All About dumast - Insidecamps.com
Search Reviews

Most Useful
Nshiver - 108 Useful Reviews
JerryMcT - 36 Useful Reviews
MomRN - 34 Useful Reviews
Coach Camp - 32 Useful Reviews
DeSkmith - 31 Useful Reviews
Ccarli - 30 Useful Reviews
Kyle H. - 23 Useful Reviews
Nick Rippel - 21 Useful Reviews
Bhygema - 19 Useful Reviews
Gimme fiction - 18 Useful Reviews


Most Active Reviewers

Jeburney - 4 Reviews
Jm3kids4me - 3 Reviews
Hmentjes - 3 Reviews
Bonniesuzanne - 3 Reviews
JoanT - 3 Reviews
Abbyha - 3 Reviews
Kpodegard - 3 Reviews
Jrogers - 3 Reviews
Mounty - 3 Reviews
Napa Mom - 3 Reviews

Most Recent Camp Reviews

Broadreach Summer Adventures for Teenagers 01/10/14
The Best Summer
Rating:

Broadreach Summer Adventures for Teenagers 01/09/14
Fiji Shark Studies
Rating:

Broadreach Summer Adventures for Teenagers 01/09/14
Belize Costa Rica Panama Adventure!
Rating:

Broadreach Summer Adventures for Teenagers 01/09/14
Belize Dolphin Studies
Rating:

Broadreach Summer Adventures for Teenagers 01/09/14
Belize Dolphin Studies
Rating:


About
Name:
Location: ,
Profession:
Age:
About Me:

 
Reviews Written by  
 

Showing 1 to 20 of 30 reviews
| 1 | 2     Next | - View All


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Caribbean Underwater Discoveries Voyage Dec 07, 2013
reviewer: from Darien, CT
Over the summer of 2013, I had the opportunity to go on Broadreach's Caribbean Underwater Discoveries Voyage. An enthralling combination of scuba diving and sailing, the trip proved to be a unique experience that I can honestly admit to being positively unforgettable! Sailing from island to island allowed for me to gain perspective on what the islands are actually like, rather than the perspective that is usually gained from staying in tourist resorts. Living on the boat with a twelve other people helped me understand what one's impact on the environment. Amazing instructors bring the community that is one's boat together. One's boat becomes a small community and fosters friendships that will last. My Broadreach was absolutely unforgettable! Nothing compares to mooring off of Ile Fourche, an uninhabited Island next to Saint Barts, and waking up with the Sun in the morning and at night falling asleep under a night sky twinkling with blazing shooting stars lighting up the sky. I would do it all again in a heartbeat!

Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Highly Recommend!! Aug 11, 2012
reviewer: from San Antonio, Texas
Charis Hills Camp is awesome!  Our son has RAD (Reactive Attachment Disorder) and PTSD (Post Traumatic Disorder), and this camp was able to provide our son with a week of spiritual, safe, and structured fun!  This was the first time our son has been to camp and we were unsure of how well he would react to this transition of strangers and unfamiliar environment away from family and home.  He surprised us and did really well from the start.  The staff and counselors are top notch and really see your child as an individual, not a child that needs to fit into a mold.  The ratio of campers vs. counselor is the best part of Charis Hills.  I believe the small groups helped our son feel safe and transition well in camp.

Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Serious concerns about Camp's Judgement Jul 27, 2012
reviewer: from New York
I really hate when reviews sound like sour grapes, so just know that I have been a huge fan of the camp. This is my son's second year (6 weeks each time). Although I've had minor concerns with how issues are handled, none of them have shocked me like this. The camp decided to take all the kids to see Dark Knight Rises. My 12-year old son was honest and told them that he didn't think he was allowed to go, so everyone else went and he was humiliated and devastated. As I went up the ranks to discuss what I viewed a huge lack of judgement I got nowhere. When I asked the Camp Dir. if she had seen it she said she had not, but they saw no problems sending the younger kids. I suggested that they should make some calls to check with other parents before taking the kids. They refused as they felt it was unnecessary. Plus they were already doing it. When I did get Marc, the Camp Owner, on the phone he was confrontational from the first word. To paraphrase our conversation he said "I love Batman, it's a great movie, everyone should see it and I'm not going to worry about what one parent thinks." (Not that any other parents were given the opportunity to weigh in). I couldn't get a word in edgewise and to the extent I was able to say something he literally bullied and mocked me. The final message to me, before saying "I'm hanging up," was "If you don't like how I do things don't send him here next year." Oh, it bears mentioning that they did NOT take the youngest campers (ages 10-12), but opted to go see Spiderman (far more appropriate). So help me understand the logic-- it wasn't ok for 10-12 year olds in the Bunk 1, but it WAS ok for 11-13 year olds in Bunk 2...yes I know you see the overlap and the irony. Taking the specifics out of this review I am horrified by Marc's treatment of me. I had read other reviews that expressed that the camp owners were not very respectful or responsive to the camper's parents and that had not been my experience. Of course that was when I was writing a check for $8795. I really hate writing this, but if I were a parent thinking about sending my child to Long Lake Camp I'd want to know whether or not I could trust my child into the camp's care and if I had problems how I could expect to be treated. I'm not sure what we'll do about next year. Since he's the owner I don't expect anything will change about their judgement when it comes to our kids. So disappointed.

Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Stay Clear Jul 19, 2012
reviewer: from
The staff is not very friendly, the food is bad, and with over 600 campers conditions are cramped to say the least. I have never been so disappointed in my life. My kids did make friends so it is hard to switch them to another Camp. Save yourself a lot of pain and go else where.

Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

terrible Jun 24, 2012
reviewer: from NY,ny
This review is coming from a 13 year old boy who went to this camp in 2011 and was a sophomore ( I believe I am sure I was a year behind a subbie. Anyway My camp expirience was dreadful. I knew a person who goes there she is a girl, girls side was very different from boys side. They were ( to my perception) much nicer. For a 12 year old boy first the kids were cruel. Absolutley cruel, save your self the misery and don't go. If I could I would sue. I met with the camp directors because they kne w my friend so we all met. I gave them some instances that might happen they said the camper would be kicked out and if the camper even said something rude they would be srtictly punished. Stupidly I believed them and decided to endure what would be the worst 7 weeks of my life. The counelours were as responsible as the kids I remember having no one in our bunk while the counselours where out talking. Second I had the worst time which I will get to later. I went to what was told to be the person to help me yet I had no help. I begged my parents every chance i got to take be back. I tricked that person into allowing me extra phone calls but she said DO NOT TELL THEM HOW BAD OF A TIME YOU ARE HAVING! I blame her for my camp expirience because she told my parents I was okay. I started Bawling while talking to my mom and said I wanna go home and I got my phone calls banned for the summer. Now for the main reason for my terrible summer the kids, the worst, cruelest, meanest, and most scolding people I have ever met. I was constanlty told I was gay, a fag, a pussy, retarted, f***tarted, creepy, and ugly. I was once walking back to my bunk when suddenly i was suddenly ambushed with water balloons counselours decided to watch and play ds. My hockey stick was stolen and on the next day to breakfeast I saw and so did the people who hid it so they ran to get it before me and would not give it to me. I yelled give it to me then was blamed for being mean for yelling. The day after visiting day I was eating goldfish and one of my worst bullies asked for one i said no he then attacked me for one and I escaped and he chased me outside to wear the counselours were. Remember that person I told you about who helped with bad expirience she did not do anything at all for this bully. I have had the worst expirience of my life. I am now in weekly therapy and have a panic attack whenever I hear "pontiac". I am now diagosed with depression because of this. Do not go hear no matter what they tell you.

Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

My kid was Traumatized at this camp! Mar 12, 2012
reviewer: from Plainview NY
It took many weeks for my 12 year old childs nightmares about this camp to fade away. Seeing my child step off the bus on the last day looking so damaged and sad. After a few hours of talking with my kid I knew my child was traumatized and abused by the staff at this camp. They have teenagers in group leader positions that decide on what kids they like and don't like and then treat them accordingly. The staff actually lies to parents and punishes kids for really small issues and then threatens and scares the kids into not telling their parents the truth. They punished my kid on the final night of camp for saying a curse word during color war like my kid is the only one out of 300 kids who said a bad word during camp. The entire camp should have been punished on the last night of camp if they treated all kids the same which would be fair. This camp is still around only because it's alumni keep sending there kids there, without it's alumni it would be defunct. During first week my daughter was warned by the other girls in her bunk (all alumni) that the new ones never make it through the whole summer. In the prior year a new girl their age had run away from the camp. The turnover on counselors is huge because they treat counselors who attended as campers better than the rest. I understand a camper was hurt pretty bad in a zipline accident because one of my kids counselors who also was a zipline intructor became distracted and a child got very hurt and had to leave the camp with a back injury, and the camp covered up this accident and still allowed the same counselor to continue to be a zipline instructor. This counselor threatened my child to not repeat and talk about what happened at the zipline or else. This camp treats your child like a commodity and values them with dollar signs. What is each child worth now and in the future as income. If you represent lots of $$$ you will be treated like royalty while those few kids (like mine) not worth the big bucks without siblings and consecutive years of attendance are mistreated and punished for every little thing that they consider to be wrong. This camp should be called Camp Cruel!

Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

i love actionquest! Feb 29, 2012
reviewer: from Hartford, CT
I have attended actionquest for the past three summers and absolutely love it. I always come home so proud of my self for everything i accomplish and all of my new certifications! I would absolutely recommend it to anyone interested- of the past three summers, I did not meet anyone there who wasn't having an amazing time.

Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILD TO THIS CAMP Jul 30, 2011
reviewer: from New York
I am a professional who lives and works in NYC and have one 10 year old son who is very independent. I recommended this camp to several of my son's friends as a sleep away camp for the summer. My son attends a private school in NYC and we were looking for a real old-fashioned camp experience. My son's first year was a good experience although the facilities were very outdated. I even had 2 of his counselors stay at my beach house for a month after camp ended. This year, I signed up for 2 weeks since my son enjoyed last year and recommended the camp to several other parents in NYC, so he had some more friends there. To say this year was a complete disaster is an understatement. I had to drive up after only 5 days because my son was hysterical over the treatment and the conditions. The camp has gone downhill fast. When I arrived, my son was filthy, underfed and looked like he had no sleep. On drop off everything looks great because it's orchestrated to give you a false sense of what is really going on. By day 4 my son made an emergency call to get him out of there. I called the camp and spoke to the new executive director none of the counselors returned from last year. He told me I would get a refund for a week and attempted not to let me up to see the bunk or talk to the owners who knew I was coming to pick up my son. I spoke to the counselor who was suppose to be sleeping in the bunk with the 4 campers. What I did find out was that they put a camper in my son's bunk who spoke no English and cried every night for 5 days straight. The facilities were a mess, dirty and disorganized. The campers looked as miserable as the counselors did. On speaking with the counselor in my son's bunk who was not from the US said " he had no clue". My son who is very independent born and raised in NYC told me that the kids were crying all day and night and that the counselors would leave them when they thought they were asleep to go into town. My son looked like he didn't sleep in a week was skinny and clearly upset. The directors tried to force him to stay but I knew that this was not normal behavior for my child. When I arrived, they told me I could process my week refund with the owner. After driving 3 1/2 hrs she would not come out to speak with me. Her assistant said she was on the phone, I waited an hour and she never came out. The assistant told me it was no problem and to send and email which I did. Their reply was they have a no refund policy. I was asking only for a week back when my son had to leave because of the conditions and was willing to forfit the first week's money. Also they said they wouldn't give me any money back for a rafting trip that was extra and scheduled for the following week. The camp owner Gretchen is completing unprofessional and rude. I referred many NYC kids to their camp on the basis of his experience last year. The facilities went completely downhill, the activities were boring, the counselors were all new, foreign and inexperienced. DO NOT EVER SEND YOUR CHILD to this camp. It's dangerous, dirty and unprofessionally managed. Your kid will have a horrible traumatizing experience and you will not be happy.

Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

CAMP DEER RUN/BROOKWOODS! Apr 11, 2011
reviewer: from
My brother, sister, and I all go or have gone (until they were too old) to camp deer run/ brookwoods. We all LOVE it! I look forward to camp ALL year because I have so much fun there. my camp memories are filled will sailing, water-skiing, friends, hilarious games each night! The facilities are PERFECT each cabin is beautiful, and has showers, sinks and bathrooms, windows with curtains and each night in your cabin feels like a sleepover with friends for life. The beach at camp is beautiful and sandy. The water is CRYSTAL CLEAR!!!!!!!!!! no weird brownish water, or gross seaweed. every day is FILLED with activites NON STOP it is so well organized and the food is delicious! every other night you have store, and get to eat candy, slushies, and soda! there are so many acivities and every night there is a realy fun activity i recommend it to EVERYONE

Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

MAKE THE BEST DECISION FOR YOUR CHILD! Mar 26, 2011
reviewer: from
Choosing a camp for your child is an extremely time-consuming and tedious process. Obviously, you want only the best, and finding a camp that will care for your most precious commodity while delivering your targeted goals & objectives is crucial. We've read the prior review and can assure you, my family did extensive research before selecting a camp to send our youngster. Having read the prior blog on this site, we obviously cannot speak for circumstances almost 4 years ago, but are well prepared to give recommendations to those families who are currently considering Camp Pocono Trails. Our opinions are based upon our 4-week experience just this past summer, 2010! During our research period, we found the owner of this Camp, Tony Sparber, to be a very direct communicater. He was enthusiatic and passionate about the camp facilities, specialized programs, and most of all, the positive results and life-changing experiences he had witnessed through the years for his campers. Each time we called, everyone from the administrative staff right up to Mr. Sparber were courteous, patient, informative, honest and approachable. What we were told about this camp experience, actually did happen. Our daughter is a great kid, excellent student and fun-loving. She was 10-years old and expressed a strong interest in losing weight. At 5'9" she is taller than average for her age and by today's standards a little over weight. Our focus was to find a camp to build the children's character and confidence and focus on self-esteem, and hopefully tone-up a little in the process. Our daughter had never been a way for any length of time, so as you can imagine, such a separation was a huge decision for all of us. We enrolled her for the 4-wk. camp which is a 13 hour drive and 700 miles away from our home. When we arrived, we found ourselves in a beautiful countryside location set in the Pocono Mountains of Pennsylvania. Our nerves were immediately calmed. It's what you see on the internet, but breathtaking in person! The staff was warm and enthusiastic - each camper welcomed individually by clapping and cheering from the staff. Upon introduction, Mr Sparber not only knew and addressed us by our first names, and remembered where we lived, but our daughter's as well, along with each and every other camper we watched arrive. First item on our agenda was medical, as our daughter had developed an ear infection just prior to camp arrival. She had a schedule of drops and follow-through and we found the nurses to be very attentive, providing personal scheduling of medications. Shortly after, our daughter quickly made some new friends and off she went. As parents, we were immediately confident in our decision. After a week and a half and no actual phone call from our daughter, I finally called the camp Director and ask that they PLEASE have her call us. She had plenty of opportunities to contact us, but as it turned out, she was having such so much fun, she didn't want to take the time out. A note to parents, subscribe to the Bunk Notes program, send daily emails, and watch for pictures of the daily activities posted on the Bunk Notes website. There was a very motivating and diverse curriculum - something for every child's taste and personality! The final results of our story is a memory we'll always cherish. We picked up our camper, same sweet personality, but much more confident, nearly 17 pounds less, ready to come home, but sad she was leaving the new friends she had made. Her lobbying to return this year began when she got into the car. The deal was made shortly thereafter. She brought home amazing experiences to share with our family, right down to Zumba in our living room. Her committment to her new diet plan was strong, and one thing we even noticed was a significant improvement in her athletic abilities. She went on to play softball and make the All Stars, was the leading scorer on her basketball team, and for the first time played organized volleyball. She hopes to continue all three sports in junior and high school. Her overall athletic persona had been elevated, solely due to the programs and the Camp. We have access to nutritionalist specialist through the camp if we need or desire. After camp, our daughter told us many accounts about the counselors, and it was obvious they were truly great with our daughter. It seems they really "connected" with the campers and were exceptional on all levels. Camps like these are somewhat costly for the "average joe" but Camp Pocono was reasonable in comparison to others similar in nature. If you're looking for some camp time for your child, including meals exercise, weight loss and a safe wholesome atmosphere, you get that. At the end, when you go to pick up your child, you'll realize you've gotten much more that you ever could imagine in heart, mind, and spirit.

Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Program flawed and not intended for all ages. Jul 23, 2010
reviewer: from
So if your child is between ages 8-12 then this camp is right for you. However, otherwise, things get a little fishy. If you are older than 13, prepare to enter a Nazi Camp for smart kids where freedom and liberty are left at home. Period. The older kids are confined to the shackles of immaturity as their activities are the same as those intended for kids much younger than them. Over and over during training, you'll hear them say "G-rated environment only". This isn't only unfair to the older kids but also unhealthy. How are kids supposed to mature socially when they are confined to a prison of Walt Disney and 9 yr old humor. They don't. They rebel to be given more freedoms, which they so desperately deserve, and in return receive fewer freedoms for their "behavior." The intentions of the camp are sound, but the way the organization and administration carries itself is highly unjust and flawed. If anyone disagrees with the views of the administration, then you in turn disagree with the program, and it's out the door you go. I once heard the program be defined as an "inescapable bubble." This is true in the sense that the program becomes more and more like a prison, where fewer and fewer high school kids return (despite the impressiveness SIG would look on a resume or college admissions application). The counselors are super stressed and unhappy, not to mention the pay is awful and breaks many Massachusetts labor laws relating to summer camps. They deduct hundreds of dollars more than they should, and I'm sure they assume college kids don't have the intellect to find out such things or to complain about them. For example, they are only supposed to deduct 30 bucks a week for a room and about 2 bucks a meal for food. Counselors are working about 16 hours a day times 8 dollars/hr (min. wage). Were supposed to receive about $130 a day, after expenses for room and board, but instead were actually receiving only $50. If the counselors are unhappy what makes you think the kids in return are going to be happy. As far as the academics go, there are several very skilled and smart teachers working for them for the most part. I'd say about 75%. The other 25% are teachers who were hired as a last resort and it shows. You'll have a math teacher with no interest or knowledge in chemistry teaching chemistry, a jazz dance teacher teaching hip hop, a yoga-meditation-aerobics teacher throwing rubber balls around with her kids, a philosophy teacher with no experience teaching the subject (all while the kids smirk at her, realizing she actually doesn't know what she's doing). They put such emphasis on the academics of the program, but in actuality it seems that they only "half-ass" the recruiting process. Excuse my language. As far as activities go, they seem very good and appropriate including a rec hour for sports and exercise every day, evening activities and shows, and day trips on the weekend. Movie nights however, should be segregated based on age. I'm almost positive kids 13 and over are allowed to see PG-13 movies, I mean the age is in the rating for God's sake. Teenage boys shouldn't be forced to watch The Princess Bride or the like, because one it is a movie for much younger kids, and two, it is effeminate and doesn't suit the likes or wants of boys of all ages. Just Saying. The only thing that keeps the older kids sane in this totalitarian microcosm, would be the residential life in which kids of similar intelligences can bond and form friendships, with an extra emphasis on diversity from each other's cultural, ethnic, and geographical backgrounds. They form strong friendships and bonds, and oftentimes are a direct result of their defiance towards the program and the lack of liberty that they endure. That is and will always be the memories I will never forget of the SIG program at Amherst College. No summer camp is perfect but believe me this is not worth $4300. End of story.

Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful:

View from a Camp Nurse and Gymnastics Step-mom Jul 07, 2010
reviewer: from Midlothian, VA
Camp Woodward in Pennsylvania is nestled in a beautiful rolling hills setting in Amish Country. Summer 2009 was my first time there..in the capacity of one of three camp registered nurses that stay in the infirmary ( which is available to anyone 24-7) I enjoyed the week there as did my step-daughter who is a level 7 gymnast. The coaches were great and helped our group of girls work on skills they had not quite mastered. It is easy to keep your group together cabin-wise if you specify names of your girls on the application. The facilities are clean...the food options are nutritious with plenty of fresh fruit. There is also a "chicken grill" and a hamburger and hot dog grill available. The counselors are great with the homesick kids and at keeping the kids involved in their activities. I would also like to say that the counselors are very observant and that there is great supervision and even overnight watch to ensure that the older boys & girls are not engaging in any inappropriate activities...and all counselors carry walkie-talkies to stay in touch with the other staff members. It bothered me a bit to read in another review that someone would complain about the Spanish speaking girls. Those girls are from Venezuela and are lucky to make it here for the summer from their country..especially given the political issues and uncertainity there. They were sweet children and the woman who sponsors them is a wonderful person for helping them get here. In the infirmary...all records are kept of the campers allergies, medical history, insurance info and medications that the kids are allowed to take. NO ONE on the campus...not even adults are allowed to keep ANY medication on their person or in their property. ALL medications must be "checked in" and kept in the infirmary. We keep records of what is brought to us and times the medication was administered. If a child has not shown up to take their medication..we do notify the assigned counselor so they may direct them our way. We cannot FORCE a kid to swallow their pill...but remind them that they should to keep their medication levels therapeutic. Being next to a radio all week..I can say that I never heard of anything questionable going on..or of any horrid injuries.. I would fully suggest this camp to any kid that has an interest in what they offer program-wise We are looking forward to it again in a few weeks !

Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Excellent Performing Arts Camp Jul 05, 2010
reviewer: from
Stagedoor is an excellent performing arts camp for children who think they like theatre to children that think about theatre everyday. This summer will be my daughter's 4th year over the last five years (last year she had an unavoidable scheduling conflict). She is the one that is driven to go back every year. However, this camp is not great for parents. It is expensive, and the amenities that parents like to see as tangible returns on their tutition are not there - air conditioned rooms, renovated bathrooms etc. But the camp puts on 13 shows every three weeks involving 300 children per three week session. Every child is in a show. Many of the shows are extraordinary both in pushing the envelope of children's theate (premier of stage version of Disney's High School Musical, toned down versions of Rent, Sweeny Todd, and Andrew Lippa's Wild Party ( an older camper's favorite)), and in the high level of presentation. Parents will also note that there are teachers and counselors everywhere ( one staff member for every two campers) so your tuition money gets spread around in the performing arts community and the children are well supervised. My daughter has never complained about the food. I don't think she has time to eat, much less critique camp food. In order to put on a good play in three weeks, the campers spend alot of time in rehearsal, learing lines, choreography and songs, participating in the camper only showcase and taking a wide assortment of classes during the first two weeks. The last week is reserved for rehearsals for the show on performance weekend. Not every camper gets a lead or supporting role, but they all appear happy and very excited about their show, and most want to return to be with other children that love theatre for three weeks straight without parents around. Although some parents judge the program by the role that their child gets and won't let thier child return if their child doesn't get a lead, but if the child has his or her way, they would come back to be in the ensemble, even if they got a lead the year before. Who got the lead is not a lingering topic in my conversations with my daughter during camp, just that she is having fun. She also comes home more confident, observant, articulate and independent, more focused and enthusiastic about the limited time she has on stage in life outside of Stagedoor, and believing that a serious pursuit of her passion for theatre is attainable.

Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

summer outdoors Mar 12, 2010
reviewer: from CHICAGO, IL
this wonderful camp promises a complete outdoor experience - hiking or canoing in the beautiful countryside of the North Carolina mountains. the camp itself is welcoming and casual - with its own lake for swimming ~ my son went to deep woods as both a camper and a Ranger 25 years ago, and considers his summers there as among his most formative times. at deep woods, a boy reconnects with nature, and strengthens own potential as a growing young person.

Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

A Tranquil Home Away From Home Feb 20, 2010
reviewer: from Rochester, NY
My kids have been attending Camp Cory for almost a decade now, and they won't shut up about it- I mean that in the most sympathetic way! Year round, they always seem to find a way to bring up the bounty of memories and friends they've made at a camp defined by its warm staff and facilities which are often reminiscent of a charming Adirondack lodge. It's a pleasure to visit when dropping the kids off and picking them up-- though they always beg to stay. I will say, Camp Cory does have one negative attribute-- the malaise which campers, at least my kids, are immersed in upon departure. Regardless of this "camp-sick" feeling, I have nothing bad to say about the place. Once again, the facilities are charming and feature a lovely dining hall-- which could be the ballroom of a Western themed hotel-- cabin, equipped with electricity and, in many cases, individual bathrooms, and a wonderful boardwalk which spans the waterfront of the property (the camp is located on the shimmering shores of Keuka Lake). The camp offers a number of activities most notably waterfront related ventures, such as sailing, kayaking, waterskiing, and advanced swimming lessons. On land, they have an impressive rock climbing facility, as well as sprawling athletic fields, tennis courts, and an archery range. However, one mustn't be wary, if their child isn't a fan of athletics; youngest son loathes that kind of activity, but that has never stopped him from enjoying himself because the camp offers a number of inside activities as well. Music, drama, visual media & journalism programs are all made readily available to the camp's budding young artists. Forums, including talent shows, competitions and secular "chapel services," are offered to allow kids to express themselves on a regular basis. It's obvious that the camp harbors creativity. One must look no farther than the diverse staff employed at Camp Cory. I've always been treated incredibly kindly by a mottled collection of staff members which range from college graduate (from quality schools like Dartmouth and the University of Michigan) to Spanish exchange students! The diverse and multicultural community of counselors helps ensure that individuals, regardless of ideology, taste or temperament are kept satisfied at all times. I can't say enough about Camp Lawrence Cory for two reasons; first, my kids are unrelenting in their quest to convince me to send that back and, secondly, I've witnessed firsthand the kind of skills and healthy entertainment they've received from an institution which is commensurate to no other camp in New York State. The week my eldest son returned from camp for the first time, he displayed noticeable changes in his level of self-confidence, comfort with his identity and he simply seemed more content. Similar stories can be told about all four of my children (who have and will continue to attend this summer). I'm certain that this experience holds true for other parents-- who have noticed their children develop as a result of their experiences at Camp Cory (in fact, due to my children's camp contrived friendships, I am positive that this is true because I've spoken to other camper's parents!). The leadership program-- tailored for teenagers, is also highly effective at encouraging personal development and confidence. My oldest son and his little sister have ostensibly demonstrated a more mature side upon graduating from the LIT and CIT programs, respectively. Though many camps offer programs like this, I doubt that many provide such lavish sleeping quarters for their next generation of counselors and benefactors. My son and daughter got to spend a combined six weeks in a "Chateau" with heated floors, a fireplace and an operating kitchen, while I was stuck at home! Beyond the luxurious accommodations, the camp leadership programs are run by several talented individuals devoted to their campers. Though my son didn't really appreciate his leadership director, it's clear that he picked up a lot of skills, not to mention a troupe of lifelong friends. I'd also like to commend the camp for its efforts to promote the quality of life for under privileged children. For years, Camp Cory has sponsored children whose socio-economic background would not allow them to attend a summer camp. I love the idea and I think it epitomizes the generous and welcoming ideology of the camp. On a final note, I want to emphasize the power which Camp Cory holds over my children; thy hypnotized by the idyllic setting- a modern outdoorsmen's Shangri La-- one peopled by staff who are clearly devoted to both their campers and the ideals of the YMCA, and one defined by diversity in all of its forms. I have not come across a more promising facility in my experience as a parent (and I've sent my kids to over a dozen different camps in New York). I hope that my review has been effective in encouraging other parents to give their children the best summers of their lives!

Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Amazing Experience for you teen Feb 15, 2010
reviewer: from Maryland
My older children have attended Adventure Treks for three summers. They went on the Pacific Northwest Adventure, California Challenge, and Alaska. My youngest will attend his first adventure this summer and he can't wait. My kids have loved their experience with adventure treks. As a parent, I always felt informed and confident that they were safe and having fun. They come back with a better understanding of the world we live in. They learned to work together as a community. I love the trek checks that kept us updated with where they were on their adventure, what they were doing and seeing. The instructors are very professional and you can't ask for better mentors for your children. A couple of instructors are still in contact with my kids even now when they are in college. My children have made life long friends, some which we have traveled to visit and several who have come to visit us and a couple who have spent vacations with us. My son and daughter have climbed mountains, white water rafted, ice climbed, back packed, kayaked, and had countless other experiences that have helped shaped who they are and who they are becoming. When times have gotten tough, they draw from those experiences and push through with confidence because of what they have learned to do. I cannot wait until my youngest son gets to have some of the same experiences that his brother and sister have had. Yes, I recommend this program.

Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Great Camp Atmosphere! Nov 10, 2009
reviewer: from Fordham, NYC
As a past camp instructor I can honestly say that the Fordham Campus is a great experience! The camp size is nice enough that it creates a personal setting and a great bonding experience with all the campers. I instructed two courses at Fordham in 2009. The class sizes are never overbearingly large which paves way to one on one time with each camper. I can go on and on about the experience but my best advice is to try it out for your self! I guarantee a memorable experience and new found FUN knowledge!

Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

I love Rocky River Nov 05, 2009
reviewer: from Austin, Texas
I love this camp! I would not be the same person had I not attended Rocky River Ranch for so many years as a child. I first attended when I was nine for two weeks and loved it so much that I attended for the entire month of June every year after until I was 16. I also worked as a counselor there when I was 20. I am still amazed and in awe of the subtle and mysterious ways that simple activities and experiences weave together to leave an indelible impression of love ... confidence ... appreciation on campers. They seem so simple there in the moment ... the singing of camp songs, Friendship Circle at the end of an evening program, the Cowpoke/Wrangler drawing, saddling a horse for the first time, scooting down the rapids ... but with each song, with each tug on the halter rope, with each stroke of the canoe oar, with each ring of "Goodnight, campers!" a new brush of color is being painted on a girl’s childhood. From those “colors” spring forth amazing women as evidenced by the many remarkable women that now call themselves Rocky River alumni — many of which, I still call friends. I look back now and realize that my experiences at Rocky River gave me the tools to thrive in a myriad of situations through high school, college and adult life — from traveling solo in Europe, to living with roommates in college, to organizing and building enthusiasm for projects at work. It all started at Rocky River where I was given the freedom to choose my own classes, encouraged to try new things, learned to live with all kinds of personalities, allowed to be silly, sing loud and escape any pigeon holes I'd been put in back home. I often say to friends, “If I have a daughter, it will not be a question of ‘whether’ I send her to Rocky River, just a matter of ‘when.’” I wouldn’t dream of cheating my own daughter of the amazing experience that is Rocky River Ranch.

Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

RRR is our home away from home! Nov 05, 2009
reviewer: from Houston
I want to respond to the previous review because my daughter was in the cabin with that child and the mother is not telling the whole story. Suffice it to say, if you have a child who wants to go to camp, Rocky River Ranch is the best place on Earth for her. If you have decided to force your daughter to go to camp against her will, send her someplace else so the rest of the girls can enjoy their time there. I am an alumni of RRR - I attended camp for 11 years. This will be my daughter's 7th summer at camp and we have never been disappointed in the quality of Rocky River. I have worked closely with Rue, Liz and Shanna and I trust them implicitly to have the best interest of my daughter at heart. The staff of counselors is the best I have ever seen - the training that the directors give them is beyond compare. My daughter finished her first year in the leadership program last summer and came home inspired and independent. Because of camp, she is now involved in service oriented groups at school and has a determination to help in our community. Many, many thanks to Rue, Liz and Shanna for their commitment and hard work. They enhance the lives of so many girls and young women every year - and I cannot imagine the dedication it takes to get the job done. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

5 consecutive Adventure Treks Summers and more to come! Oct 14, 2009
reviewer: from Ft Lauderdale, FL
My son, now 16, has attended 5 Adventure Treks trips and loved every one of them! He’s planning his 6th, and may be able to do a 7th. Hiking, camping, backpacking, and white water rafting were already activities we liked to do as a family. And so it was sort of natural to look for a camp that would offer that. Initially, I had looked for the more traditional sleepaway camps and he attended one the first year he went away for summer. The next year, I looked for something different. I read the Duke Tip reviews book, and stumbled on Adventure Treks. I made a call, spoke with the director a couple of times, even called some parents for references. I was hearing such positive comments from everyone that I decided to take a chance. In great part, I chose Adventure Treks because it offered more hands on attention to my teenager, who frankly was not very unsociable. My son has ADDADHD, and though you would not think it now, he was super shy, very insecure, and though physically strong and more than capable, he didn’t seem to know it. The first few days were super difficult for me. I worried whether I had made the right decision. I was checking the online posting boards daily, pouncing every time my cell rang, I was not at ease. But as the post cards started to come in and I spoke with him, I started to relax. When he returned home, I found a more confident kid. He was more talkative, more outgoing, and happier. The next year, we talked a lot about what he should do. It was a mutual decision to go back to Adventure Treks. And that time, he made much more progress than the year before. He’d challenged himself more physically and made more of an effort to socialize. I could see the positive impact the summer had for him for months later. After that, the only questions have been which AT trip to go to. And with each trip, a more involved kid, more community centered kid, more engaged and self assured kid would emerge. I know that he has become more than a camper. He is a leader, a problem solver, a positive attribute to each trip. And AT, in turn, has made him a leader in life. I’ve heard of kids going home early, either because of discipline or other factors. Kids are pushed out of their comfort zones in AT adventures. That’s very true. My kid broke down in tears a couple of times. And yet every time he attended an AT trip, he’s matured greatly, and had the best times of his life! Adventure Treks is a huge part of my son's summers. You’ll love listening to the stories your kids come back with.

Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)


Showing 1 to 20 of 30 reviews
| 1 | 2     Next | - View All