C-A-M-P (Creative, Arts, Music & Performance) - Information, Reviews, Ratings
C-A-M-P (Creative, Arts, Music & Performance)
Avg. Customer Review (5.0 Stars): 5 Stars
Number of Reviews: 16

Description
Resource id #12

Camp Website

Camp Location
Route 143
Hinsdale Massachusetts 01235
Camp Details
Ages: 7-17
Gender: Male and Female
Camp type: Overnight
Session dates: August 13-25
Cost (range): $1,795
Contact Information
Eileen Rogosin
info@c-a-m-p.net
Phone: 505-946-0488
Fax: 505-946-0499
Mailing Address:
Off Season Mailing Address:
TesuqueNew Mexico 87574
Location(s):


Showing 1 to 16 of 16 reviews


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

C-A-M-P, Sep 02, 2011
reviewer: Jesse M from Keene, NH
C-A-M-P is life! I have been going toi C-A-M-P since 2006 and I have loved it every year. As the years go by, C-A-M-P gets better and better. I have learned more from C-A-M-P than I have ever learned. The people here are fantastic and the staff is wonderful and brilliant. C-A-M-P helped me figure out what I wanted to do in life, and it has taught me so much to help get me to where I am today. It really is a great experience for everyone. C-A-M-P is a part of my life, and it always will be. When I first went to C-A-M-P, my family got a whole lot bigger. C-A-M-P is truly a life-changer.


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

C-A-M-P is completely amazing, Aug 11, 2010
reviewer: L!lb3nd@12 from Concord, New Hampshire
I went to camp the very first year, and the years that followed, and I have to say I really loved it. It was so much fun, and an awesome expierence. Everyone there is so nice and when you go you feel like you are apart of a giant family. Roy and Eileen Rogosin are just two amazing people. I felt like I could really exspress myself while I was there and I didn't have to worry about what people thought. Mostly because eveyone there is great and help you through what you need to improve. It was so fun to prepare for the final show and I really loved how you got to preform infront of your family and show them how hard you worked. And also how much fun you had doing it. I still talk to the people at C-A- M-P, and am glad I got to meet them, and enjoy the expierences of C-A-M-P.

__________________


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

C-A-M-P is Amazing, Jun 01, 2009
reviewer: EmilyB13 from
Summer of 2008, I went to C-A-M-P for my first time. I had been sent a brouchure in the mail, and registered instantly after i realized that this is exactly what I had been looking for. It seemed as though it would fit my personality and interests perfectly. This being my first time at sleepaway camp, I was very nervous to stay away from home for two weeks, and I also had the fear of not making any friends. However, as soon as I arrived I felt welcome. Strait from the moment I walked through the doors to check in I was treated with the up most kindness and love. I was directed to my cabin and there I met up with my Sarah, my counselor and my CIT. They had already hand-made a sign on the door with all of the people in my cabin's names on it. They greeted me with big smiles as I was one of the first in my cabin to arrive. I chose my bed, and sat there with my parents. Three more girls entered, then three more. Soon enough all eight of us were in the cabin. My parents left, and I started to feel a little awkward by myself. Not for long. My first half hour at C-A-M-P was a little shakey, however I promise you this- by the end of the first night I had made seven of the best friends I will ever have in my lifetime. I loved and still love all of my 2008 cabin mates, along with my counselor and CIT. I am not the only one, however. I can gaurentee that absolutely everyone who goes to camp will make some of the best friends ever, as everyone did. If you are shy, there is no need to worry. The counselors all do nothing but make sure all of the campers are happy, healthy, and having the best time possible. All of the course directors care for you, and make sure you feel as at home as you possibly can away from home. The directors of camp, Eileen and Roy Rogosin, are always there for any questions you might have, and if you need the slightest bit of practice with something for a talent show, or need to work on your music for a seminar, they are right there with open arms. Every day at camp you will have two specialty seminars chosen by you, along with free periods, breakfast, lunch, and dinner periods, swim periods, mentor meeting periods, and more. Along with that, there will be pleanty of nightly activities that the whole camp participates in. Some of my favorites of last year were the cabin themed fashion show, the huge tarp put on the hill with soap and water to slip and slide down on, greasy watermellon, star gazing with stories, and many more. Also, almost every night you will go to a campfire on the campfire circle, where everyone has a chance to talk about anything in the world they would like to talk about in front of the campers and staff. You can speak your peace about how you have been at camp, thank all the wonderful staff members and your amazing friends, or anything. Also, there are two full camp talent shows that everyone must participate in some way or another. There is a camp prom, where you have the chance to dress up or dress down to meet and dance with all of your friends. Also at the end of camp there is a banquet where every single camper is awarded a cirtificate that is personal between the camper and the councelor. The last night of camp was one of the saddest and most wonderful nights I have ever experianced. We had a camp fire on the beach, rather than in the campfire circle, and all recieved memorial rocks. Overall, C-A-M-P is one of the best places on the world. A true home away from home.


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

The Best Camp in the world!!!!, Feb 03, 2009
reviewer: John Mcneil from Massachussettes
This most recent summer was my 3rd time going to C-A-M-P, and every year it just keeps getting better. Whenever i'm at camp i have the time of my life, i have tons of fun and i always meet new people and become their good friend. The people i have met at C-A-M-P are people i will never forget, i have become so close to them and i consider every person who is a part of C-A-M-P to be not just a friend, but a family member. Here there is a huge variety of activities to participate in from dancing and singing to shakespeare and play writing and each activity is a lot of fun! You can always try new things at this camp and if you love to perform then this is the camp for you. You act out infront of your friends and family and the people there support whatever it is you do. C-A-M-P has helped me become a better performer because of one key piece of advice a counselor gave me "Never be afraid to embarrass yourself" and ive used that every time i perform and it helps. C-A-M-P is a big part of my life and i will always remember the fun, the love, the people and everything about it. If your'e looking for the time of your life, C-A-M-P is the place to be over the summer. From, John C. McNeil


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

amazing!, Jan 30, 2009
reviewer: Arielle from MA
I had no idea what to expect when I first drove up to camp. I had never been to an overnight camp before, and I barely knew any of the people. Within the first night, I had already began making friends and had a comfortable set up in my cabin. And at camp you are never bored, there is always something to be doing. Whether you're attending a performance class, or down swimming by the lake, or just hanging out...it's always fun. Plus, every night the counselors plan a new activity...anything from campfires, hide and seek, fashion shows, or movie nights. And there's so many different classes for all sorts of interests like dance, singing, Shakespeare, writing, improv, art, film, and one of the most popular being variety arts. Each class is taught by someone highly qualified, and any performer can appreciate the training. But most importantly, everyone bonds while at CAMP, especially within their own cabin, and many people are able to stay close friends well after CAMP has ended. I would recommend CAMP to anyone.


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

A Place Everyone Deserves, Jan 27, 2009
reviewer: Broadwaymmc13 from Boston, MA
C-A-M-P is wonderful. I have attended for the last three years and it has become a second family and i look forward to it every year. I never get homesick and everyone there is so welcoming. I have learned so much there and grown so much as a person because of C-A-M-P. The classes are wonderful and because some or "master class" style not only do we learn through ourselves but also through other's work. It is a truly wonderful learning environment where one is never afraid to take risks. The counselors and instructors have inspired me so much and have helped me get to where i want to be and not only do they help at camp but also they are always open to help through out the year. Not only do we learn a lot we always have a lot of fun. Living in the cabins is also a lot of fun because you get to know the people in your cabin so well including the counselors and the CIT's. Everyone is so open to any ideas and they do everything they can to make camp a very positive and fun experience for every camper. During the two weeks you create friendships that will last a lifetime. We also do some really fun activities like swimming in the lake and water slides. C-A-M-P is one of the highlights of my year and i don't know what i would do without that last two weeks of fun before school starts. C-A-M-P is a wonderful place and i think everyone deserves a place like this where you can just be you and have fun.

__________________


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

H-O-M-E = C-A-M-P, Jan 26, 2009
reviewer: Carciel from New Hampshire
I remeber the first day of C-A-M-P i was so nervous to go. I was probably even more nervous because of my going to C-A-M-P ith my older sister. But back to my first day of C-A-M-P, I was traveling down the long dirt rode to get to the center of C-A-M-P. as we got to the bottom of the hill i saw a beautiful camp with people that looked so accepting. and the surprise of Molly who actually lives in my town (now in college) it was chouette. i got out of the car and was shaking so hard when Laura who was to be my awsome counceler came up to great me after i checked in. the first night we walked side by side with someone we did not know, hand in hand and in hand was a candle, when we approached the fire i was amazed to see it was so small. then our C-A-M-P director ROY got up and said to us to tell where we are from ( there was like 40 people) and what is our favorite thingand why we came. aftger i got up just like everyone i threw my candle into the flame. i sat there excited and thrilled.i have gone to other camps but they were so large i didnt even now everyone. other camps when problems came up they would not be solved. C-A-M-P is the best expierence of my life ( a tear is now rolling down my cheek) i could never replace it. Roy and Eilleen taught me so much. from musical theatre to shakspears world. i have gotten where i am with theatre because of them...and my thetre loving sister. because you must find and share your voice with people far and lift your hearts and then rejoice in knowing love is here.

__________________


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful:

C-A-M-P is a place we open up our eyes., Jul 01, 2007
reviewer: Dominique from Dover, NH
When my dad and I pulled into the dirt road of C-A-M-P it looked all too familier. I'd been to over night camps before and they had been "okay". With my slight bit of skepticism, and my huge purple trunk in tow, I went to the check in counter. What is your name? Drop medications here if you have any. Sign here, etc. Soon I was introducted to my counsler Allison and my CIT Mollie who were abundant with excitment. Their enthusiasm instantly erased any nervous jitters I had about metting my fellow cabin (which would happen in 2 minutes). "Hi, I'm Mollie. I'll be your CIT and you are going to be in the cabin Arapahoe." So I followed Mollie up the tree root infested hill to my cabin. When I opened the door, I was taken aback by the hustle and bustle of moms and daughters unpacking and saying their last words to each other. As nonchalantly as I could, I picked a bunk and started unpacking. I thought my presence had gone unoticed until someone finally made a comment. "Wow, you sure are a pro at unpacking". I look up to see a mom standing to my right. She introduced my to her daughter Diana, and Diana and I starting our friendship while I finished unpacking. Eventually everyone in our cabin had said goodbye to their parents and we all went down to the lakeside to get to know each other. As corny as it sounds, with in minutes the Arapahoes were laughing and talking to each other as if we had been best friends for years. As the days passed we met other kids in C-A-M-P and became accustomed to our scheduele. Wake up at the crack of dawn (which none of us were very fond of) and go breath fresh morning air. We proceed to breakfast and then morning sing lead by pianist and singer extrodinare, Jose. We all leared what electives we were placed in. I was in Musical Theatre (learn how to effectivly sing an audition song and grab the audiance) and Callback (how to audition for a show, comercial, etc.) Within a few days I had come to learn that this was not like any of the other overnight camps I had gone to. I fell in love with the fact that I could wake up and find people who were involved and amused with the same things I am. At night we would have special themed nights. Talent shows, dances, movie knows, etc. My favorite night was beach night, the 4th night of C-A-M-P. We all sat around the campfire and ate smores. We sung, we talked, we shared what we liked about C-A-M-P so far, etc. And then one of the Arapahoes started to cry, Emily. And then another, Megan. And then I noticed tears trickling down my own cheeks. I looked around with watery eyes to see that every one of the Arapahoes was crying. Allison, our consler, came over to us and was like "Uhm...what wrong...?" Clearly confused about the situation. We all figured out that we were crying because we did want to leave camp. Allison said, "Now you guys know what I was talking about the first night I met you guys when I said you would remember C-A-M-P forever." That night brought all fo us close together. Everyone, not just individual cabins, were inseprable. You could always stop and pause, and hear a variety of sounds. People singing, kids laughing, monolouges being recited, a prank being pulled on someone, and people just acting like they were comfortable...like we all knew this was our sanctuary. The last night of C-A-M-P came all too soon. We huddled around a huge fire and had a goodbye service lead by Roy and Eileen Rogasin, the father and mother of C-A-M-P. We shared stories, practed a Sukie (spelling?) welcome that we learned in the beginning of C-A-M-P, and all got very nostalgic. Then we all got a lit candle. Roy intruscted us to go up to the fire, when ever we felt liek it, as long as it took, and say one word that reminded us of C-A-M-P and throw the candle in the fire. People soon started to emerge with tears in their eyes. Words were being muttered everywhere. Fun. Amazing. Hope. Life. Friends. And then one little boy went up to the fire and said "Home." That night was a tearful goodbye. We all went to bed wishing we could spend more time here. While it may sound like all we did at C-A-M-P was sing and cry, there was so much more to it. At the end of C-A-M-P we put on a grand show of musical group numbers, ballads, dance solos, acrobatics, monologes, even stilt walking! As I am writing this I can't believe it's been over 10 months sense I was last at C-A-M-P. I have kept in touch with almost all fo my friends I met there and even been able to meet up with a few. I thought the time for C-A-M-P 2007 would NEVER come, and now it's almost here. C-A-M-P is a place for people to bond. To make new friends. To find themselves. And to "find and their your voice with people far and near" as sung in our C-A-M-P song. I can't wait to see when this years sessions will hold. C-A-M-P 2007, here we come!


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Gotta Love C-A-M-P, Mar 28, 2007
reviewer: Kvanvlack from Monmouth, ME
When I went to camp I thought that I would autmaticly be left out and was worried sick. My mom was reasurring me and as soon as I got there and got my nervousness done I realised that she was right. I had taken the creative writing course and it helped me alot with expressing my feelings and how people would comment on my work. Waking up in the morning and such and singing everyday defiantly improved me and my friends agree I am much better. I have to thank Laura my AWESOME counciler by how much she helped me with everything, the people in my cabin were awesome no matter WHAT we were talking about :). The Talent Shows we had down were amazing, I met new friends and I am hoping to come back for another year. I know that there is a certain spot I have reserved for camp in my heart. I can never forget how welcoming the camp and staff were and the food! Don't get me started, I think that I gained weight while there! The chefs were amazing and everything there was great. The Final Campfire is what got me though. I remember swearing that I wouldn't cry and I would be there for my new friends. But soon enough after we had started talking I was crying, I think most of us had. It was a very emotional thing. We had come to be a giant family by the end of the time. I never though that I could feel that way about a group of people and staff, I was just amazed by certain singers in my cabin who could sing better than some of the professionals. They would even put up with my crazy antics and weird ramblings. I think that the one thing about C-A-M-P that will never change is that how the staff treat you like family and friends not that other kid you have to watch, I hope that when I do come back everyone will be there. I just think that the song we had sung 'Seasons of Love' from Rent matched most of us. We didn't know how to measure the time we had together, we could have said it was just days but deep inside it felt like so much more than that. We had gone through the hardships of missing home and the great times of making friends and savanger hunts. Stargazing and Dancing, I think that if there was ever any camp that a person deserved to go to one it is Creative Arts Music And Performance. It's the best camp and I don't think I will ever forget it. It was the best experience. I've been changed for the better. :)


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

My Second Family is C-A-M-P, Feb 23, 2007
reviewer: BroadwayMMC from Andover, MA
C-A-M-P is marvelous! I learned so much there and made so many new friends. I had a blast. At first I wasnít so sure I wanted to go because I was afraid of being away from home for almost two weeks. When I got there I cried for about an hour and then my mom left and I started talking to people and getting to know them and I didnít miss home one bit the whole time because I was having so much fun. I made so many friends at C-A-M-P. They are the type of friends who will last a life time. I talk to my C-A-M-P friends at least once a month. I also talk to the staff at C-A-M-P a lot I learned so much from them I continually have gone to them for help on auditions and things like that. Everyone there is so loving and we truly are one big family. We are not just going to a camp when we leave our houses to go to Maine we are going to a second family. On the fourth or fifth night the whole camp had a fire at the lake and we all talked about why we were here and how we got there and at the end of our fire my whole cabin started crying (we were definitely the emotional cabin). None of us wanted to go home and our counselor was very confused she was like you guys still have like a week here. And then we all realized that we still had a week together and that we should have fun while we could. At the end of the camp we have a big performance. We do things at C-A-M-P that you would never thing a bunch of kids from all over America could do in not even two weeks. We all work so hard and because performing is what we all love to do we have a special bond that you cant find anywhere else. We all know how important performing is for each other because we all have that feeling. When I was preparing for the first talent show I was thinking OMG I am going to be able to see every ones expressions and I will know if they didnít like it or not but when I got up on stage and looked into my fellow campers eyes all I could see was a lot of people who really cared if I did well and felt good about my performance. And let me tell you we did a lot of standing ovations during those talent shows. Another thing I was worried about when I first decide to go to C-A-M-P was if the food was good. I have been to other camps and at one of them we even had a song for how bad the food was. At C-A-M-P we have the best food ever! it is so good. I think gained about 5 pounds from eating so much. But lost it all because I had the opportunity to dance at least once a day. All the staff is amazing. They helped us through so much. I learned so much about myself in those short weeks and I learned that I can go away from home and I will survive away form my parents. Which is a good thing to know because I want to go to a performing arts high school and all of them are places were I would have to board. Another thing is that the classes are amazing. In the dance class that I took we each choreographed a could of three and put it together and it turned out great. And in my musical theatre class I had so much fun and learned a lot about what I can do with my voice. And each of us could give feed back on our performances so we could get better and better until our final performance were we knocked everyoneís socks off! I had a blast at C-A-M-P and I can not say enough about how amazing it was and how amazing the people I met there are. I could go on forever about how much fun I had and how much I love the eleven to twelve day we are there. I love being in the C-A-M-P family and hope to stay in it for a very long time.


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

C-A-M-P creates a perfect summer and artistic community, Feb 19, 2007
reviewer: Mollie from NH
I was a C.I.T last year at CAMP. I met the Rogosins before but i didn't really know what or who to expect. It was my first year there and I knew the staff have been connected through CAMP for a long time. They have the strongest bond because of what CAMP offered them, but when i drove in, i was immediately welcomed by all the staff. I felt the beginning of a new life-changing exerience for me and for our campers. And it was. I loved being with the campers, staff, and guests all day swimming across the lake and singing show tunes. There were no differences between all of us; we were all part of one big picture that made last year's CAMP experience magical. There's a special feeling you get at CAMP that resonates with you for months afterwards. I witnessed kids break out of their shells, make new friends, and learn new things. Everything from creative writing to improv. to Shakespeare was fun, informative, and lively. The new site for CAMP is so green and open and all safe. There are professional doctors, lifegaurds and counselors all over if a kid needs or wants anything. And most importantly, there is always PB&J if needed throughout the day. :) As a C.I.T, I learned so much from the counselors by observing and helping them. I also learned from the campers every single day. As a performer, I stepped over my safety line and sang! I dance for the most part and when I was encouraged to let my voice be heard, I tried. From that, I'm stepping even farther by opening up my voice and learning as much as I can. That's what CAMP is all about: finding and sharing your voice. As a person, I gained a lot of self-confidence and friendships. I can't wait to be staff at CAMP this summer and grow even more through my friends: the campers, staff, and the Rogosins. You must check out CAMP online or call someone who has been there. It is such a great experience. I can never thank the CAMP community enough for everything they have done for me and for themselves last year and I hope to see everyone again this year.


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

A Place To Remember, by Emily H., Feb 04, 2007
reviewer: SueH from Maine
Going to camp, I had no clue what to expect. When I first got there, the butterflies made their normal appearence in in my stomach as the anxiousness set it. But of course, the minute I said hello to the first person there, I knew this was going to be the best summer of my life. As the days went by I realized that it was the kind of place that you never forget. It was so much fun for me to spend the day performing with such fun and "out there" people, who, no question became some of my best friends. And, there is no better place to find support and encouragement. Although, if you're like me, and cry at just about anything, watch out for the campfires! There's such a strong, visible love, that it's hard to resist spending the whole night whispering (or screaming....!) and hugging. For anyone who adores performing as much as last summer's C-A-M-P crew, this is the place to be!


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

How Much I Loved C-A-M-P, By Hunter, Feb 03, 2007
reviewer: JTSponge from Andover Massachusetts
Camp was a description to me that I and alot of other people were not alone being who we are. We all loved singing, acting , dancing, writing , drawing and expressing ourselves. Thats why eileen and roy call C-A-M-P Creative arts music and preformance. When I first went there i didnt really know what to expect. I just saw a lake, a few cabins, campers, counclers and all over the place were Trees. Since I only came here with my mom and was just through with encore coda ( a music camp in sweeden ) I thought I was going to die. That is until I met my counclers, Ted , Tim and Deiter who I miss so much though e-mail daily. I obviously knew that this was the camp for me. Though when i got there and met everybody and was shy and quiet, i knew i could express myself with music! I had brought my saxophone with me so i started playing and wow! I felt good! Camp was the best experience in my life, with the councler hunts, Swimming periods , morning sings and much more. I encourage anyone who loves acting, singing or dancing to come over here and Try this camp out. And whatever you do if you are a councler, never give me candy, Matthew, Chris, Tim, Ted and Dieter all know what happened last year!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

C-A-M-P was amazing., Dec 29, 2006
reviewer: Matthew from Anytown, AT 55555
I loved everything about C-A-M-P. This was my first time going to sleep away camp and from the moment I got there I felt write at home. What could be better than spending your whole day singing, dancing, acting and so much more!!! Everyone was very friendly including the directors, the instructors, the counselors, the CIT's and the campers. C-A-M-P was the most amazing experience of my life. I can't wait to go back next year.


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

BEST CAMP EVER!, Dec 21, 2006
reviewer: Diana from Middleton, MA
CAMP was amazing. It was really cool because there were no cliques. It seemed like the whole camp was one big family. I loved everything about it from the dancing to the singing to the acting to the food to the CAMP directors. This was the first time I had ever gone to overnight camp. At first, I was scared but once I got there, I felt right at home. I made so many friends, that I still talk to constantly on-line. There were so many classes you could take. I took Shakespearean Theatre (which I loved - all of the people were really funny). I also took "Callback" which teaches you how to act on auditions. I can't wait to go back for the summer of 2007. One more thing: I remember on the first camp fire, Roy (one of the directors) said that he was waiting for "something" but that he couldn't tell us what it was until the last camp fire. We found out at the last campfire that what he was waiting for was for us to bond and to be like a family. I have two families now. My camp family and my real family.


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful:

Awesome experience!!!, Dec 20, 2006
reviewer: Molly from maine
I really enjoyed my experience last summer. The facilities were amazing. I was involved in a variety arts elective where we walked on stilts, really cool. I am coming back next year and bringing two friends. Can't wait.


Showing 1 to 16 of 16 reviews

This page was printed from