Harand Camp of the Theatre Arts - Kenosha Wisconsin - Information, Reviews, Ratings
Categories > Artistic, Traditional,
Email this to a friend Email this page  Printer friendly format Printer friendly


Harand Camp of the Theatre Arts

5 Stars based on 4 reviews (review)

Camp Directors - Update this Listing

Camp Location: Carthage College, 2001 Alford Park Drive, Kenosha, Wisconsin, 53140,
Ages: 7-18
Gender: Co-Ed
Camp type:Overnight
Session dates: One-Week 6/23/13 - 6/29/13; 1st Session 6/23/13 - 7/14/13; 2nd Session 7/15/13 - 8/4/13
Cost (range): $1050/1 wk - $5350/6 wks
Contact Person: Judy Friedman Mooney or Janice Gaffin
Phone: 847-864-1500
Fax: 847-864-1588
Mailing Address:
1569 Sherman Ave., Suite 201A
Evanston, Illinois, 60201
Camp Website

Camp's Description

At Harand Camp "No Man is an Island" and EVERYONE is a STAR! Established in 1955, Harand Camp was one of the nation's first co-ed, residential camps to combine SINGING, DANCING, and ACTING with the FUN of traditional summer camp activities. Located at Carthage College in Kenosha, Wisconsin, Harand Camp offers non-competitive musical theater training for campers ages 7 to 18. In addition to the theatre program, campers also enjoy sports and elective activities, cabin nights, excursions, and all-camp events. Campers may attend for 1, 3, or 6 weeks and each session culminates in a large-scale performance for family, friends, and alumni. Payment plans and scholarships are available. PHILOSOPHY Harand Camp means "family" to thousands of Haranders all over the world. It is our goal to develop poise, personality, self-esteem, leadership abilities, and theater knowledge. Each art and skill enhances the other, and the combination of the arts plus sports, ultimately helps each camper to become a more well-rounded person. CAMP LIFE Harand Camp is located on the shores of Lake Michigan on the beautiful campus of Carthage College in Kenosha, WI. Campus amenities include: 400-seat, state-of-the-art theatre, Dormitories overlooking the Lake, Olympic-size indoor swimming pool, Dance Studio, Athletic Center, Air-conditioned classrooms, and Food by Sodexo Living: Upon arrival, our campers (ages 7 - 18) are divided into "cabins" by age and reside together in the dorms (2-3 per room). Cabins groups are named after classic musicals and movies. Food: Meals are served three times a day in the dining hall (renovated in 2012!) which features many options, including a salad bar, and frozen yogurt. Schedule: Campers spend half the day in theatre classes and the other half in activity classes of their own choosing. Evenings and Sundays include a rotating schedule of rehearsals, cabin nights, and all-camp events. THEATER PROGRAM We adhere to a NON-COMPETITIVE philosophy where EVERYONE is a STAR! It is our goal for ALL campers to develop skills in the performing arts AND build self-confidence. In preparation for final performances, campers take daily classes in singing, dancing, and dramatics in the morning or afternoon. Occasional rehearsals are held in the evening (alternating with activities & events). Each session culminates with a large-scale performance for friends, family, and alumni in our state-of-the-art theatre. ELECTIVE CLASSES In addition to our structured musical theatre program, campers sign-up for three periods of electives per day. We operate on an alternating schedule of A-Days and B-Days, so campers actually have SIX classes that are completely of their own choosing! Options may include: Soccer, Basketball, Swimming, Volleyball, Badminton, Cheerleading, Tennis, Zumba, Technical Theatre, Costuming, Improv, Audition Coaching, A Cappella, Hip Hop, Tap, Photography, Film & Video, Arts & Crafts, Creative Writing, and more! EVENING & WEEKEND ACTIVITIES When not rehearsing in the evening, campers enjoy an exciting schedule of cabin nights and events, as well as all-camp competitions, concerts and excursions. The activity schedule may include: Talent Show, Camp Fire, Action Territory Amusement Park, Beach Day, Skating, Family Feud, Hobby Night, Costume Ball, Karaoke, Bowling, and more! FIRST SESSION: PAGEANT (6/23/13 - 7/14/13) Campers participate in a full-length musical revue involving the entire camp. Each age group prepares two sections of non-stop singing and dancing. Groups appear on stage - in our beautiful costumes – no less than three times! Past pageants include: Tributes to Irving Berlin and George Gershwin, Movie Musicals, Women of Broadway, Rock Musicals, and Tony-Award Winners. ONE WEEK SESSION: WORKSHOP (6/23/13 - 6/30/13) Get a taste of the Harand experience with this special one-week program. Enjoy the same arts and recreation activities as first session campers, culminating in a Workshop performance featuring selections from the Pageant. This option is perfect for new campers who want to try camp without committing to three weeks. One-weekers always have the option to stay! SECOND SESSION: MUSICALS (7/15/13 - 8/4/13) During the second three weeks, each age group prepares a full-length musical of their very own. Unlike at other camps, all Haranders have the chance to perform a leading role, and appear as part of the ensemble – ensuring that EVERY camper receives the full musical theater experience. PERFORMING ARTS ELECTIVES Campers may choose to enroll in extra performing arts courses such as management & production, stage makeup, improv, stage combat, auditioning, theater history, and an Advanced Musical Theater Intensive featuring selections from contemporary musicals (First Session only). These are optional and included in tuition. Musicals and classes are subject to change based on show licensing and staff availability. Placement in shows is based on age group and cast requirements. Some classes may be subject to age restrictions. Please visit our website harandcamp dot com for more information, including dates, prices, photos and videos!

Camp Reviews     Write an online review for Harand Camp of the Theatre ArtsWrite a review


Showing 1 to 4 of 4 reviews.    | 1 |
Every Child Is A Star! On and Off the Stage! March 11, 2012
Reviewer: Hw from Florida
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I was a camper at Harand for over 8 years. My mother was a camper there for 5 years, and we both have worked on staff as counselors. Moreover, both my aunt and my cousin were campers at Harand. This camp has changed all of our lives. It is a theater camp that promotes confidence, acceptance, and self-esteem. The lessons learned at this camp have shaped all of us into the people we are, while giving us memories to last forever. My mom and aunt are still best friends with all of their camp friends, and I know my cousin and I will be too!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Theater in the Sun is Fun March 09, 2012
Reviewer: MiqKayKay from Chicago, IL
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Your child might cry their eyes out the first night at sleepaway camp. But Harand is so excellent that they will cry even harder when they leave. Those that come to stay for only 1 week call home begging to stay for 3 or 6 weeks. It is a Musical Theatre camp but it is also a Sports camp. There is something for everyone. Children develop skills not only on stage, but also socially, in sports and personally. For almost 60 years Harand has been enriching the lives of children and creating literal life long friendships. My counselor from when I was 13 was just the Maid of Honor in one of my closest friend's wedding. The 90+ founder of camp (who used to be a successful vaudevillian actress, oh the stories she tells) is still teaching at camp and is very involved in all aspects of camp, including getting to know the campers. The children are taught not just by college students but also by theater professionals. It's like a Master Class everyday. Kids take singing, acting and dancing classes every day but also choose electives like improv, arts and crafts, theater tech, swimming, yoga and recently we added a certified Zumba classes. We had a history of musical theatre class and a class devoted to Harry Potter. It changes every year so returning campers always have something new to choose. But a lot go back to old favorites (like improv and Zumba). The camp is currently at Carthage College in Kenosha, WI. This means no physical "cabins" but dorm rooms instead. This also means, a better and wider variety of food than at most other camps, indoor heated pool, and actual theater space including a black box theater. Children have more personal space than in some other camps and no chance of poison ivy. This camp is one of the best investments that you can make in the development of your child.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Harand Camp - Outstanding Impact on my Kids! February 21, 2012
Reviewer: Joejenny101 from Highland Park, IL
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My two children have been attending Harand for the past six summers. The camp is based on the Cathage College campus in Wisconsin - right on Lake Michigan - it's really beautiful. Both of my kids - my son is now 14 and my daughter is 12 have now preformed in several plays and acting and love of theater is simply part of their life. My son, is also pretty extreme athlete (Hockey, Karate, Lacrosse) -so this is the perfect balance for him. My daughter's growth at Harand has been more in the area of speaking and comfort on stage. At this time, I cannot ever see her with stage fright! Bottom line - this is a great camp and worth every dollar I spent and every hour of my children's time at camp!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Amazing Theater Arts Camp! February 20, 2012
Reviewer: Joejenny101 from Highland Park, IL
5 Stars 1 of 1 people found this review helpful

They have been doing this for over 50 years and this shows in tradition, and experience. (the piano players, directors, art directors - all are pros at this in real life!) simply an amazing camp! My two children have been attending Harand for the past six summers. The camp is based on the Cathage College campus in Wisconsin - right on Lake Michigan - it's really beautiful. Both of my kids - my son is now 14 and my daughter is 12 have now preformed in several plays and acting and love of theater is simply part of their life. My son, is also pretty extreme athlete (Hockey, Karate, Lacrosse) -so this is the perfect balance for him. My daughter's growth at Harand has been more in the area of speaking and comfort on stage. At this time, I cannot ever see her with stage fright! Bottom line - this is a great camp and worth every dollar I spent and every hour of my children's time at camp!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)

Showing 1 to 4 of 4 reviews.     | 1 |