summer January 10, 2014
Reviewer: Wsmoeller from Westport, CT
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This was my first Broadreach trip and I could not think of any other way to spend the greatest summer of my life. I went on the Grenadines voyage and was blown away by the program. The instructors were absolutely amazing and the dives were even better. We had great island excursions and got a real feel for what the islands really are. I highly recommend this trip to anyone looking for great diving and amazing friendships.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Fiji Shark Studies January 09, 2014
Reviewer: Andy.Rab from Windermere, FL
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This past summer, I went on the Fiji Shark Studies program. 3 Years ago, I went on their Caribbean Sailing program, and had the time of my life. This trip was even better. The counselors, Mike and Lindsay, were the some of the nicest people I have ever met.The trip itself was amazing. From the amazing bull sharks, the wonderful people, the beautiful scenery, and the engaging studies in Shark biology, This trip is a must for any that want to have the time of their lives.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Belize Costa Rica Panama Adventure! January 09, 2014
Reviewer: Chaseleisenring from
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This past summer I was lucky enough to go on the Belize Costa Rica Panama Adventure with Broadreach!!! In all seriousness, I had the time of my life. From day one our group of 9 never ceased to make me laugh. Our instructors were also incredibly supportive and hilarious throughout the trip. I think that one of my favorite things about this trip was the fact that we got to go to 3 different countries in a little over three weeks. The activities we got to try included scuba diving, white water rafting, and surfing to name a few. The trip was very fast paced as we were constantly going from place to place trying new things. The friends that I made and the skills that I learned on this trip are unforgettable and I cannot wait to go on my next Broadreach adventure next summer!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Belize Dolphin Studies January 09, 2014
Reviewer: Ahelms from New York
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I cannot even begin to tell you how awesome Broadreach is. I have spent my last three summers with Broadreach and each one has been equally amazing in their own ways. This summer i took Belize dolphin studies and i had the most amazing time, from watching dolphins in the open water to seeing the aquatic life the lives in the reef of the blue hole. The entire three weeks was wonderful. With Broadreach, i have come to learn that you grow so close to the people on your trip, regardless of their age or where they are from. You try new foods, new activities, and maybe even conquer a few fears. I still stay in touch with kids from all three of my trips, they are some of the best friends. I know that if i spend a summer with broadreach, no matter where i go, i will have so many amazing stories to tell when i get home.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Belize Dolphin Studies January 09, 2014
Reviewer: Ahelms from Larchmont, New York
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have spent my last three summers with Broadreach, and every single one has been equally amazing in their own ways. This past summer i did my first academic trip with Belize Dolphin studies. For the whole three weeks i was so amazed by how beautiful Belize was, the many small islands we went to, the aquatic life, and of course, the dolphins. Broadreach has introduced me to some of me best friends, i still stay in close touch with kids i met on my first trip. I cannot recommend Broadreach enough, the people are truly wonderful and you grow to care about them they way you would a family member, and you see and learn more things in those three weeks than you do in years. I know that if i spend a summer with Broadreach, regardless of where i go, i know i will the the best time.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Life Changing December 09, 2013
Reviewer: Hanraetst14 from Hampton, NH
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

When I first signed up for this program I had no idea what I was getting into. I did not realize how close I would get with both of my instructors and trip-mates. The bonds that this program builds is beyond that of any other. I can honestly say that I have never met such welcoming, down-to-earth, whole hearted, and engaging counselors. I could not have been happier with their teaching styles and enthusiasm before and after the trip, I still feel that I could contact them for just about anything. The connection they build with their students is unparalleled, and after my trip I can safely say that I made life long friends that would be there for me just as I would be for them. Along with the great curriculum comes the adventures: whether it is zip-lining through the jungle, snorkeling along pristine reefs, or even hiking to a waterfall, there is always excitement and new experiences. There was not a single moment during my trip that I felt unsafe, unhappy, excluded, or bored. If anyone had felt this at any moment, the counselors were always there to solve the problem or help find a solution. I wish I could do this summer program every summer, and I would highly suggest it to anyone looking to have a fun, exciting, educational, and experiential summer. The only bad part of my trip was having to say goodbye.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Caribbean Underwater Discoveries Voyage December 07, 2013
Reviewer: SB25 from Darien, CT
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Over the summer of 2013, I had the opportunity to go on Broadreach's Caribbean Underwater Discoveries Voyage. An enthralling combination of scuba diving and sailing, the trip proved to be a unique experience that I can honestly admit to being positively unforgettable! Sailing from island to island allowed for me to gain perspective on what the islands are actually like, rather than the perspective that is usually gained from staying in tourist resorts. Living on the boat with a twelve other people helped me understand what one's impact on the environment. Amazing instructors bring the community that is one's boat together. One's boat becomes a small community and fosters friendships that will last. My Broadreach was absolutely unforgettable! Nothing compares to mooring off of Ile Fourche, an uninhabited Island next to Saint Barts, and waking up with the Sun in the morning and at night falling asleep under a night sky twinkling with blazing shooting stars lighting up the sky. I would do it all again in a heartbeat!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Caribbean Marine Biology Voyage (HS) November 27, 2013
Reviewer: Clarinahe from Lafayette, CA
5 Stars 1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Hi! This summer I went on a trip with Broadreach to the Leeward islands that completely changed my perspective on the world around me. I would definitely recommend Broadreach to others because not only is it fun, but you learn so much and you don't even realize it! On my trip there was an academic portion for earning college credits, and it was honestly a breeze! The counselors were fantastic and understanding and I have no complaints whatsoever. On this trip you sail around on a boat to different islands! Sailing was definitely one of my favorite parts of this trip! Our skipper was really cool and gave us all a chance to sail the boat! In addition, sometimes we sailed when it was rainy and the waves were rough and we sat on the bow of boat and bounced up and down with the waves! (It was safe because there were seats and railings!) That's definitely one of my favorite memories from the trip. :) The scuba diving was amazing as well! Our scuba instructor was incredibly patient and made sure that we felt comfortable and safe the entire time. Diving was never a problem for anyone on the trip because he took time to make sure that each of us understood what we were supposed to do and how to do it! Our counselor in charge of teaching us the academics was really patient too! She would explain things we didn't understand, and if we needed an extension on an assignment she would make sure we had adequate time to finish it! She had a really interesting background from working at an aquarium and I feel like that really lent a hand to her teaching because she really knew what she was talking about! Overall, I would really recommend this trip because you gain a broader view for the world around you. This trip has encouraged me to do more for our environment and be thankful that I can see such amazing places. The people I have bonded with on this trip will be with me forever! :)
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Belize Wilderness Emergency Medicine November 26, 2013
Reviewer: Charlesduval from
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

For the summer of 2013 I went on the Belize Wilderness Emergency Medicine trip and it was easily one of the most memorable trip of my life. This was my second trip with Broadreach, the first one being the Caribbean Underwater Discoveries trip, but it was still incredible unique. I would recommend this trip to absolutely anyone with an interest in emergency medicine. During the trip we all (the 12 of us) received our Wilderness First Responder certification and we got to work alongside the Belize Disaster And Relief Team and in one of the hospitals in Belize. Every single day was unique and I wish I could have stayed for longer than 3 weeks. We all became incredibly close and by the end we were a small family. The trip leaders were willing to go above and beyond to ensure we got the best experience possible.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Tropical Marine Biology November 14, 2013
Reviewer: Jojo from Ann Arbor, MI
4 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I am a college senior who spent last summer on the Tropical Marine Biology program. I definitely recommend it to anyone who can afford time during their summer months! We went SCUBA diving at least once a day during the three week trip and learned about sailing and marine biology at the same time! The college credit transferred to my university and counted for my distribution requirements. The sailing was absolutely incredible, since we sailed from island to island in the leeward islands, experiencing the French West Indies and the Dutch Antilles. The problem is now that we learned to dive in the beautiful warm clear waters of the caribbean, nothing can compare! My biggest complaint about the program is that it is clearly a program for children slightly modified to accommodate for adults. That is, everyone on my trip was 18-22 years old, but we had very strict schedules and a "leader of the day" and talked about our "glows and glums" of the day. We were treated like children with respect to both the scheduling and the food. Obviously, we had to eat things that would store well on a boat in the heat, but I've got to believe that they could have provided more nutritious food than macaroni & cheese. Overall, though, the program was an incredible experience. If you don't mind eating junky food for a couple weeks, I'd absolutely recommend going on this diving program. The diving is what is emphasized on this program over the sailing and academics, which is something that I particularly enjoyed.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Tropical Marine Biology November 07, 2013
Reviewer: Jojo from Ann Arbor, MI
4 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I am a college student who spend a couple weeks of my summer (2013) doing the Tropical Marine Biology program in the Caribbean. I'd highly recommend this to anyone who can afford a few weeks of their summer. We dove at least once every day (and gained SCUBA advanced certifications), studied Marine Biology (which transfers to my university as natural science credit!) and did some advanced sailing. The learning was hands- on, as we'd discuss something in the textbook and dive later that day to go examine it in person. My only complaint was that it was clearly a trip designed for children tailored to college students. That is, we were very micro-managed with our time management and activities, which was awkward because we were between the ages of 18 and 23. Overall, though, it was an incredible experience that I would absolutely repeat if I had the chance. For me, the academia was not particularly challenging, even though I had never been exposed to marine biology before. The focus of the program was definitely the diving. That being said, the diving was absolutely incredible. I am so spoiled from learning to dive in the clear warm waters of the caribbean.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Caribbean Tropical Marine Biology November 05, 2013
Reviewer: Ahovatt from
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My goal of gaining a study abroad experience that was both challenging and unique was far exceeded this past summer during my travels across the West Indies with Broadreach. I have confidence that the friends I made, and the connections I established with my instructors will last me throughout my college career and my lifetime. While physically I have an academic transcript from the course I took, and a license with PADI for advanced diving, there are so many countless things I took from my trip that words on paper could not describe. Since my voyage, I have been more conscious of my impact on the environment, and have encouraged friends and family to do the same. After learning how easy it was to decrease my carbon footprint at sea, I hope to live consciously and with care for the world every day. The beauty I witnessed and lived among in the Caribbean has become extremely important to me as far as efforts to conserve. Broadreach taught me how precious our world is, and united me with people who felt the same. As a group, we worked together day in and day out, cooperating with, balancing, and supporting one another. If I had the chance, I would embark on a Broadreach journey all over again. This trip was unlike anything I've experienced, but with all the priceless lessons I gained, I feel a piece of Broadreach is with me everyday.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Grenadines Advanced August 08, 2012
Reviewer: C SHIPP from Vail, CO
5 Stars 2 of 2 people found this review helpful

My 13 y/o daughter attended this camp this summer and had a really wonderful time. She was challenged by the SCUBA and sailing, and she met great new friends. Broadreach answered all of my questions and the process was smooth and easy. She especially loved the counselors! We will be returning!!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Grenadines Voyages (Best trip ever!) November 16, 2011
Reviewer: Tdenil from
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Going on the Broadreach Grenadines trip was without a doubt the best experience of my life. When I arrived I was a bit nervous and shy, but in the blink of an eye, I had made countless of friends that I will keep for life! On the trip, I became a better scuba-diver then I was before, and sailing a catamaran with a group of mostly beginner sailors was tricky but definitely an amazing experience that will stay with me for life. The three instructors on the boat were some of the nicest people I know, and they became our friends while we were there. I will never ever forget the amazing time I had this summer, and I hope that I can stay a part of Broadreach. I have already told friends about the trip, and I'm sure that they are considering a trip this summer! Thank you everyone at Broadreach for making my summer 2011 unforgettable and one of the most amazing experiences ever!!!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Grenadines Voyage October 24, 2011
Reviewer: Kimsturm2224 from Milwaukee, WI
5 Stars 1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This past summer I had a chance to go on my first ever Broadreach trip to the Grenadines. I loved it so much and I would definitely go back again. Broadreach opened me to see things that I had never have guessed I would be seeing at such a young age. This trip consisted of SCUBA diving, snorkeling, town time, tubing, wakeboarding, certifications, service, and so much more. I didnít know anyone that was going on this trip, which made me nervous at first, but I think if I did know someone really well that was going with me I maybe wouldnít have branched out as much and cracked my shell. All of the other kids were so much fun to be around and saying goodbye in the airport is the hardest thing to do when you have made such a tight bond with others for three weeks. I still even keep in touch with them through Skype every once and a while, which is really nice. Itís safe to say I cant wait for my next Broadreach trip.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
GV & Jelly! October 23, 2011
Reviewer: Geckoguts125 from Palm City, FL
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This summer I had the amazing opportunity to go on my second Broadreach trip. I chose the Grenadines Voyage, and I can honestly say that it was the time of a life. Broadreach trips are like no other. They not only allow you to have an unbelievable amount of fun, but they also help you to grow as a person. The group dynamic on my trip was awesome; everyone got along great and the counselors made everything (even the learning aspects of the trip) tons of fun. By the end of the first full day, I felt completely at home on the boat that we lived on. All the campers meshed and it was like we truly became a family. Even now, months after leaving, I still keep in touch with the others from my boat on a regular basis. Every single day on my 21 day trip was packed with hardly any downtime, but who needs that? I loved how we were constantly doing something, mainly diving. The diving and scenery were absolutely amazing, and I highly doubt that anyone can recreate an experience like the one that Broadreach offers. I had no regrets or complaints what so ever. Bravo Broadreach!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Bahamas Marine Biology Adventure October 20, 2011
Reviewer: Hmentjes from Wisconsin
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I can honestly say that this was one of the best things that I have done in my entire life. This past summer, I went to the Bahamas for about a month and I studied Marine Biology as well as getting the opportunity to dive every day. Not only do I believe that the friends I made on the trip will last a lifetime, but I still find myself using the things that I learned in my school life, almost 3 months after my trip has ended. I learned all about the environment and I got a chance to find out more about myself while doing things that I love most. I had never gotten the opportunity to scuba dive before, and that just made that experience worth it on it's own. The counselors were some of the nicest people that I have ever met and they made learning and taking tests actually fun by being able to connect what we were learning in class to what we got to see when we dove. If I could, I would do this trip all over again. Going on this trip was the best decision that I have ever made.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Marine Biology Adventure Summer 2011 October 20, 2011
Reviewer: Hmentjes from Wisconsin
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I can honestly say that this was one of the best things that I have done in my entire life. This past summer, I went to the Bahamas for about a month and I studied Marine Biology as well as getting the opportunity to dive every day. Not only do I believe that the friends I made on the trip will last a lifetime, but I still find myself using the things that I learned in my school life, almost 3 months after my trip has ended. I learned all about the environment and I got a chance to find out more about myself while doing things that I love most. I had never gotten the opportunity to scuba dive before, and that just made that experience worth it on it's own. The counselors were some of the nicest people that I have ever met and they made learning and taking tests actually fun by being able to connect what we were learning in class to what we got to see when we dove. If I could, I would do this trip all over again. Going on this trip was the best decision that I have ever made.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
UDX 2011 October 19, 2011
Reviewer: Elsa Smith from Jackson, WY
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Going on Broadreach was the best experience of my life. I met some of the best friends and I will have them for a very long time. At first, I was a little homesick, but once I got to know everybody, it was "smooth sailing". Never in a million years would I have thought I would be scuba diving in the Caribbean, so that was the best part of the trip by far. The instructors were amazing and kind but kept us on our feet. The sailing was also amazing! Getting to sail a yacht all by ourselves was challenging, but so worth it. I would definitely recommend this camp, in fact I already have and one of my best friends might be doing it next year. The camp was worth every cent, and I hope I will continue to be a part of Broadreach!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Best Trip Ever October 19, 2011
Reviewer: Victoriazins from Boston, MA
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I went on the marine biology voyage (MBV21) and it was the best trip ever. Broadreach had thought of everything to make the trip as easy and as fun as it could be. 3 weeks was the perfect amount of time. I loved everything that I learned on this live aboard program, because everything I did was completely new. There's nothing else that I've ever done that even compares to the fun that I had on this trip. My mom was actually astonished when I came back home, not just at the tan I had a acquired, but the fact that I had learned SO much about sailing, SCUBA diving, and marine biology in just three weeks. I will definitely be looking for other programs by Broadreach, because while my friends say that rustic pathways was "so much fun" i KNOW that nothing compares to the Broadreach experience.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
The best experience of my life October 19, 2011
Reviewer: Alex91694 from Austin, TX
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I went on the Caribbean trip. I can honestly say this was the best experience I have ever had. This trip was so much fun, you're thrown into a new environment with new people. I became great friends with everyone there and even though I have to admit I had some problems with people (never openly) I couldn't have asked for a better group of people. I had really chill instructors and we all had lots of fun. Learning how to dive and sail were some of the coolest things I have ever learned to do. The environment is absolutely amazing. Some of my favorite things were: the hike up a volcano, going on night dives in Saba, making my own glass bead, and the long sails. I truly loved every moment of the trip and was so sad to leave. I will definitely be taking more trips through Broadreach. <3
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
French Immersion in Guadeloupe! October 17, 2011
Reviewer: Luluu0604 from Chicago, IL
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

If I had to tell someone a highlight of my summer, it would most definitely be my french immersion trip to Guadeloupe! I had never been down to the Caribbean - let alone the french west indies! Everything about the trip was great, and I was exposed to so many new things that I wasn't expecting. As I got of the plane, I had no idea what I was getting myself into; but by the end of the trip, I had no intention of ever having to say goodbye to the people that I had become so close with. The first week, our group of seven people, went on an overnight camping trip, enrolled in school, and engaged in cultural activity. The second week, we had a homestay! This was completely out of league, but it was so fun getting to know another family - even more special because we had to speak to them, and each other, in french! The last week, as if it could get better, was great! We were on a catamaran for four nights! Although some of the group members felt a little seasick, I really enjoyed being on the boat. Sleeping out on the trams(in the front of the boat) was great! I think it's pretty clear that I enjoyed this trip, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone who's interested!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
French Immersion in Guadeloupe! October 17, 2011
Reviewer: Luluu0604 from Chicago, IL
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

If I had to tell someone a highlight of my summer, it would most definitely be my french immersion trip to Guadeloupe! I had never been down to the Caribbean - let alone the french west indies! Everything about the trip was great, and I was exposed to so many new things that I wasn't expecting. As I got of the plane, I had no idea what I was getting myself into; but by the end of the trip, I had no intention of ever having to say goodbye to the people that I had become so close with. The first week, our group of seven people, went on an overnight camping trip, enrolled in school, and engaged in cultural activity. The second week, we had a homestay! This was completely out of league, but it was so fun getting to know another family - even more special because we had to speak to them, and each other, in french! The last week, as if it could get better, was great! We were on a catamaran for four nights! Although some of the group members felt a little seasick, I really enjoyed being on the boat. Sleeping out on the trams(in the front of the boat) was great! I think it's pretty clear that I enjoyed this trip, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone who's interested!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Broadreach ATC- Fiji Shark Behavior and Conservation October 17, 2011
Reviewer: Jeburney from Raleigh, NC
5 Stars 0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I spent my summer with Broadreach in Viti Levu, Fiji. Our group studied shark biology, behavior, and conservation and participated in research for Beqa Adventure Divers and the Shark Reef Marine Reserve. This trip was the most rewarding and life-changing experience I have ever had. I was able to scuba dive with bull sharks (among other sharks), experience Fijian culture, form lasting relationships with my team, explore the island, and eat some amazing food! Words cannot fully describe how amazing this trip was, and anyone that is interested in sharks or scuba diving should go! I honestly never wanted the trip to end.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Broadreach ATC- Fiji Shark Behavior and Conservation October 17, 2011
Reviewer: Jeburney from Raleigh, NC
5 Stars 1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I spent my summer with Broadreach in Viti Levu, Fiji. Our group studied shark biology, behavior, and conservation and participated in research for Beqa Adventure Divers and the Shark Reef Marine Reserve. This trip was the most rewarding and life-changing experience I have ever had. I was able to scuba dive with bull sharks (among other sharks), experience Fijian culture, form lasting relationships with my team, explore the island, and eat some amazing food! Words cannot fully describe how amazing this trip was, and anyone that is interested in sharks or scuba diving should go! I honestly never wanted the trip to end.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Broadreach ATC- Fiji Shark Behavior and Conservation October 17, 2011
Reviewer: Jeburney from Raleigh, NC
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I spent my summer with Broadreach in Viti Levu, Fiji. Our group studied shark biology, behavior, and conservation and participated in research for Beqa Adventure Divers and the Shark Reef Marine Reserve. This trip was the most rewarding and life-changing experience I have ever had. I was able to scuba dive with bull sharks (among other sharks), experience Fijian culture, form lasting relationships with my team, explore the island, and eat some amazing food! Words cannot fully describe how amazing this trip was, and anyone that is interested in sharks or scuba diving should go! I honestly never wanted the trip to end.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Broadreach ATC- Fiji Shark Behavior and Conservation October 17, 2011
Reviewer: Jeburney from Raleigh, NC
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I spent my summer with Broadreach in Viti Levu, Fiji. Our group studied shark biology, behavior, and conservation and participated in research for Beqa Adventure Divers and the Shark Reef Marine Reserve. This trip was the most rewarding and life-changing experience I have ever had. I was able to scuba dive with bull sharks (among other sharks), experience Fijian culture, form lasting relationships with my team, explore the island, and eat some amazing food! Words cannot fully describe how amazing this trip was, and anyone that is interested in sharks or scuba diving should go! I honestly never wanted the trip to end.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Costa Rica & Nicaragua October 17, 2011
Reviewer: Priyankasanand from Kinston, NC
4 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

In the summer of 2011, I took my first trip abroad without my family. I was nervous, a little bit scared, and apprehensive, but most of all, ready to embark on this unfamiliar adventure. I traveled through a program called Broadreach with five other high school students and two trained leaders. We all flew to Costa Rica and Nicaragua for a Spanish Immersion program that lasted three weeks. In Costa Rica, we rafted 21 miles down the Pacuare River, lived with a Costa Rican family for one week, and took Spanish classes with a local Spanish teacher. In Nicaragua, we ziplined through tree canopies, remodeled a classroom at an elementary school, witnessed a turtle lay eggs and then saved those eggs from local poachers. My favorite part during this trip was the homestay. I truly experienced the life and customs of a Costa Rican family who I knew nothing about. The families did not speak a word of English, which forced us to speak Spanish and learn a few Costa Rican sayings such as Pura Vida, meaning "it's all good." As nervous as I was at the beginning of these three weeks, they turned out to be the best three weeks of my life. And more than anything, I realized there is still so much more to see in the world and so much more to learn about others. It was an incredible experience, one I will never forget.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Vive La France October 17, 2011
Reviewer: Hkstarkey from Lexington, KY
4 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This summer I went on a trip to France for a month. Before I went on this trip I was so scared to go. It taught me many things about myself, the French language, and about navigating a foreign country. I was truly immersed and my favorite part was that I met so many different people. How many people can say they know a guy from Australia, and several people from Brazil? I had a blast and my favorite part was definitely the hiking in the Alps. Once I returned from my trip I realized how beautiful the views were and what a great opportunity I was given!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Bahamas Marine Biology Adventure October 08, 2011
Reviewer: Hmentjes from Milwaukee, WI
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I can honestly say that this was one of the best things that I have done in my entire life. This past summer, I went to the Bahamas for about a month and I studied Marine Biology as well as getting the opportunity to dive every day. Not only do I believe that the friends I made on the trip will last a lifetime, but I still find myself using the things that I learned in my school life, almost 3 months after my trip has ended. I learned all about the environment and I got a chance to find out more about myself while doing things that I love most. I had never gotten the opportunity to scuba dive before, and that just made that experience worth it on it's own. The counselors were sme of the nicest people that I have ever met and they made learning and taking tests actually fun by being able to connect what we were learning in class to what we got to see when we dove. If I could, I would do this trip all over again. Going on this trip was the best decision that I have ever made.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Marine Biology Adventure October 07, 2011
Reviewer: Carly.dennison from
5 Stars 1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I can honestly say that this was the best experience I have had by far. I absolutely loved spending time in the Bahamas, learning about the culture and every aspect surrounding it, but what made it so memorable was the amazing people I met while I was on the trip. I remember everything I learned while I was there because there are so many unforgetable memories around it. It has been almost three months since my trip ended, but the friendships made are going to last a lifetime. I would highly recommend any of the Broadreach trips to anyone no matter what they want to study for do later in life.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Peru Spanish and Service October 06, 2011
Reviewer: Covolo94 from NC
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Without a doubt, I can say that Broadreach's Peru Spanish and Service trip was the best experience of my entire life. I never felt like a tourist; I saw every part of Peru, the capital, the mountains, and the amazon, in the same way that the locals do. Everywhere we went, our experiences felt incredibly authentic. The community service projects we took on were incredibly fulfilling, and taught me more about myself and my own priorities than I could have ever imagined. The service projects allowed me to see how the Peruvian people truly live in every region of the country. In addition, the bond that formed between all of the members of the group was unlike anything I can explain. Over two months later, we all talk in a Facebook group every day. One of my friends from the trip, who happens to live in Texas, is even coming to visit me in NC over Christmas. I wouldn't trade what I gained from this Broadreach experience for anything.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Caribbean Underwater Discoveries October 06, 2011
Reviewer: Pcarruthers from Cincinnati, OH
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I sent my daughter on the Caribbean Underwater Discoveries Voyage trip last summer and she loved it! It was non-stop diving and sailing. The instructors were incredible and the friends she made will last a lifetime. I highly recommend this trip to anyone who wants to their child to have an experience they will never forget!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)

Showing 1 to 33 of 33 reviews.     | 1 | Back To Paged View |