Camp Becket YMCA - Information, Reviews, Ratings
Camp Becket YMCA
Avg. Customer Review (5.0 Stars): 5 Stars
Number of Reviews: 10

Description
Resource id #12

View Larger
Camp Website

Camp Location
748 Hamilton Road
Becket Massachusetts 01223
Camp Details
Ages: 8-15
Gender: Male
Camp type: Overnight
Session dates: June 26 - July 23, July 24 - August 20
Cost (range): $3,815/Month
Contact Information
Chris Burke (Executive Director)
cburke@bccymca.org
Phone: 413-623-8991
Fax: 413-623-5890
Mailing Address:
748 Hamilton Road
BecketMassachusetts 01223
Location(s):


Showing 1 to 10 of 10 reviews


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

BA-BA-BA BECKET IN THE BIRKSHIRES, Mar 05, 2010
reviewer: Dtheif from
This is going to be my third year in camp and I love it! There is some kind of connection between me and the camp, and I will not ever leave. I am in a varsity choir that goes around the world, but I will gladly quit that if it gets in my way from going to Becket. I wouldn't give it up for the world

__________________


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Better Faithful then Famous., Jul 03, 2007
reviewer: RhettThanas from Boston, MA
I went to this camp for nine summers, and the are byfar the happiest memories of my childhood. Beyond just having pleasant memories, this place literally changed my life and helped build my character in ways no experience since has. This camp is a truly special place, and as I've discovered through re-joining its Alumni network that it has deeply touched everyone who has gone there.


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Great camp., May 22, 2007
reviewer: Asherm4 from New york, NY
Great camp. I went there and it completely changed my life for the better.


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Personal development and tons of fun, Apr 05, 2007
reviewer: Gordon from Cambridge, MA
This summer will be my 13th at Becket. From my days as a camper, I learned how to live, work, and play with boys from different backgrounds and as a staff member I learned how to create an environment were such social intelligence can develop. At Becket I have had enormous amounts of fun, made lasting friendships, met people from all over the world, and grown in ways that I will never forget. My greatest role models have come from Becket; my father passed away when I was 14, and I was supported through this time of loss by friends who knew that Becket is not just about the summer. I know of no other place where boys have such freedom to choose their activities, are supported to be themselves, and are encouraged to reflect upon and learn from their experiences. Camp Becket is as active and tiring as life at school, but it provides the seldom found and greatly needed space for real positive personal growth.


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Becket is the place to be!, Apr 02, 2007
reviewer: Kfitz from Boston, MA
Becket has been a part of my family from before I was born. My brothers went to Becket, along with my cousins and everyone in my neighborhood. Now that I'm older my son is at Becket and it is still the most amazing place to be...incredible staff, excellent programs, a dedicated community in a beautiful setting. There is no reason to go anywhere else.


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Fantastic, Unforgettable Camp Experience, Apr 02, 2007
reviewer: Adamgaynor from
I began at Becket as a camper when I was 11. what attracted my parents to Becket was the focus on the cabin group, on relationship building in a small family-style unit with dedicated and well trained counselors. They made the right choice! I was a camper at Becket for 5 years. I then traveled to Australia on a six week summer exchange with other campers from Becket and its sister camp, Chimney Corners. I was hooked! I stayed for another summer in a leadership program, and then worked as a counselor for five summers and administrator for two. My experience at Becket has shaped who I am as a person, and was a driving factor in my decision to become a professional educator and child social worker. As an adult, I am frequently in touch with Becket and Chimney Corners friends from around the country. I highly recommend Becket and Chimney Corners Camps to prospective parents. The experience is unforgettable.


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

awesome, Apr 01, 2007
reviewer: Twcrane from Boston, MA
Becket is an awesome place. I've been going there for the past 7 summers, and am still really excited to be going back again this summer. The staff are great - they're funny, helpful, and really seem to care a lot about their work. I've made a lot of great friends there. All in all a fantastic camp.


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

A life-changing experience, Apr 01, 2007
reviewer: Amici from Easthampton, MA
While there are a lot of camps out there that provide a fun "home away from home" in the summer, Camp Becket and Chimney Corners (Becket's sister camp) are way more than simply summer camps. The core values of the organization provide its campers with critical life lessons, learned and shared within a close-knit community. The friends that I made there, in my 17 years of involvement, are the best friends that I have. The staff is top notch, the facilities are outstanding (1400 pristine acres in the Berkshires with 2 private lakes), it is even one of the few summer camps to have a pediatrician on site 24/7. As you stroll through the grounds, you can't help but feel over 100 years of history in the place. But what will impress you the most is how the kids treat each other. Not to mention the dining hall songs! As a non-profit camp, the tuition is a bargain. Besides, you can't put a price on the impact that Becket will have on your children, and you!


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Best Camp, Apr 01, 2007
reviewer: Matt from Middletown, CT
This upcoming summer will be my 11th(!!) summer at the Becket/Chimney Corners YMCA and my sixth on their staff. My experience at Becket has been amazing. This is where I matured as a young adult. It is where I learned to live by a moral code (which I proudly display in my office), to appreciate nature, and to respect every person I meet. Without the experience of attending Becket I would not be the person I am today and there is no where in the world more dear to my heart. At Becket I have been encouraged to face challenges, and during their Dad's Weekends I solidified my relationship with my father. I know he cherishes memories of these weekends as well. Overall Becket has changed me for the better, and I look foward to sending my own children to Becket one day.


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Becket: MY FIRST LOVE, Apr 01, 2007
reviewer: Chuckroast from Boston, MA
Becket holds a special place in my heart. The camp brought me up and helped me find my path to manhood. I will never forget becket, my fellow campers, my counselors, other staff, singing the songs of camp, the general comraderie. Becket allows its campers to try new things outside of an environment where winnig and loosing matters. I learned how to rock climb, sail, throw a frisbee while surrounded by people who wanted to help me succeed. I have attended other YMCA overnight camps, and BCC YMCA is another place entirely. Come for a tour, and i promiss the first time you lay eyes on the waterfront, or see the view from the Library porch, you will look no further. I hope becket stays part of my life forever, and no matter where i end up in the world, i know it will be there as a constant.


Showing 1 to 10 of 10 reviews

This page was printed from