Top Dog Hockey Camps - Multiple locations Minnesota - Information, Reviews, Ratings
Categories > Ice Hockey,
Email this to a friend Email this page  Printer friendly format Printer friendly


Top Dog Hockey Camps

4 Stars based on 12 reviews (review)

Camp Directors - Update this Listing

Camp Location: Multiple locations, Minnesota, United States
Ages:
Gender: Male and Female
Camp type:Day and Overnight
Session dates: Multiple
Cost (range):
Contact Person:
Phone: (952) 233-0101, (877) 466-4596
Fax: (952) 233-4997
Mailing Address:
Top Dog Hockey Camps and Clinics
PO Box 23037
Minneapolis, Minnesota, 55423
United States
Camp Website

Camp's Description

The professional staff at Top Dog Hockey Camps & Clinics is committed to providing the most effective off-season instruction for youth hockey players of all ages and skill levels. Top Dog Hockey offers week long developmental, accelerated, and goalie camps. Three-day hockey clinics are also offered in the areas of Shooting and Scoring, Power Skating, Stickhandling, Checking, and Goaltending. Our experienced instructors lead the industry with challenging and innovative training techniques. We are confident that you will leave our hockey camps and clinics with a great experience and improved skills.

Camp Reviews     Write an online review for Top Dog Hockey CampsWrite a review


Showing 1 to 12 of 12 reviews.    | 1 |
Great Camp to Improve Your Hockey Player & Have Fun January 05, 2013
Reviewer: HockeyFan from Minneapolis, MN
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Top Dog Hockey is where my kids learned to love the game of hockey. Four of my children attended Top Dog Hockey and every single one of them loved it! John Haglund and the coaching staff are phenomenal. They are able to achieve the fine balance between making camp fun while teaching new skills and improving the kid's as hockey players.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Great hockey camp April 23, 2012
Reviewer: Wisconsin hockey dad from Northern Wisconsin
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had 2 kids in this camp for 3 years and 1 in for 1 year and am having them attend again this year. The experience we have had has been nothing less the great. John and his staff are of top quality for sure. My kids are better skilled hockey players because of the camp and its instructors. They have been to other clinics and we would not trade Top Dog for any others. I have known other kids who have attended Top Dog and they also have said that this camp was their top camp they attended. I would highly recommend this camp to anyone.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Great Camp April 23, 2012
Reviewer: Hockey Mom from Shakopee, MN
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Top Dog hockey camp rocks! My son attended the week long camps at Dakotah and loved them. He learned so much from it. I can't say enough good things about John and ALL the coaching staff. They are great teachers, very helpful to the kids, and it's fun to see smiles on their faces. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Excellent camp experience! October 26, 2011
Reviewer: Gosioux from Minnesota
5 Stars 2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have two children that have attended week long camps for Top Dog Hockey. I have found registration to be easy and the owner very accommodating to the needs of both kids. My oldest son has walked away with a great desire to play the game and can't wait to go back next summer. For my daughter, with one year of hockey experience under her belt, she skated completely different after just one week. The transformation was amazing. The skills they teach, and the interactions with the kids is great. I would, and have, recommended Top Dog to friends and family (my nephew has attended in Minneapolis) and have never questioned if it was a good idea. The owner, and the staff, are fantastic, and we will be using them again.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Great Camp October 19, 2011
Reviewer: Mounty from St. Paul, Minnesota
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have made some editing changes to the one I submitted earlier. I am an ex collegiate hockey player with 2 young boys that have attended Top Dog Hockey Camps both as stay and day campers for the past 6 years. I will say without a doubt that this is the best weeklong hockey camp in the industry. The fact that the hockey training is excellent is a given however, I am also very interested in what I call “life experiences” for my sons. Both of my boys have met new kids from all over the world (literally) and have made lifelong friends from out of state. This camp is not only concerned with teaching the kids the nuances of the game, their counselors (who have all played at the highest levels), are also teaching discipline, integrity, and how to interact with other kids from different areas and backgrounds. I have sent my boys to several different camps and clinics over the years and this is the best I have found!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Great Camp October 19, 2011
Reviewer: Mounty from St. Paul, Minnesota
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I am an ex collegiate hockey player with 2 young boys that have attended Top Dog Hockey Camps both as stay and day campers for the past 6 years. I will say without a doubt that this is the best weeklong hockey camp in the industry. The fact that the hockey training is excellent as a given however, I am also very interested in what I call “life experiences” for my sons. Both of my boys have met new kids from all over the world (literally) and have made lifelong friends from out of state. This camp is not only concerned with teaching the kids the nuances game, their counselors (who have all played at the highest levels), are also teaching discipline, integrity, and how to interact with other kids from different areas and backgrounds. I have sent my boys to several different camps and clinics over the years and this is the best we have found!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Great Camp! October 19, 2011
Reviewer: Mounty from St. Paul, Minnesota
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I am an ex collegiate hockey player with 2 young boys that have attended Top Dog Hockey Camps both as stay and day campers for the past 6 years. I will say without a doubt that this is the best weeklong hockey camp in the industry. The fact that the hockey training is excellent as a given however, I am also very interested in what I call “life experiences” for my sons. Both of my boys have met new kids from all over the world (literally) and have made lifelong friends from out of state. This camp is not only concerned with teaching the kids the nuances game, their counselors (who have all played at the highest levels), are also teaching discipline, integrity, and how to interact with other kids from different areas and backgrounds. I have sent my boys to several different camps and clinics over the years and this is the best we have found!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Excellent Camp October 18, 2011
Reviewer: Mattmathiasen from Prior Lake, MN
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Top Dog has been running camps at our rink for over 15 years. The camps are extremely well organized and the kids are supervised 100% of the time. There is a very good mix of on-ice and off-ice activities. The kids have a very good time. The coaches do expect the kids to be well behaved, but they are not over the top with their dicipline. In the 11 years that I have been here, they have not had to send any kids home for mis-behavior. If you have any questions, I would be happy to answer them. Matt Mathiasen, Arena Manager, Dakotah Sport and Fitness Ice Arena. matt.mathiasen@dakotahsport.com. 952-496-6864
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Great Experience for the kids October 18, 2011
Reviewer: TopShelf from Edina, MN
5 Stars 0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have been sending my boys to Top Dog Hockey Camps for nearly 6 years (some years multiple camps each year) and both boys have had a great experience every time. They have received excellent hockey instruction while also gaining some other great athletic and life skills. Both boys are always asking me "when do we get to go to another Top Dog camp. I highly recommend their hockey camps.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
H.E double hockey sticks July 16, 2011
Reviewer: Hockeylover321 from Wisconsin
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

i sent my child to this camp with all good intentions. Getting constant calls from him crying that the camps activities when they where not doing hockey were nothing that made them do everything by themselves. my son dropped his water bottle and it happened to role into traffic. it was unintentionally and he was very apologetic but still my 7 year old son was getting yelled at by people in there 30's and 40's..... i dont think that seems appropriate no matter what happens, so when i get a call at 2 in the morning to come pick my son up from camp for a bottle rolling into the street. this camp takes small matters to largely in 10000000 years i would never recommend this camp to anyone
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Players behavior February 15, 2011
Reviewer: Johnhaglund from
5 Stars 1 of 2 people found this review helpful

We hold the players in our camp to a high standard. Your son was warned about his behavior on Monday and the expectation is that it will change immediately. When behavior does not change, our next step, which we very rarely need to take, is dismissal from the camp. That is made clear to all the players on day one. I will pro rate your camp fees. We appreciate the opportunity to work with your son, and regret that it did not work out. John Haglund, Camp Director Top Dog Hockey
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)
Horrible Experience August 17, 2010
Reviewer: CherylLea1 from Central Minnesota
1 Star 3 of 5 people found this review helpful

I've never been one to write reviews, but in this case. BEWARE! I received a call to come pick-up my son. In fact they would not wait, they would put him in a taxi, we said no..we'll come get him, we left immediately as they insisted on driving him without our consent. They would not give an explanation, simply demanded that he be picked up. When we arrived not one of the coaches had actually witnessed anything. He was accused of shouting across the lunchroom for someone to get him more bread sticks, and of saying the word "balls" That's it..that's all. This was confirmed by my son. Do we have a problem child? We've never before had a problem with him being disrespectful, in school, hockey or any other sport. In fact he is a trained referee. He's been to other hockey camps by Doug Woog, &, Referee camp without problem. I know! It sounds Like we're "those" parents, but really they had no other complaint but that, and he was held with the head coach and another trainer in a room for 2 1/2 hrs until we could pick him up. We looked for some explanation so that we could discipline our kid if need be, but received none. Still shaking our heads!??? This seems a bit extreme, but they let us know they do it all the time. So, If you think your son might shout across the cafeteria, or use the word balls...this is not the camp for him!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this review)

Showing 1 to 12 of 12 reviews.     | 1 |