Fox Hollow Equestrian - Information, Reviews, Ratings
Fox Hollow Equestrian
Avg. Customer Review (4.0 Stars): 4 Stars
Number of Reviews: 8

Description
Resource id #12

Camp Website

Camp Location

Issaquah Washington
Camp Details
Ages: 7 to 16 years old
Gender: Male and Female
Camp type: Day and Overnight
Session dates:
Cost (range): $500 - $1,000 a week
Contact Information


Phone: 253-209-5096
Fax:
Mailing Address:


Location(s):


Showing 1 to 8 of 8 reviews


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

amazing family farm, Aug 17, 2010
reviewer: HCWW from seattle
A picture is worth a thousand words; the beauty of Fox Hollow is conveyed through the web site photos. What can't be fully communicated is the incredible inner beauty of the family running this first class establishment. If you think top quality horsemanship means snooty, pay-to-play attitudes, think again! The young people that ride at Fox Hollow are certainly an elite group--but elite for their characters, their hard work, their sense of community, their grit and determination, and their passionate love of horses. All of these wonderful qualities are nurtured by Susan Grey, a consummate horse woman and treasure in the sometimes difficult-to-navigate horse world. There are no instructors talking on their cell phones during lessons at this barn--instead, you will find generosity and humor, combined with a perfectionist's seasoned approach to training young people and adults at every level. Equally competent to introduce a new rider to the basics of horsemanship and take an advanced rider and get her ready to place among the toughest competition at the Evergreen Classic (Lizzy Craven, 2010), Susan provides an unbelievable opportunity to anyone who shares her excitement and love of horses. She greets my 2 young children with hugs every time she sees them--as she does with all the children--and yet she inspires her riders to push themselves to their personal bests. As someone who has ridden in North Shore Chicago and at a big jumper barn, I have seen great riders and instructors. I am so thankful that Susan is patient enough to put up with me! Fox Hollow is my "laughin' place" and I am delighted to think that, because of Susan and the wonderful family environment at the barn, I may be able to give my children the lifelong gift of horseman/womanship. Thank you, Fox Hollow!!!! I'll add my opinion that you can't find a better destination for your family in the Seattle area. For example, my girls don't look at bunnies through cages--instead, they sit down for 30 minutes in a stall filled with bunnies, holding them on their laps and feeding them carrots. They don't peer through fences at ponies--instead, they play in the pasture with adorable miniature horses, ponies, lambs, etc, feeding and patting them. The trust and joy of sharing beautiful animals and nature with children in a gorgeous setting are truly the highlights of the family farm.


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

amazing family barn, Aug 17, 2010
reviewer: HCWW from Seattle, WA
A picture is worth a thousand words; the beauty of Fox Hollow is conveyed through the web site photos. What can't be fully communicated is the incredible inner beauty of the family running this first class establishment. If you think top quality horsemanship means snooty, pay-to-play attitudes, think again! The young people that ride at Fox Hollow are certainly an elite group--but elite for their characters, their hard work, their sense of community, their grit and determination, and their passionate love of horses. All of these wonderful qualities are nurtured by Susan Grey, a consummate horse woman and treasure in the sometimes difficult-to-navigate horse world. There are no instructors talking on their cell phones during lessons at this barn--instead, you will find generosity and humor, combined with a perfectionist's seasoned approach to training young people and adults at every level. Equally competent to introduce a new rider to the basics of horsemanship and take an advanced rider and get her ready to place among the toughest competition at the Evergreen Classic (Lizzy Craven, 2010), Susan provides an unbelievable opportunity to anyone who shares her excitement and love of horses. She greets my 2 young children with hugs every time she sees them--as she does with all the children--and yet she inspires her riders to push themselves to their personal bests. As someone who has ridden in North Shore Chicago and at a big jumper barn, I have seen great riders and instructors. I am so thankful that Susan is patient enough to put up with me! Fox Hollow is my "laughin' place" and I am delighted to think that, because of Susan and the wonderful family environment at the barn, I may be able to give my children the lifelong gift of horseman/womanship. Thank you, Fox Hollow!!!! I'll add my opinion that you can't find a better destination for your family in the Seattle area. For example, my girls don't look at bunnies through cages--instead, they sit down for 30 minutes in a stall filled with bunnies, holding them on their laps and feeding them carrots. They don't peer through fences at ponies--instead, they play in the pasture with adorable miniature horses, ponies, lambs, etc, feeding and patting them. The trust and joy of sharing beautiful animals and nature with children in a gorgeous setting are truly the highlights of the family farm.


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Chiming in to set the record straight, Sep 22, 2009
reviewer: Eah from Renton, WA
I'm astonished to read the "reviews" submitted on July 45th and 25th, 2009 by the mother and daughter. My 11-year-old daughter attended camp at the same time this girl and her friend did. She told me just what the August 17th reviewer did about the two girls involved in the behavior that led to the bad reviews. I guess there are bad apples in every barrel. I'm just glad the directors acted to remove these girls from the camp, which offered a rich and rewarding experience to those who wanted to participate. Most of us parents who brought our children to camp were reluctant to leave and return to the real world. Fox Hollow looks like a farm Martha Stewart would run, minus the fussiness and rigidity. It's a lovely setting, with plenty of bathroom facilities, a wide range of activities offered, many beautiful horses, and excellent riding and animal care instruction. The staff was warm, supportive and enthusiastic. My daughter loved it so much that we've switched riding instructors to spend more time there. My daughter has been to several camps over the years, and never loved one this much. I highly recommend Fox Hollow!


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Fox Hollow is wonderful!, Aug 18, 2009
reviewer: Kpodegard from Issaquah, WA
My youngest daughter (age 13) spent 4 weeks at Fox Hollow this summer and my eldest is a counselor there so I know this camp very well. I cannot say enough nice things about the camp, the quality of the horses and lessons and the nice people who run the place. I can also give some insight to the negative comments that were submitted 07/25/09 as my daughters were both in attendance with the campers who submitted those comments. The facts are these: two teenaged girls attended camp, refused to participate, broke rules and were so mean to younger campers they made them cry. In fact, these girls behaved so horribly they were kicked out the camp on the second day. No refunds were offered in accordance with camp policy. I have this information first hand from my daughters and have confirmed it with owners. Please do not let these biased and untrue comments affect your decision regarding Fox Hollow. It is a wonderful place and my kids adored every minute of their experience there. I cannot say enough good things about Fox Hollow Farm. Susan Gray is one of the best and most experienced riding instructors bar none. Autumn Ridnell own/runs the summer camp and is absolutely wonderful with the kids. In addition, their horses are top notch, award winning and well schooled -- not the typical nag that students get at a horse camp. Kids spend a lot of time on horseback and also learn to care for them. In addition to the horses, there are goats, a potbelly pig, miniature donkey, chickens, ducks, peacocks, kittens and just about any other animal a kid want to play with....The camp proved to be a fabulous experience. I highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a first rate horse camp experience.


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Wonderful horse camp!, Aug 18, 2009
reviewer: Kpodegard from Issaquah
My 13 year old spent several weeks at Fox Hollow this summer (she kept begging for "just one more week") and loved every minute of it. She spent several hours a day on horseback, her riding improved tremendously and she also learned a lot about caring for horses. In addition to the riding, this camp has huge inflatables for jumping and water slides, river rafting, baby goats, bunnies, chickens, kittens and a miniature donkey. It is truly heaven for a kid who loves animals. The kids slept in tents and cooked over a campfire -- which my daughter loved. They were treated more like family than campers. Susan Gray is an incredible riding instructor and Autumn (the owner/manager of the camp) is terrific with the kids. The counselers were all local high school girls and they were very responsible and fun.


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

A magical place for kids! Wonderful experience, Aug 17, 2009
reviewer: Kpodegard from
My youngest daughter (age 13) spent 4 weeks at Fox Hollow this summer and my eldest is a counselor there so I know this camp very well. I cannot say enough nice things about the camp, the quality of the horses and lessons and the nice people who run the place. I can also give some insight to the negative comments that were submitted 07/25/09 as my daughters were both in attendance with the campers who submitted those comments. The facts are these: two teenaged girls attended camp, refused to participate, broke rules and were so mean to younger campers they made them cry. In fact, these girls behaved so horribly they were kicked out the camp on the second day. No refunds were offered in accordance with camp policy. I have this information first hand from my daughters and have confirmed it with owners. Please do not let these biased and untrue comments affect your decision regarding Fox Hollow. It is a wonderful place and my kids adored every minute of their experience there. I cannot say enough good things about Fox Hollow Farm, the quality of the riding instruction and the people who own/run the place. My 13 year old spent several weeks at their summer camp and also takes riding lessons during the winter. Susan Gray is by far the best and most experienced riding instructor I've ever seen. Autumn Ridnell own/runs the summer camp and is absolutely wonderful with the kids. In addition, their horses are top notch, award winning and well schooled -- not the typical nag that students get at a horse camp. Kids spend a lot of time on horseback and also learn to care for them. In addition to the horses, there are goats, a potbelly pig, miniature donkey, chickens, ducks, peacocks, kittens and just about any other animal a kid want to play with....The camp proved to be a fabulous experience. I highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a first rate horse camp experience. As far as the complaint that the kids don't get time on horses -- that is ridiculous. I spend two days watching first hand and my daughter spent almost 2 hours a day on horse back. My youngest just started riding early this year and she’s doing her first jumping competition in two weeks. She spent a LOT of time on horseback at camp this summer and her riding improved tremendously.

__________________


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful:

terrible, Jul 25, 2009
reviewer: Elenarpom from seattle
Where do I begin? This camp was one of the worst camps I have ever been to. Me and my friend left early because it was such a drag. They Call it "Horse Camp" but we only rode for about 20-30 min a day! Also there were about 25 students (Day and Overnight campers) and we all shared 3 horses thoughout the day. They have about 12 horses in total, but we ended up only using three! So those poor horses were being used all day in the hot weather! Me and my friend are very advanced students in riding jumping high and doing lots of big shows, if you want to go to this camp I would advise you be a beginner and have NO jumping experience. I also thought the camp had no structure. We had about 10 hours of free time a day and hardly anything to do but sit there or swim but I dont think any one wants to swim for 10 hours. If you are a heavy eater also dont go hear because they serve VERY small amount of food, on the second day of camp (the day we left) we had half a scone for breakfast!!! overall DONT GO TO THIS CAMP!!!!


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful:

Deseptive Camp Advertising, Jul 24, 2009
reviewer: Grizzle3 from Seattle WA
We had a terrible experience with this camp. My 12 year old child did the overnight session July 2009. The claims on their website were completely misleading. My daughter has ridden horses for 5 years and takes lessons 3 times a week. We had emailed the camp back in March asking if they could accommodate her and they said absolutely. The website advertised that the campers would spend an average of 4 hours per day with the horses, with only 3 horses that were healthy enough to ride and 29 campers during the day the kids spent an average of 1/2 hour on the horses tops. The overnight campers didn't even get to ride until after the day campers left in the late afternoon. The instructor Susan Gray is Ms. Ridnells mother. She was lovely but with that many kids and only three horses that were healthy enough to ride there is no way anyone can offer any quality lesson time.They advertise on their website that the kids sleep in a hayloft above the barn instead they slept in a tent in their backyard. This camp is operated at the camp directors home, it did not state that on their website. There was only 1 bathroom located in the tack room with saddles and bridles for 29 day campers and 9 overnight campers. No shower facilities. There is a river located in the backyard of Ms. Ridnells house but no life guard to supervise. One of the girls had brought a cell phone, that is not allowed by the camp, thank god she did otherwise we would not have known what was going on! One night my daughter used the girls phone and called me at 8:40 p.m.because they had not eaten dinner yet. When my daughter asked the camp director Autumn Ridnell when they were going to eat she did not even know they had not eaten. The worst part was that when I asked Ms. Ridnell about these issues she became defensive and called my daughter a liar and me an overbearing parent. She actually hung up on me! I immediately drove up to get my daughter out of the camp. When I demanded a refund she wrote me an email that attacked the character of my 12 year old daughter and myself. It was shocking and sad that a child care professional would act in this manner. Any parent who entrusts their child to a camp has the right to know if the camp is honoring what they advertise and that their children are safe and being well cared for. Ms. Ridnell was clearly unwilling to accept any responsibility for falsely advertising about her camp and its offerings. I would not recommend this camp at all.


Showing 1 to 8 of 8 reviews

This page was printed from