iD Tech Camps at Arizona State University - Information, Reviews, Ratings
iD Tech Camps at Arizona State University
Avg. Customer Review (4.9 Stars): 5 Stars
Number of Reviews: 11

Description
Resource id #12

View Larger
Camp Website

Camp Location

Tempe Arizona
Camp Details
Ages: 7 to 17 years old
Gender: Male and Female
Camp type: Day and Overnight
Session dates: June- July
Cost (range): varies
Contact Information

info@internalDrive.com
Phone: 1-888-709-TECH (8324)
Fax: 1-408-871-2228
Mailing Address:
42 West Campbell Ave
CampbellCalifornia 95008
Location(s):


Showing 1 to 11 of 11 reviews


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Long lasting impact, May 17, 2009
reviewer: Michelle Mom from Stanford, CA
My kids attend many camps, but this one had a long lasting impact. One child created a digital movie on the Gold Rush to hand in with her paper. it was a big hit and her ego boosted as everyone praised her for her creativity. My son created a video game to go along with one of his projects. When teachers ask them where they learned to create a video game and website, they exclaim "at camp!" Thanks! Usually my kids go to camp and that's it. Now they've used what they've learned with their school projects. Most importantly, they had fun. Thanks ID Tech Camps!


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Amazing, inspirational camp, May 13, 2009
reviewer: M11 from
I have worked as a summer staff for iD Tech Camps for five summers. Each summer, I am amazed at what the students produce as their final project at the end of the week. It truly is incredible. Not only that, I always felt extremely well prepared to do my job and to do it well since every May I would be required to attend online trainings, live trainings and read information that they gave to me. I don't think any company I've worked for has given me that much training and done it in such a fun way. The main office staff that I've met or talked to has always been helpful and knowledgeable. I have recommended this camp to many of my friends with children and will continue to do so since I feel that the company does such a great job with the service they provide.


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

RoboContenders at Stanford, CA, Aug 28, 2008
reviewer: Jhr from San Francisco, CA
This camp really encouraged my daughter to program. I loved how the instructor found her particular strengths and figured out how she could use those to make her team and their project stronger.


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

ID Tech Camp at Brown University - great fun, Aug 15, 2008
reviewer: Olsteinjs from Auburn, ME
“You really scored big with the staff - all energetic, knowledgeable, fun and funny with some very impressive resumes. Set a great example of enjoying learning and exploring new technology. Thanks"


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Best Camp Ever, Jul 26, 2008
reviewer: Gwizzy13 from Virginia
Our son had a wonderful time at camp, and told us repeatedly that it was the "best camp ever!" The campus at the College of William and Mary is incredible, and our son enjoyed seeing Colonial Williamsburg. He also enjoyed joking with his instructor, Laura, about their favorite baseball teams. Thanks for providing such a great experience. We look forward to camp next year.


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Excellent, engaging camp experience, Jul 19, 2008
reviewer: HBrown2 from Georgetown, TX
Our 16 year old son's passion is video games (PC, Nintendo, XBox 360) and he was interested in learning more about game design as a possible career choice. He participated in ID Tech Camps' 3D Game Design 1 & 2 courses with an Ultimate Gaming Weekend in between at UT-Austin and had a GREAT time. The camps were extremely well organized and the camp staff members were knowledgeable, friendly and related very well to the students, regardless of experience or backgrounds. The students used very powerful, cutting edge PCs and instructors tailored the pace and depth of the course to match the individual student's ability. The Family Showcases at the end of each camp week were very entertaining and indicative of the positive, encouraging tone set by camp leadership and counselors. We were impressed by the "final products" displayed by the students in every course that week and it appeared that students from elementary age through high school all learned a lot, were proud of their work and had a great time. The overall experience helped reinforce our son's interest in game design but gave him a realistic appreciation for how challenging and competitive that career field is. The dorm accomodations far exceeded our expectations, although the cafeteria food selection and quality apparently left a lot to be desired. ID Tech did, however, host meals at a few nearby restaurants during the gaming weekend to break up the food monotony. ID Tech Camp students occupied a single floor in a very safe, secure private dorm and counselors were ever-present but not overbearing to make sure that behavior was appropriate. In all aspects, our son's ID Tech Camp experience was engaging and rewarding. We consider it to be worth every penny of the tuition and would recommend the camps to anyone whose child is interested in a possible career in the video game industry, or who just wants a good "behind the scenes" look at what goes into such games. Although this is our only experience with overnight summer programs, we cannot imagine that we could find a more professional, knowledgeable and fun organization than ID Tech Camps.


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Only camp my son loves and wants to return ..., Jul 17, 2008
reviewer: Susie Halfpipe from Arlington, VA
This camp met and exceeded my expectations. Because this was a bit more expensive, I was expecting it to be good, but I am thrilled to report that my son loved this class and his teacher, and he was excited every morning to come here. He has not been as enthusiastic about a camp as he has this one. In fact, he has considered most of his other camps something to endure. What a pleasure to find a camp that stimulated and excited him. I will definitely enroll him again. Great program, and wonderful staff!

__________________


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

iD Tech 3D Game Creation Camp - Vassar, Jul 17, 2008
reviewer: Jmspanard from Albany, New York
This was my son's second year at iD Tech Camps. Last year he went to a one week session at Carnegie Mellon Univeristy in Pittsburgh, this year he attended for two weeks at Vassar in New York. He was signed up for the two Sunday - Friday camps, but called home on Thursday of the first week to ask if he could stay the weekend inbetween as well. He thinks iD Tech rocks. But there are some glitches. The computers rented for his second week sessions were not powerful enough to run the program the kids were using and they crashed repeatedly, sometimes as many as four times in one day. This frustrated the staff as well as the campers and really slowed down the kids' progress in writing their own games. And the dorms at Vassar actually reached 110 degrees one afternoon and everyone had to be evacuated to another location until it cooled down. But the food was great in the dining hall, the kids loved the counselors and loved being able to write and play video games to their hearts' content without having parents limiting their 'screen time.' If your child really enjoys video gaming they will love being in a setting where everyone else shares their passion. All in all I would give the camp a 4-star rating because of the problems. This is an expensive program, $2500 for two weeks, and you should expect a great experience for your kids at that price. This year's camp for us at Vassar was a B+ experience at A prices. We're still on the fence about going back for a third year.


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall Great Camp!, Jun 01, 2008
reviewer: Rudy04 from
Totally worth every penny! I was surprised my daughter loved it so much. She loves to play soccer and goes to a camp for it every summer as well. She is cutting it short to go back to iD this year which is saying a lot. The camp is on a university campus which I liked but our daughter really got a kick out of it. She learned to create a video game there in a week. i was impressed on the family day with how much she had learned. She had a game that she could play and has since taken it home and continued to work on it. My main reason I am ok with paying for camp this season (its not cheap but it is worth it) is the staff. They are awesome. From her point of view she thought they were cool and they knew what they were talking about. When we dropped her off we could see that it was well run and the staff seemed to know what they were doing. It was also nice to see her instructor was a girl as well. There were only about 4 other girls there and maybe 30 boys. One thing to think about but about half of the staff was female. Her instructor really did inspire her to keep learning about technology. She is looking to take a course where she creates her own website this year. She hasn’t been this excited about computers ever; it’s really cool to see. I recommend this camp to anyone who has a child that is interested in technology and having fun.


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Surf & Game Design Fun, May 25, 2008
reviewer: Carijane5 from San Diego
My nephew attended UCSD, he took the Surf and Video Game Design. He really enjoyed his summer experience and is excited to return this summer to take the 3D Game Design class.


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

My Daughter's Favorite Camp, May 15, 2008
reviewer: ReginaPA from Camp Hill, PA
This camp was great for my daughter. She took a video game creation course at iD Tech Camps at Carnegie Mellon last year. At first I was nervous about her attending camp at a University and also a technology camp. She was eager to go but I was not sure she would pick up on the information. After the first day, I knew I was wrong. She came home excited about her project, she was having fun and she really liked her instructor. She also really liked playing Guitar Hero during activity time. I noticed after camp that her confidence level had risen dramatically, especially with things on the computer. I would definitley reccomend this camp to anyone looking for a fun educational summer activity. The tuition is not the cheapest but it was worth every penny. She is looking forward to going back this summer


Showing 1 to 11 of 11 reviews

This page was printed from