Harand Camp of the Theatre Arts - Information, Reviews, Ratings
Harand Camp of the Theatre Arts
Avg. Customer Review (5.0 Stars): 5 Stars
Number of Reviews: 4

Description
Resource id #12

Camp Website

Camp Location
Carthage College
Kenosha Wisconsin 53140
Camp Details
Ages: 7-18
Gender: Co-Ed
Camp type: Overnight
Session dates: One-Week 6/23/13 - 6/29/13; 1st Session 6/23/13 - 7/14/13; 2nd Session 7/15/13 - 8/4/13
Cost (range): $1050/1 wk - $5350/6 wks
Contact Information
Judy Friedman Mooney or Janice Gaffin
harandcamp@gmail.com
Phone: 847-864-1500
Fax: 847-864-1588
Mailing Address:
1569 Sherman Ave., Suite 201A
EvanstonIllinois 60201
Location(s):


Showing 1 to 4 of 4 reviews


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Every Child Is A Star! On and Off the Stage!, Mar 11, 2012
reviewer: Hw from Florida
I was a camper at Harand for over 8 years. My mother was a camper there for 5 years, and we both have worked on staff as counselors. Moreover, both my aunt and my cousin were campers at Harand. This camp has changed all of our lives. It is a theater camp that promotes confidence, acceptance, and self-esteem. The lessons learned at this camp have shaped all of us into the people we are, while giving us memories to last forever. My mom and aunt are still best friends with all of their camp friends, and I know my cousin and I will be too!


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Theater in the Sun is Fun, Mar 09, 2012
reviewer: MiqKayKay from Chicago, IL
Your child might cry their eyes out the first night at sleepaway camp. But Harand is so excellent that they will cry even harder when they leave. Those that come to stay for only 1 week call home begging to stay for 3 or 6 weeks. It is a Musical Theatre camp but it is also a Sports camp. There is something for everyone. Children develop skills not only on stage, but also socially, in sports and personally. For almost 60 years Harand has been enriching the lives of children and creating literal life long friendships. My counselor from when I was 13 was just the Maid of Honor in one of my closest friend's wedding. The 90+ founder of camp (who used to be a successful vaudevillian actress, oh the stories she tells) is still teaching at camp and is very involved in all aspects of camp, including getting to know the campers. The children are taught not just by college students but also by theater professionals. It's like a Master Class everyday. Kids take singing, acting and dancing classes every day but also choose electives like improv, arts and crafts, theater tech, swimming, yoga and recently we added a certified Zumba classes. We had a history of musical theatre class and a class devoted to Harry Potter. It changes every year so returning campers always have something new to choose. But a lot go back to old favorites (like improv and Zumba). The camp is currently at Carthage College in Kenosha, WI. This means no physical "cabins" but dorm rooms instead. This also means, a better and wider variety of food than at most other camps, indoor heated pool, and actual theater space including a black box theater. Children have more personal space than in some other camps and no chance of poison ivy. This camp is one of the best investments that you can make in the development of your child.


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Harand Camp - Outstanding Impact on my Kids!, Feb 21, 2012
reviewer: Joejenny101 from Highland Park, IL
My two children have been attending Harand for the past six summers. The camp is based on the Cathage College campus in Wisconsin - right on Lake Michigan - it's really beautiful. Both of my kids - my son is now 14 and my daughter is 12 have now preformed in several plays and acting and love of theater is simply part of their life. My son, is also pretty extreme athlete (Hockey, Karate, Lacrosse) -so this is the perfect balance for him. My daughter's growth at Harand has been more in the area of speaking and comfort on stage. At this time, I cannot ever see her with stage fright! Bottom line - this is a great camp and worth every dollar I spent and every hour of my children's time at camp!


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Amazing Theater Arts Camp!, Feb 20, 2012
reviewer: Joejenny101 from Highland Park, IL
They have been doing this for over 50 years and this shows in tradition, and experience. (the piano players, directors, art directors - all are pros at this in real life!) simply an amazing camp! My two children have been attending Harand for the past six summers. The camp is based on the Cathage College campus in Wisconsin - right on Lake Michigan - it's really beautiful. Both of my kids - my son is now 14 and my daughter is 12 have now preformed in several plays and acting and love of theater is simply part of their life. My son, is also pretty extreme athlete (Hockey, Karate, Lacrosse) -so this is the perfect balance for him. My daughter's growth at Harand has been more in the area of speaking and comfort on stage. At this time, I cannot ever see her with stage fright! Bottom line - this is a great camp and worth every dollar I spent and every hour of my children's time at camp!


Showing 1 to 4 of 4 reviews

This page was printed from