View All Reviews - Insidecamps.com

Customer reviews for Deep Woods Camp For Boys
Avg. Customer Review (5.0 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 33
Email a friend about this .


Write an online review and share your thoughts.



Showing 1 to 33 of 33 reviews
Back to Paged View  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

From Dubai to Brevard, Dec 01, 2011
reviewer: Taras from Dubai, United Arab Emirates
My wife and I are from Germany and Austria and we live in Dubai in the United Arab Emirates. As a young kid I used to spend my summers in British Columbia and the father of my host family would take me and my host brothers and cousines on hikes across Canada. The West Coast Trail obviously in particular left a lasting memory in my head. As our son turned 13 last summer I was anxious to send him off to have the very same experience; be out in nature, find the path, go hungry and enjoy your meal, put on a fire and sharing stories with your buddies as you cuddle around the fire at night. My research took weeks and Deep Woods Camp for Boys would come up over and over again when I laser focused on my requirements: no TV, no cell phones, nature, hikes, more nature, more hikes; in short none of what I call Wellness Camps for spoiled kids. I then contcated Kells Hogan, the founder of the Camp, and discovered in him one of the most remarkable personalities: straight forward, fast responses to my questions, at all times assuaging my concerns, a man on his mission and most important of all, a true gentleman in the way he communicates. Kells is what we would call in German Alte Schule or Old School. You can rest assured that your boy will be in good hands; the leadership is handlded by former Deep Woods campers who now are young men, attending college, but who see it as their duty to guide the boys as Rangers through nature and provide support and guidance. What Kells has created is not just a camp; it is a life philosophy. Our son Jarek will be attending Summer Camp 2012; perhaps the two boys from Venezuela (!) he met there will also be there again. Get this: the smallest camp on earth draws boys from Dubai and Venezuela. Trust me: if you want for your boys to experience a little challenge amidst this computerised world of iphones and Playstations then take the initiative, send an e-mail to Kells and sign him up for an unforgettable experience. I am deeply impressed with this camp. Kells and his Rangers are running not only the smallest camp in this universe but also the most authentic and coolest in all of the United States.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

A Family Favorite, Apr 26, 2010
reviewer: Ann Oliver from Sewanee, TN
My two boys spent their early years exploring our small farm in Virginia, then their early teens hiking and caving in Sewanee, a small village in Tennessee. It was there we met Kells Hogan and began our long association with Deep Woods Camp in the mountains of North Carolina. Deep Woods is a camp where boys go for a life of outdoors away from the norms of society. Deep Woods lets you appreciate NATURE, the natural environment, and how to live in the outdoors with the bare essentials. My boys emerged from these summers with increased confidence and practical skills, both physical and social. These skills are beyond what a few days with Dad or Boy Scouts could have provided. When the boys' younger sister was old enough to go to camp, I agreed to cook at Deep Woods for their few in-camp meals - an easy task with a big stove and many eager helpers who found it easier than cooking on the trail over a camp fire. My daughter tried for 11 years at four different camps but never found a similar camp experience offered to girls. I stayed on as cook for 14 years. Not that camp life was that of hardship. They had hot showers and weekly laundry service. This laundry service was provided by the older campers - the Ranger group is open by invitation to former campers in training for possible counselor positions in the future. Laundry night is led by the director, Kells, who made the necessary activity FUN. For the few hours spent in camp after trips or evenings, there were plenty of activities including the rope swing, swimming, the zip line, and night games. Not only did my sons attend Deep Woods as campers, but both of them went into the Ranger program, and then on to be counselors. My three grandsons were lucky enough to attend as well. One even set aside computer games long enough to spend 10 summers there building relations with people, with nature, and with himself.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

This is my home., Apr 02, 2010
reviewer: 12jack20 from
I am 15 years old and attend this camp every summer. Its what i look forward to every year. My dad also went to this camp when he was my age. It teaches you responsibilty, teaches you to test your limits, over come your fears, and when you leave not only will you be fit but much braver, and stronger as a person. theres a beautiful pond right on the camp with a diving board and a 20-25ft high dive, the best rope swing i have ever seen or even heard about, and a awsome zip-line. a easy day at this camp may be jumping off a waterfall and just a nice hike. we do something new everyday. You get to explore places that you would never find on your on. we go rock climbing, backpacking, canoeing, white water rafting, mountain biking, pretty much everything and anything outdoors. Theres a small number of campers every year but thats actually a good thing because then we get to do more. the kids in your cabin will become long time friends. Send your boys here you WONT regret it, if i could give this camp more stars i deffinatly would!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Great Camp, Feb 17, 2010
reviewer: Alex from
Deep Woods was established in the 1970’s and has just recently finished its 40th year. Through its years it has housed three generations of my family, so I’ve been hearing stories about Deep Woods my entire life. My initial introduction came from my two uncles; both were campers and enjoyed it so much that they became counselors as well. Their stories were so impressive that my grandmother joined Deep Woods as a cook, and spent 14 years with the camp. I came into camp at the age of 14 with some familiarity of the outdoors. But those adventures were nothing compared to what Deep Woods has to offer. Everyday was a new experience, a new challenge, and an unbelievable time. Camp activities include hiking in the Pisgah National Forest, rafting on the Nantahala and Pigeon rivers, white water canoeing down the Tuckasegee, tubing the Green river, climbing on local rock faces (including Ranger rock, Looking Glass, Rumbling Bald, and Cedar rock), mountain biking in DuPont State Forest (a location known nationally for its biking trails), and exploring cave systems found locally and in Tennessee. In a single session the camp also provides at least four backpacking trips, with one trip exploring Bear Lake and its surrounding rivers. The final backpacking trip is a week along the Appalachian Trail. This is a tradition of Deep Woods and it provides the capstone event. As you can tell by the description, Deep Woods activities are fast moving. There are no “in camp days”. A slow day at Deep Woods could be tubing down a river or sliding down a couple of waterfalls. This is the appeal of the camp and why campers return. When we are at camp (which is before and after the day’s activity) we stay entertained with our private lake, the zip line, rope swing, table tennis, board games, and the daily night game. I have been attending Deep Woods for 10 years, four as a camper and six as a counselor. My two cousins have attended, and my younger brother will be returning this summer for his second year. The many challenges and opportunities offered at Deep Woods instill in a teenager confidence and self-esteem. They create a passion for the outdoors and the skills needed to confront a situation boldly and courageously. It provided me guidance through my teenage years and instilled a desire to explore nature. The many experiences I had at camp have become a key aspect of who I am today.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

The Last Holdout, Jan 09, 2010
reviewer: svete from
The name says it all, Deep Woods Camps for Boys. DWC is deep in the woods, and it is definately just for boys. In fact, it is one of the last places left where your son can truly experience boyhood. Kells Hogan, the director, has, for the last forty years, stubbornly kept the idea alive, of a summer camp where boys can be boys. Kells provides boys what they really crave, a chance to test their limits, to push them beyond what they thought they could ever do, and all the while, have the most fun they probably will ever have. It is a simple philosophy, but one that has been forgotten in our over protected world. I was the “first camper” at DWC in 1970. I can say that DWC was the biggest influence of my life. It got me through that tough adolescent stage, from boy to young man, and provided me with my most cherished memories. That first summer was the best summer of my life, bar none. I didn’t want to come home, much to my mother’s regret. I eventually became a ranger, then counselor, then slowly drifted off into adulthood, and DWC became a memory. I was only too happy to send my son to DWC when he was old enough, and he says now, that those were the best times of his life! He is now a cadet at West Point, and he admits, DWC gave him the inner strength to enter military life. He went to camp with his best friend, and when we all get together and tell two gernerations worth of Deep Woods stories, there are howls of laughter long into the night. Thanks to Kells’ dogged refusal to alter Deep Woods’ schedule, your son’s days will be pretty much like mine were forty years ago. The summer was a blur of overnight hikes in the prettiest mountains God has to offer, canoe trips on whitewater rivers, sliding down waterfalls, day hikes up river gorges, rock climbing, and plenty of tree climbing. During all this, you developed wilderness skills without even realizing it because you were having so much fun. Your son will learn to build a fire in a pouring rain, read a map, use a compass, set up a shelter, pack for a week long hike, and generally feel at home in the woods. He will be pushed beyond his limits, and be a better person for it. He will come home with much more self assurance and quiet confidence. He will learn how to relate to others, how to behave in a group, how to help others, and how to accept help. This all happens, not in an “instruction,” school type atmosphere, but one in which having fun is the first priority. Kells accomplishes all this in a safe enviroment. Food is plentiful, good-not fancy, and there is plenty of hot water in camp to wash off all the dirt. I continually thank Kells, and my parents, for giving me the best summers of my life.

Was this review helpful to you?  


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

The Last of a Dieing Breed, Jan 04, 2010
reviewer: Gradybl from San Diego, CA
As said below by all the other excellent reviews, this camp is, in a word, excellent. It's certainly been character forming for myself, as well as everyone else who I was with throughout my time there as a camper, and later, as a ranger. Granted, its not for everyone. If your kid wants to play video games or watch tv, its definitely not for him. Come to think of it, maybe its EXACTLY what's for him?! As Kells, the director, loves to remind us, we don't do arts and crafts at deep woods. All there is to find is generous helpings of intense hikes, gnarly river trips, spectacular cliff jumping and sliding, and all the engaging games played at our actual camp (which in fact we spend little time at -since we're always out in the wild having an amazing time). Bottom Line: This Camp is NOT for Everyone, But for Those Who it Is, Its Everything!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Super Fun!, May 18, 2009
reviewer: Chambers from
Our son has been a camper at Deepwoods for 7 summers now. The only summer he did not attent was his "worst" summer ever! Deep Woods has done an outstanding job in making sure that he (and every kid there) leaves with great memories! We will hear stories around the dinner table months after he has returned from DeepWoods! Highly recommended! Even my husband (who was a camper there nearly 30 years ago) still has fond memories and is always eager to share a story or two!

Was this review helpful to you?  


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

One of the Best Experiences of My Life, Nov 20, 2008
reviewer: michaelboh from Beverly Hills, CA
I went to Deep Woods first at age 9 and ultimately left the camp after I turned 17, so I think it's pretty obvious that I grew to love it. Deep Woods was a key part of my childhood. The life philosophy of the Director Kells Hogan helped shape me. My core values of independence, self-sufficiency, courage, strength, faith, teamwork, friendship, and overcoming adversity all grew out of my experiences at Deep Woods. There was more to camp than just climbing mountains or canoeing rivers. I will never forget - Deep Woods taught me personal strength. My dad died when I was eight, so I needed to learn how to deal with life. Little did I know that Deep Woods was just what I needed. It taught me critical lessons about how to cope as well as how to appreciate those little moments of hard-earned-success. I would think it's program would be especially important in today's computerized world. It was tough at first, but if your son sticks to it, it will be the best thing that ever happened to him. He will be a better, stronger individual for it. Feel free to email me (jmboh@sbcglobal.net) if you want me to tell you more. I cannot recommend this camp enough. I would go so far as to say that I'm a great success today because of the life lessons I learned at Deep Woods. It gave me the strength to leave home, work for Senator, move to NYC, start multiple companies, and ultimately be a mentor to many young people. It helped make me the role model I am today. I owe much of it to the life lessons Kells Hogan taught me. On the lighter side, it gave me some of my greatest childhood memories. I will always LOVE Deep Woods camp. Deep Woods "Old Timer" and FAN - Michael Boh

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

An exellent camp, Nov 09, 2008
reviewer: Scrappy from Edgefield, S. C.
If there ever was a camp that provided a positive experience for boys, Deep Wood is definitely the one. The opportunities afforded the campers is far above that of any other camp. Each young man learns the importance of caring for and enjoying our environment, interpersonal skills and working as a team, the ability to learn first aid, and enjoy the gift of laughter and fun...something every young man need to reound out the hecticness of our world. If it were possible to give more stars, I would without question. If any young man is looking for the ideal camp, look no further. Want to talk to me about Deep Woods send me an email.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Last Camp in the Woods, Oct 13, 2008
reviewer: George from Solvang, CA
I attended Deep Woods Camp from 1970-1980. I progressed from camper to Ranger (Jr. Counselor) to driver to Ranger Counselor. I also progressed from a shy city boy to a confident man with a love of the outdoors. I frequently tell anyone who will listen that Deep Woods Camp had a greater effect on my upbringing than any other influence in my life. That holds true to today, and I still wax nostalgically for those summers in the mountains of North Carolina. Deep Woods is a camp that gives a boy the chance to be a boy. No video, cell phones, computers, etc. The typical day is spent out of camp hiking, canoeing, tubing, sliding, backpacking. My best memories of Deep Woods are of experiences that challenged me beyond what I thought I was capable of accomplishing. Climbing a trailess ridge in a downpour to reveal a lush meadow and a rainbow, spending a night huddled together under a tarp with 50 MPH winds, canoeing a wild river, sliding down a waterfall, finding camp for the night with only a map and compass for direction. These are but a few of the activities that set DWC apart from the typical summer camp filled with regimented schedules and internet connection to the outside world. Deep Woods Camp gives a boy something different from home, different from any other camp, and a chance to develop differently from their peers. These differences translate to a man that is aware of the natural world and the need to preserve what is left of it. Deep Woods Camp is a world apart from other camps that claim to be outdoor oriented, and that is due to the dedication and hard work of Kells Hogan, Deep Woods owner and Director. Kells maintains all of the camp facilities and fills any role that is needed. He is the reason for the success of Deep Woods maintaining the same philosophy despite pressure to change. Returning to Deep Woods year after year is as much about the camp experience as it is to spend time around Kells learning valuable skills. So if you are looking for an experience for your son that will challenge him, teach him valuable skills, develop his self confidence, and give him an appreciation for the natural world; then look no further. Deep Woods allows boys to be boys and have a boy's fun.

Was this review helpful to you?  


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

ONCE AGAIN, Deepwoods provides ultimate in boy to man!, Aug 28, 2008
reviewer: Gcohen from Savannah, GA
This was my son's 3rd. Summer at Deepwoods. After school ended this year all he could talk about is how soon could he get back to western NC and Deepwoods. What on earth could possibly motivate a 13 year old to want to go back to a hard camp to master a strenuous activity program that nevers seems to let up? LEADERSHIP! Once again Kells Hogan and his incredible couselors sufficiently motivated my son to become all he can be and more.... more leadership skills, hiking, camping, rock climbing, canoeing, cooking, cleaning, reading the map and most importantly how to get along with others while physically/mentally being tested. This year he yearned to lead the other newer campers, strived to be like the other rangers and counselors so that he might follow in their footsteps sooner rather than later. Yes, again he returns to us calmer, wiser and more intouch with himself and the world. I don't think he touched the video games for at least a week after being home! Words can not express how our family feels about his experience at Deepwoods. I can say how proud we are of him, how we all notice the maturity and presence of mind he derives from those weeks in the Mountains...being a boy on his way to becoming a great man. Make no doubt, Kells trully provides the ultimate boy to man experience, like no other camp can.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

I wish 10 stars were an option..., Aug 22, 2008
reviewer: Stephani from South Carolina
Another summer at Deep Woods for my son, and once again, my gratitude is overflowing. While my son experienced homesickness, he stuck out the four weeks, and has since said he was grateful he did. He has talked nonstop (once again) about the funny counselors, tasty food, and challenging hikes. Mountain biking was also a huge hit. For the past 2 summers, my son has returned a different boy. More mature, more settled, more focused. Ready to start the school year with determination. I am sure that determination was built each step of each hike, each step of the Appalachian Trail. My son was encouraged, comforted, and challenged by camp director Kells Hogan. Without his daily presence, I am sure my son's camp experience would have been vastly different. Kells simultaneously allows freedom within camp yet has his eye on all happenings. I never worried for my son while in his care. Deep Woods is a beautiful camp, a wonderful destination for boys who are determined to be boys. My hope would be that my boy grows up to be as wonderful as his counselor, Alex, or any one of the wonderful role models at Deep Woods.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Experience of a lifetime, May 28, 2008
reviewer: Gibbons Burke from Austin, TX
Having spent a total of 14 five-week sessions at Deep Woods over the course of nine summers, you might understand why I would give Deep Woods five stars. I loved attending camp, first as a camper, then as a Ranger (counselor-in-training), and two summers as a counselor. Deep Woods was the perfect antidote to hot, humid New Orleans summers - an escape into the air- conditioned mountains of Western North Carolina. * * * The first regular day of camp of my first session clinched it for me - the entire camp was loaded into the back of "Big Green" a modernized Army Deuce-and-a-half truck and we drove for 45 minutes and unloaded. We, ate a nutritious sack lunch, and hiked up the stream bed - a watery path through a narrow granite-walled gorge. At the end of the water hike was a waterfall cascading over a smooth rock face where we eagerly climbed to the top of the falls, sat down in the stream, and slid down the falls into the pool below. It was a great day of fun in the wilderness. The climb up the hill to my cabin that day was a tough one - I was so sore. But by the end of the five week session I was running up that hill barely breathing heavily, I was in such good shape. * * * I attended my first year at Deep Woods in 1974, second five- week session. I couldn't wait to go back. The next summer, I attended first session, and then when it got nearly time to go home, I called my parents and begged them to let me stay another session. I was so happy when they agreed. * * * Backpacking was a major activity at camp, and, like rock sliding, Camp took you on the trail less travelled. Hikes avoided heavily travelled trails when possible, and especially on weekends in favor of hikes along abandoned railroad grades and other unmarked trails. Cabin leaders often carried axes and machetes to clear a trail through forgotten and overgrown lumber railroad grades which course through the Pisgah mountains. Over the course of my time at Deep Woods I reckon I covered just about every section of the Appalacian Trail from Springer Mountain, Georgia as far north as Crandon, Virginia, except for the Smokies. * * * One of the best experiences at Deep Woods was getting to know Kells Hogan, the proprietor and director. Kells is gifted with an amazing array of talents perfectly suited to the running of a camp, not the least of which is a keen wit - one of the funniest people I have ever met. He built camp mostly single-handedly - the lake, the cabins, the dining hall the vehicles - I don't think there's anything Kells can't do from metalworking to engine rebuilding to fine carpentry. He is truly a jack of all trades. * * * Deep Woods Camp for Boys is a national treasure - a much- needed refuge from the sedentary world of electronic video games - a place where a boy can find adventure and challenge himself to achieve things he would have never thought possible.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

An Important Camping Experience, May 12, 2008
reviewer: AnDrew from Charleston, SC
DEEP WOODS is a different kind of wilderness experience, even for the outdoor set. Something special, fun, important yet serious at the same time. When I walk into an outdoor shop looking for supplies, the “experienced staff” are not the same kind of people that DEEP WOODS creates: we have learned a survival instinct that instills a maturity beyond years and fosters an ability to be successful in any situation in life. At the same time DEEP WOODS campers maintain a sense of humor that preserves our youth. The DEEP WOODS community is close: I am still in contact with the director, have written a screenplay with a fellow former counselor, and regularly fish with another fellow DEEP WOODS “Old Timer.” I am never surprised to learn of one’s success in any field or capacity, no matter the diversity of those occupations, which is attributable to the common link of DEEP WOODS. On a daily basis, I believe my education at DEEP WOODS helps me be more successful in banking, which has nothing to do with the outdoors. Moreover, none of this would be worthwhile if it was not fun and a wonderful escape from video games and cell phones for a summer. I still hike the same trails when I have the opportunity and still consider spending my 4 weeks of vacation at camp. From an even more practical sense, DEEP WOODS prepared me for school and kept me in shape for the fall soccer, football and cross country seasons. I am in no hurry to marry and have children, but my only rush is to be able to have some boys to send to DEEP WOODS.

Was this review helpful to you?  


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful:

Boys Into Young Men, Jan 28, 2008
reviewer: kwmccarthy from Winter Park, FL
Boys to young men! In a few words, that’s what Deep Woods Camp has meant for my son. Nothing else in his otherwise prior school and carpool lifestyle gave him the opportunity to begin the journey into manhood. As a dad, I want my son to become a man of inner strength, courage, and kindness. To become a person who is bold, but not brazen. One who is personally responsible for himself, yet contributing to the community. Boys today have so few opportunities to really spread their wings, experience adventure, and get into wholesome rough housing. Defining moments in life are few in today’s highly managed school and after school schedules. Charles’ first year he was ten years old. He returned for four years. Thanks to Deep Woods Camp a sold foundation for manhood was set for him to grow into being a productive, responsible, confident, stand on his own two feet young man. He’s soon to be 17 and the long-term benefits of Deep Woods endure. Deep Woods is a special place run by a uniquely qualified and gifted leader. Kels Hogan is big than life for these boys. Part mentor, part commander, part storyteller, and all gentleman. A great (and humorous) role model for my son.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Beyond every expectation and more!, Aug 16, 2007
reviewer: stephani from greenville,sc
Deep Woods is a parent's dream camp for their son. My son, who isn't the typcial boy, had never spent more than 5 days at a camp, but loved his 4 week session at Deep Woods. He came back a much more confident, mature, solid young man. Unbelievable. He has a deep love for Kells Hogan, who is so much more than a camp director to these boys. Kells has dedicated his life to this mission of letting boys be boys, and more successfully than can be expressed. I loved the camp, cannot believe the small numbers of campers to counselors, and will send my son back next year without blinking an eye!

Was this review helpful to you?  


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

The Last American Camp, Jul 12, 2007
reviewer: FLR from
When I was 13 years old, I began my Deep Woods experience; now, almost 10 years later, you can still find me at Deep Woods each year when the summer rolls around. I keep coming back because Deep Woods is a place like no other. It is a diamond in the ruff. It is, in my mind, the last true American camp. I say this because the American spirit of adventure is still alive at Deep Woods, even as it dwindles elsewhere. When other camps are lining their kids up for arts and crafts activities, Deeps Woods campers are out in the woods, out in the creeks and the mountains, exploring the natural world. I can say without a doubt, that I would not be the person I am today without the incredibly positive influence of Deep Woods. Send your child to Deep Woods if you would like him to foster a greater sense of independence and self-confidence, and a link to the natural world. These are a few of the many things that Deep Woods endows with plenty on all of its campers.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

More than Satisfied, May 26, 2007
reviewer: Bouldin from Central Florida
My introduction to Camp Deep Woods for Boys was in 1994, when my older son began as a camper. He continued to attend each summer throughout his college years as a counselor. My younger son has attended the last three years and begins his staff experience this summer. Both have developed a passion for hiking, rock climbing, and camping as a result of their Deep Woods experience. The camp director, Kells Hogan, has a fabulous rapport with the campers and staff. With humor and respect for the young men, Kells encourages cooperation, self-reliance and responsibility. Both my sons returned with amusing stories about the camaraderie established while hiking the trails. They nurtured their personal strengths, learned about nature, worked with others to accomplish goals and developed pride in their achievements. I take pride in their maturity. Camp Deep Woods is old-fashioned, outdoor fun - the kind of enjoyment that preceded computers, cell phones, Nintendo, DVD's and ipods. I would recommend the camp to any boy who suspects it could be fun.

Was this review helpful to you?  


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

One of the Most Rewarding Experiences In My Life, May 22, 2007
reviewer: A. J. in Denver from Denver, CO
As I look back on my experiences at Deep Woods Camp For Boys, an avalanche of cherished memories and knowledge, unsurpassed by any other camp I've ever visited, floods back to me. I personally attended this camp when I was 12 and it turned out to be one of the most rewarding decisions I've ever made. Kells is a man who is truly familiar with skills that young men need to develop and acquire for a bright future. Kells has created a camp in which you ultimately become "unplugged" from any and all distractions, and focus on vital lifelong skills such as discipline, strength, survival techniques and courage. Unlike other camps, which I regard as somewhat of a babysitting service, Deep Woods allows for the development of young men and shows them the accurate meaning of becoming one with nature. I cannot thank Kells enough for the awareness and understanding of nature that he provided for me. I can't wait until I attend college and finally get the opportunity to revisit this distinguished camp again as a counselor. If you have been searching for a camp this summer that exceeds all expectations and breaks all status quos for summer camps, DO NOT HESITATE to enroll your son in this camp. If you want a camp that has arts and crafts, social dances, or insufficient half-day hikes, choose from one of the thousands of other summer camps that fit this mold. Deep Woods Camp For Boys is one in a million. Addison Cohen

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Boy's Camps: Then and Now......, May 21, 2007
reviewer: AddyCo from Denver, CO
I went to a Boy's camp in NC for 8 weeks at a time. From 1964 - 1967, this is how I would spend the bulk of my summers. While I had a MORE THAN terrific time, little did I realize just how much these 4 summers would provide in maturity for me...as a teen, and later on as an adult in the world. Luckily, this camp had been around since the 1920's, yet the essence of its founder, the focus on leadership, the 20 different activities one could choose from during the day, the extended overnight hikes and the wonderful commraderie of having friends all over the US.....was sustained by the founders son and his staff. Looking around for an experience "kinda like" the one I had......I knew it would be VERY difficult. Insurance liability rates - cost of utilities - the cost of the land necessary to have a "camp in the woods" - cost of EVERYTHING to run a camp - finding "the right" counselors who one could TRUST with a bunch of boys - making certain they had multiple skills to teach and support the kids - and most importanly...having a camp director who had created and maintained a VISION of what the camp experience should be for just over a month and what the camper should come away with..............we knew this would not be easy. At a business function, I met someone and we got on the subject of camps. He raved about this camp in NC that he both attended and then was a counselor at. My gut told me I was on to something! After finding their website and then speaking with the Camps Director..........I knew right away that this would be the PERFECT choice of camps for my 12 yr old son to experience. We made the committment. My son is almost 17 now....and his summers are pre-occupied with working as a lifeguard, teaching swimming, making money, ane chillin'. However, he still talks about / compares his experiences @ Camp with us and others. He hopes to get back as a counselor during one of his summers' off from College. He figures that the renewal of being in the mountains, working under this camps director and leading hikes would be the most compelling diversion from a year of college he could think of!! As well as making some money...! There are VERY FEW camps left in the US that are: solely focused on boys experiencing the beauty and terrain of the mountains - working together in teams for mutual outcomes - that plan hikes away from main camp every week - that encourage self-fortitude and personal independence to rise up from ones core being - and that will both challenge and expand a boys ability to mature and become more self-confident. We all know how hard it is to accomplish this as parents during the course of a year, much less a 5 week period. Yet the affects are both immediate and residual. And there will continue to be VERY FEW trustworthy owner/ directors of camps - now & into the future - that are totally committed to making this experience for young men their personal life's work. That Camp is DeepWoods for Boys! Take your child and go see it for yourself!! Your son will thank you for many years to come. The Colorado Cohen's

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

A PARENT'S PERSPECTIVE, May 17, 2007
reviewer: gcohen from Savannah, GA
Our 12-year-old son attended Deepwoods for the first time last summer. We chose this camp after hearing how great it was from my brother and his son who attended a few years ago. He traveled from Denver, CO. to attend. We knew from the positive feed back from my nephew that this would be an amazing experience where our son would learn to be confident, independent, and become a strong young man with a sense of value. We were looking for a truly hands on wilderness camp for our son. We sent him to a religious based over night camp the summer before Deepwoods and were taken back at the end of the four weeks that our son never used his hiking boots and did not have any true outdoor overnight camping. Most kids had their electronic devices and the whole camping idea was lost. We wanted an environment for our son to experience nature; serious hiking, that would last several days or more and learn the basics of survival in the woods, map reading, sense of direction, following a trail, getting along in a tough environment where one has to pull his own weight, think of the team, not just themselves. Jared, being 11 and never experiencing such a rigorous program before, we decided to check in with Kells the first week to make sure he was all right- then the fun began... The letters that started coming home, in his own words, “you cannot even imagine the things that we are doing!” “I am having the time of my life!” these boys were on the trail from day one- bringing their meals- and camping out night after night in the beautiful mountains and literally hiking their buts off. Learning all the responsibilities of setting up camp, gathering wood, building a proper fire, cooking, what and what not to do to protect the forest now and in the future, all the attitude that seems to be lacking due to no experience in the woods. This was a life altering experience for our son to say the least. He was a changed boy when he came home. He was more self reliant and sufficient, respectful and grateful for everything especially the things that he had completely taken for granted….Mom’s home cooked meals, etc. He learned how to be a true leader under Kells careful yet fun program on how to run a camp for boys. The program that Kells offers, I am sorry to say, is becoming a lost art and a lost outlet for young people to experience camp the way it was when I went to camp in N.C. as a young man. Too many young children today have never experienced “unplugging” the TV, the headphones, the video games, etc for an extended time. Leaving all that interruption behind and getting quiet, getting in touch with yourself and experiencing the great outdoors. We all know that kids need a sense of perspective that just cannot come from a screen! Kells’ program offers that rare perspective. Our son has not stopped talking about returning this summer. He is heading back and has already asked about staying for the whole season…We miss him when he is gone, but we would miss even more what he gets out it! George & Ruth Cohen

Was this review helpful to you?  


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Life Building experience, May 08, 2007
reviewer: Peyton from Alexandria, VA
Deepwoods Camp for Boys is by far the best place a developing youngman could spend a summer if not every summer of his adolescent years. It has a genuine outdoor program in which its participants are engrossed in nature. This camp teaches skills rare to come by, from whitewater canoeing, rockclimbing, backpacking, mountain biking to trekking and creek hiking. It is also the best place for a boy to get muddy and dirty and enjoy that warm summer breeze that comes up a mountain slope. It is rare to find that such an environment can impart so much. It was easy for me to enroll my son for camp after my experience years before. He confirmed for me what I knew deep in my heart. Deepwoods Camp is truly a life building experience.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

What I Did On My Summer Vacation, May 04, 2007
reviewer: Sue and Joe from
I have three college-age sons who all attended Deep Woods Camp for Boys. I've read all the other reviews, and I agree with what other parents have said. The camp is a unique and wonderful outdoor experience for boys in these high-tech, over-protective days. My most important observation about Deep Woods and the leadership of Kells Hogan the director, is that every year when my boys came home from their stint at camp I felt that I was seeing in each of my sons a little glimpse of what kind of man he would become. And what I saw was varying stages in the development of a confident, independent, self-sufficient, environmentally aware young man who would be a natural leader among his peers. I'm proud to say this is just the kind of men my sons have grown into, and summers at Deep Woods are partly responsible. I recommend this camp to any parent who's son loves the outdoors. I'm certain your son will grow and benefit from his weeks at Deep Woods. I'm equally certain that one day your son will look back on his summers at Deep Woods as some of the best days of his life.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

My Deep Woods Adventure, May 04, 2007
reviewer: clayton w lowery from baton rouge, LA
My Mom sent me to Deep Woods in the 70's to get me away from the city and give me a experience that I would not have in Louisiana. She has told me many times that Deep Woods was one of the best decisions she made while raising four children by herself. If you are doing your research than look no further than the camp that is the only true outdoor adventure camp. I have been to church camp, boy scout camp and several others . They all were good but Deep Woods is special because you are truly in the mountains experiencing the outdoors on a regular basis. The camp is in Brevard which is at the base of the Pisgah National Forest. We had a wide variety of trips which included day hikes, multiple overnight hikes , canoe trips, mountain biking , rock climbing etc. I enjoyed the multiple overnight hikes. I was a camper, Ranger, counselor and than finally Ranger counselor. I hiked many miles in the mountains and visit Deep Woods in the summer when work permits. I want to say thanks to Kells Hogan because he is the heart and soul of Deep Woods and he has done a great job providing what young men need in a summer camp. Send your son to Deep Woods. It has made me a better person and while I am bragging- at 46 I can still out hike any person on this planet. Give me a map, compass and a pick up point and I will get you there. Grow for it.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Absolutely the best summer experience, May 02, 2007
reviewer: aemq000 from
Deep Woods camp is an unparalled outdoor experience for boys. Activities are rich in their simplicity, whether hiking for a week on the Appalachian Trail or canoing down wilderness rivers. Boys learn to face physical challenges with confidence and to be leaders. The clock is provided by nature, not by whistles or bells signaling a new activity every hour. In the evenings when the boys are in camp, activities are limited only by the imagination. A beautiful pond for canoing and diving, a field for ball games, a piano and fireplace for singing all provide the raw material for entertainment. Boys learn to rely on their own ideas and creativity within a small, safe and supportive camp environment. This camp is purposely old-fashioned in its goals. Boys learn self-confidence, self-reliance and a love of nature. Our son has attended for 5 years and the Deep Woods experience has been a foundation for his strength of character and resilience. We thank Deep Woods every day for the lessons it taught and skills it imparted to our son and to all of his friends who have attended.

Was this review helpful to you?  


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Boys into Men, May 01, 2007
reviewer: mariamulcahy from
Deep Woods Camp is one of the last true adventure camps. It is a place where boys play, work, revel in their boyhood, challenge themselves in every conceivable way and come out not just stronger, not just more able, but more certain of who they are in the bigger picture. I think it's the unexplainable effect that nature has on us as human beings. I also give credit to the effect on boys after spending weeks at a time with a band of brothers. My brother was a camper back in the 70s and he still talks about it being one of the best experiences of his life. He decided to give my son his first Summer at Deep Woods as a gift five years ago. In his mind it was something that absolutely HAD to happen for his nephew (my brother has only girls). Each Summer my son comes home having made unbelievable strides both physically and emotionally. This year he is 17 and entering his 3rd year as a ranger. To my utter surprise and delight he has decided to use the proceeds from his very first job to pay his own way to camp this year. For such a thing to be his first priority speaks volumes about the person he is on his way to becoming and how important Deep Woods has been to him in that endeavor. What a wonderful place. Kells (camp founder and director) deserves a standing ovation! Maria Mulcahy

Was this review helpful to you?  


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Have fun while developing skills and maturity, Apr 30, 2007
reviewer: ADevx from Charlottesville, VA
I have heard many stories from and about former Deep Woods campers who, years later, still emphasize the important role that the camp has played in their life and who refer to former campers and staff members almost as if they were family. This tells me that there is something unique and very powerful about the Deep Woods experience. I believe the camp offers an exciting and stimulating range of activities in a spectacular natural setting; the combination is something that few, if any, other camps can equal. Deep Woods Camp for Boys operates an active outdoors program that makes full use of the wilderness of western North Carolina. A typical week might include one day mountain biking along secluded and challenging trails, one day rock climbing one of the many spectacular rock faces of the region, two nights and three days camping out on a trail hike, one day canoeing a white water river, and one day on a day hike through the high altitude evergreen forests that cloak the highest peaks east of the Rockies. In the course of a four-week (or longer) session, campers will make new friends, they will have fun, they will learn new skills, and they will accomplish things they most likely thought themselves incapable of before going to Deep Woods. The stories that parents hear when their boys come home will revolve around how much fun the rope swing was or how their counselor taught them to start a fire in a downpour. But beyond these stories, parents are likely to notice something else in their sons: a bit more self-reliance, a bit more confidence, a greater tendency to stick with a task even when it doesn't come easily. This happens because at Deep Woods boys can engage in a variety of high energy outdoor activities that they enjoy but that also challenge them in a non-competitive environment. Along the way, some responsibility is expected of them - they will learn to do a camping set-up in a matter of minutes that will protect them from the elements; they will learn how to cook over a fire; they will learn how to work with the other boys in their cabin to get from Point A to Point B. In short, Deep Woods creates an environment that lets boys be boys while simultaneously developing the discipline, judgment, and responsibility that will be necessary in adulthood. My relationship with Deep Woods Camp goes back over two decades. I spent five summers there as a camper during the 1980s and then returned to work there as a counselor during the 1990s and 2000s. Based on my own extensive experience with the camp, I would recommend it wholeheartedly to boys who enjoy an active lifestyle out of doors. The camp provides a wholesome setting (zero tolerance for drugs, alcohol, & tobacco products) and the staff create a controlled and safe environment for the campers. During the weeks away from cell phones and e-mail, boys will live in a world in which nearly all communication is face-to-face: stories are told around campfires, jokes are told in the cabins at night - the ability to deliver a punchline becomes more important than sending a text message. In this environment boys can forge friendships with boys from other parts of the country, they can meet and surpass challenges, and they will form memories to last a lifetime.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

A boy's dream, Apr 30, 2007
reviewer: rhirschfield from Raleigh, NC
Two summers ago, I was looking for a camp to send my stepson. We had recently moved to North Carolina from Baltimore and all he knew was an urban camp setting at a community center. I'd gone to sleepaway camp as a girl scout and knew that it was a great experience. I wanted to find a camp where my stepson would have to rough it a bit -- not one of these "country club" camps with air conditioned cabins. I found Deep Woods on the internet, and got in touch with Kells Hogan (director). The setting was perfect and the price was right. We signed him up for the first 4 weeks. Other parents have already written about the changes in their sons upon return from camp -- this was true for my stepson as well. We found him to be more mature, confident and self-sufficient after that first summer. We signed him up again for the next year, and after the first 3 weeks, he called begging us to let him stay for the entire 10 weeks. He was promoted to junior ranger for the second session and took on a new level of responsibility. Kells has invited him back as a ranger for this coming summer's first session. We are immensely grateful for the experience that Deep Woods has provided for my stepson. There aren't too many camps out there with the same emphasis on integrity, teamwork and appreciation of the outdoors. We hope that he will continue to grow with Deep Woods, and perhaps return as a counselor in the years to come.

Was this review helpful to you?  


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Both our sons have gone to Deep Woods, Apr 29, 2007
reviewer: Nancy Fields from Massachusetts
Deep Woods Camp has been a wonderful experience for our 2 sons. Both attended when they were 10 years old, and each looked forward to their return in hopes of becoming camp rangers when they got older. Our younger son, who just turned 17, will be returning for his 8th summer at Deep Woods Camp. This program taught both our boys self reliance, independence and gave them self confidence in a variety in real life situations. They love the outdoors, and especially enjoyed their hikes along the Appalachian Trail. Our sons also made many friends from other parts of the country, whom they would never have met, otherwise.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Best Boys Camp in the USA, Apr 27, 2007
reviewer: SusieQ from Orlando, FL
Crafts, horseback riding, fancy bedding, gourmet food, video games, IPods - you won't find it at Deep Woods camp. Hiking, zip cording, swimming in the lake, canoeing, cooking over camp fire, sleeping under the star, fresh air, this you will find. If your son loves the outdoors and is in good shape to hike the mountains in North Carolina..... you may want to look into this great camp. This camp is right outside Ashville, N.C. or 45 minutes from Greenville, S.C. in a beautiful spot in the mountains. When my son was in middle school I threaten to find a camp and send him to it as soon as possible one day when he and I were at opposite ends. He begged me to let him find it and off to the internet he went and came back with a print out of Deep Woods Camp. He is a senior in college and still going to camp, but as a counselor now. This camp lasts a minimum of 4 weeks and up to 10 weeks which seems like a long time for a Mom, but my son would call at the end of a session and ask to stay longer. I would complain that we didn't get to see him all summer and he would say "You have me all school year - I love this place and want to stay". The ratio of camper to counselor is amazing!! He would come home and talk for hours about all the fun he had. Now this is not a camp for whiners or babies. You do a lot of hiking and no one is interested in your tired bones or sore legs. They start out with day hikes, work to overnight, then 3 day trips and end with a week on the trail. The boys carry everything in their backpacks for the trip. This includes extra clothes, cans of food, matches to start the campfire, sleeping bags, etc. The owner, Kells Hogan, believes that kids these days don't have time in their busy schedules to enjoy the outdoors which I am in complete agreement. My son is not heavy by any means, but when he gets home from camp - he if very buff!! Leave your electronic equipment home for it is not allowed at this camp. My son would say there is nothing like being on top of the mountain, breathing clean fresh air, and listening to the wildlife. He loved sleeping in a hammock tied to trees under the stars at night. The boys all have duties when at camp such as helping with dinner and keeping the grounds clean. When on the trails they have responsibilities such as cooking, gathering wood for the camp fire, cleaning up, finding water, etc. They will bath in the river (now I am not sure how much bathing middle school kids do) Looking back over all these years I can write about the things my son learned which never dawned on me at the time but as a senior in college - I can see it now. Deep Woods Camp helped him to: 1. Get along with kids his own age, those a few years older and respect his elders. 2. He learned how to survive in the woods. I really feel my son could be dropped in the middle of a forest and find his way out and find food to eat until he did. 3. He learned to respect the environment and to appreciate our wildlife and how precious it is to our future. 4. He learned responsibility of caring for others and patience in teaching those younger than himself. 5. He learned how to cook on an open fire and cook in general. 6. He learned all types of trees, plants, how to purify water. 7. He learned how to endure blisters and sore legs. 8. He learned how to handle a canoe and rock climb. 9. Just recently he told him that camp taught him how to be away from home and be happy. He said you have no idea how many kids are homesick for months when they first go to college. 10. He learned how to keep good grades in school to be able to attend and stay at camp as long as he wanted. 11. He learned not to be a picky eater. 12. He learned to keep his space neat and clean. 13. He learned how to teach boys younger than him all the above. This is a very wholesome camp. Leave all illegal items at home for it will not be tolerated and kids will be sent home that do not abide by the rules. Don't get me wrong, there is a lot of fun, horsing around and games that boys that age play. I always felt that my son was safe when he was at camp and around boys with the same interest. I still do!! This camp is very inexpensive when you figure it last for 4 weeks and they are housed and feed well this whole time along with all they get to do. You will be investing in a good form fitting backpack, hiking shoes or good tennis shoes, light sleeping blanket, (bascially hiking gear) My son loves to spend time in outdoor stores and reads many reviews to make sure he gets the best deal and right equipment!! But he hates a shopping mall. You can't go wrong with this camp if you have a son that loves the outdoors and everything that goes along with it.

Was this review helpful to you?  


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

A Perfect Boy's Place, Apr 27, 2007
reviewer: Allain and Mary Catherine from
Our 2 sons, now 13 and 16, have each gone to Deep Woods for several summers. The camp is unique in that almost all days - and a fair number of nights - are spent out of camp on backpacking trips, canoeing, rock climbing, river hiking, mountain biking and similar activities. For our boys it is the perfect break from school and the rest of their programmed (e.g. soccer, piano, homework) home lives. Since each day for each cabin has one main, high-energy, group activity, the boys have plenty of time to just be boys. Although there is is not much structured in-camp programming, the boys often have late afternoons and evenings in camp, which is in a beautiful secluded-feeling mountain setting. There is a small lake for swimming and paddling and a great rope swing into the lake. There always will be a ping-pong game going in the main dining hall, and some of the boys will just be relaxing and reading. After dinner the boys often will play a pick-up soccer game or capture-the-flag. The staff at Deep Woods has been excellent. Most of the counselors have been campers previously and all have extensive experience in the camp's outdoor activities. They have done a very good job of providing appropriate supervision and safety while still letting the boys enjoy their experiences. We are a second generation Deep Woods family. I was a camper and counselor during the late 70's and 80's. It is a pleasure to see our boys developing the love for the outdoors, confidence, and a sense of independence that were such a big part of my Deep Woods experience.

Was this review helpful to you?  


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Deep Woods Camp ROCKS!!, Apr 27, 2007
reviewer: Sandy Mayfield from Atlanta, Georgia
Deep Woods Camp for Boys far exceeds my greatest hopes and expectations. My son has attended this camp for the past three years, attending at age 10 for the first time. At age 13, he is already looking forward to this year's session. After seeing the camp's mountainous and deeply wooded acreage. with the lake, dock, rope swing and zip line -- I was ready to sign myself up for camp! I cannot imagine a more beautiful camp anywhere in the world -- with so much fun waiting for the boys. Each year, when I pick up my son from the camp session, he talks non-stop for the whole drive home from Brevard to Atlanta. He is just full of laughter as he tells funny tales of camp and backpacking life. He starts talking so quickly, with such excitement, that he can't get the words out. The stories continue being told and retold for a couple of months and then they fade out. But then, around January or February of each year, he starts looking forward again to camp ... and the stories start all over. Also, each year after camp, I find that my son's level of maturity is richer and deeper. He comes home from camp with more of a "do it yourself" and "take personal responsibility" attitude -- not just responsibility for chores but also responsibility for his own personal fun and happiness. Perhaps this is the camp director's and camp counselor's leadership qualities rubbing off on him. Over these past few years, I've gotten to know Kells Hogan, the camp director. When he retired from the Army Rangers, he purchased hundreds of acres of mountainous property -- with a vision to develop the land into a camp for boys. Then he personally built the dam that created the lake and built each of the cabins, bathhouse and lodge. He saw what he wanted and he worked to make it happen. Kells is exactly the kind of role model I want my son to have. Through each camp session, Deep Woods camp is "developing" the next generation of camp counselors -- and what a great group of guys they are! As a rule, the counselors are clean cut (no tattoos or earrings), salt of the earth, smart college students who want to "give back" to the current generation of counselors. Without exception, I would be proud to have any of the camp counselors as my own son. My son has enjoyed Deep Woods camp so much that I have pleaded and tried to negotiate with the camp director to offer a girls session -- so my daughter could attend. She's missing out on these great summers. With hesitation, I recommend Deep Woods Camp for your son(s). They will thank you for the great experience.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Well Structured Adventure Program, Apr 27, 2007
reviewer: jonlambeth from Atlanta, GA
Deep Woods has a very well run adventure program that your son will remember for the rest of his life. With trips such as a simple day hike to picturesque waterfalls, canoe and rafting trips, rock climbing, mountain biking, and overnight hikes through the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains, the program is well rounded and a must for any boy 10 to 14. In addition the Ranger Program, consisting of boys 15 to 17 that have been invited back to assist in camp activities, is an excellent way for your boy to gain valuable leadership skills.

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 33 of 33 reviews Back to Paged View