View All Reviews - Insidecamps.com

Customer reviews for Charis Hills Camp
Avg. Customer Review (5.0 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 23
Email a friend about this .


Write an online review and share your thoughts.



Showing 1 to 23 of 23 reviews
Back to Paged View  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Awesome Experience, Jul 31, 2013
reviewer: Barbara Cramer from
My 14 year old son attended Charis Hills for the first time, and was nervous but willing to try something new. A week seemed like a LONG time to him when we dropped him off. However, what emerged after the week's end, was a happy, joyful, confident boy who cannot wait to return. He loved the activities, found that EVERYONE was his friend, and may consider more than a week next year! I found the staff to be very caring, competent, fun-loving, patient, and well organized. They (acted as and) were a family based on Christian beliefs and so welcoming. We were so happy that our son was happy.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Amazing Camp!!, Jul 08, 2013
reviewer: stacie511 from Houston, Texas
My son has Asperger's and this camp was an amazing experience for hiim. The two people that run the camp are awesome and the counselors are equally as awesome. They truly care about making sure your child has a fun time and they are so patient. I like the fact the kids get to pick the activities they are interested in. I highly recommend this camp to anyone with Asperger's, ADHD, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

A special place for awesome kids!, Aug 11, 2012
reviewer: smurrell from Texas Hill Country
My daughter attend her first ever over night camp at Charis Hills this summer. (July 2012) She had always wanted to attend an overnight camp, but with her high anxiety and severe ADHD, I never felt comfortable enough sending her to an over night camp. When we experienced a Family Camp weekend in October of 2011, I knew this would be the PERFECT camping experience for my daughter. From the very beginning, the camp directors make you feel comfortable. I was able to discuss my concerns, as well as my daughters. The process for medication distribution is well thought-out leaving me no concerns that her medicine would be given to her daily, and appropriately, while she was in their care. The postcard from the camp counselor reassured me that she was doing fine during her camp experience. What sets this camp off from the others is the high quality individuals they hire for their camp sessions. I had no doubt when I dropped off my daughter that she was is loving, Godly hands. The true testament of this outstanding camp comes from my daughter. She came home and shared stories from her week at Charis Hills that showed how loved, accepted and, most importantly, how much fun she had while she was there! My daughter can not wait for her two week stay next year!

Was this review helpful to you?  


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Highly Recommend!!, Aug 11, 2012
reviewer: Cam2003 from San Antonio, Texas
Charis Hills Camp is awesome!  Our son has RAD (Reactive Attachment Disorder) and PTSD (Post Traumatic Disorder), and this camp was able to provide our son with a week of spiritual, safe, and structured fun!  This was the first time our son has been to camp and we were unsure of how well he would react to this transition of strangers and unfamiliar environment away from family and home.  He surprised us and did really well from the start.  The staff and counselors are top notch and really see your child as an individual, not a child that needs to fit into a mold.  The ratio of campers vs. counselor is the best part of Charis Hills.  I believe the small groups helped our son feel safe and transition well in camp.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Exceeded all Expectations, Aug 08, 2012
reviewer: kdavid from
My son's first time being away from home could not have been a more positive experience. Taylor loved everything - the activities, the counselors, the cabins even the food (and that's saying alot for him). I was amazed at the devotion, kindness and patience the counselors showed the kids. Taylor told me there was a counselor they called Mom and any kids that got homesick went to talk to him and he would make them feel better. I was so worried about Taylor being in a different environment but as soon as I started seeing the pictures on the website (hundreds each day), I knew he was fine. I could see big smiles, laughing, running - pure happiness. Taylor tends to be negative and yet he has not said one bad thing about his camp experience. He's already made it clear he is going for two weeks next year.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Best Camp Ever!, Jul 26, 2012
reviewer: bonniesuzanne from Austin, Texas
Our son has high functioning Austim and has been going to Charis Hills for five years. We could not make it without this camp! The confidence and character-building skills he gets from his time at Charis Hills carries him through out the rest of the year. I only wish that we could find a school or full-time year around place that was as good as Charis Hills. The camp directors and counselors understand the kids and care for them in ways that no one else does. The activities are fun and entertaining and push the kids to do things they didn't know they could. Even the most socially awkward kids are accepted and make friends at this camp and they way they all cheer for each is amazing. No one is left out or is alone. The counselors make sure everyone is always included. They can even handle the toughest kids and make them feel a part of the crowd. Kids even like the food! The facilities are great and spacious with plenty of variety for every type of interest. The counselors are trained to deal with homesick kids who are having trouble being away from home for the first time or those who need to stay in their patterns. This camp is truly a wonderful blessing for parents of kids on the autism spectrum and those with ADD and ADHD. Not many camps understand these kids but Charis Hills does and loves them! Charis Hills changed our son's life and our lives because we found a place he can be happy. Thank you Colleen and Rand for all you do!

Was this review helpful to you?  


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Our child loved it! This camp is wonderful., Jul 23, 2012
reviewer: cc4mom from
Our son wanted to go to sleep away camp and I was concerned because of a severe speech delay he had as a young child that has left him with some communication shortfalls that a large unstructured camp was not going to be a good experience. This is his second year at camp (2011 and 2012) and he liked it so much he is back for a second session this year. The Camp Owners and Counselors-- are gifted educators, they like what they are doing and they are very very good at guiding kids and dealing with some challenging situations. The smile in our child's face and how proud he was of being the first one in his class to go to sleep away camp was priceless. The Southards have a special place in our heart they truly are dedicated to providing kids a wonderful experience. They are patient, caring, and follow their example of kindness and the belief all children can react to positive reenforcement. Our daughter who just turned 7 cannot wait to join her brother, and even though, she has no special needs we feel very comfortable that this is a great camp for her too.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Awesome Christian / Special Needs Camp, Jul 07, 2011
reviewer: Rwrdds from
The camp was awesome. My son attended the second summer session of 2011 and he loved it. He has not stopped talking about it since he returned. He made new friends. The counselors are great. Each of them came up to my son on the last day and made sure to invite him back next year. The camp itself is beautiful. I would definitely recommend Charis Hills to anyone looking for a Christian / Special Needs Camp. My son will definitely be back next year!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Great Camp!, Aug 16, 2010
reviewer: SaraL from Houston, TX
I have no complaints for Charis Hills summer camp. The staff is wonderful, the grounds and facilities are immacualte and the program is perfect for any child with learning differences. It is a camp where kids can make friends and feel understood. Worth the drive and the cost!

Was this review helpful to you?  


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Charis Hills is the highlight of my daughter's year!, Aug 02, 2010
reviewer: ktssmile from San Antonio, TX
My daughter has ADHD, Bipolar and mood disorder, and has a hard time making friends and "fitting in". The first year I picked her up from Charis Hills, I cried becuase she was calling other campers by their names and she had made friends. She had 2 shoe-strings full of beads!! Campers get beads for helping out, being encouraging to others, using good manners, etc! Immediate recognition for good things done or attempted. The counselors are always encouraging, and accepting with the campers, they understand these disabilities! This was my daughter's 4th year and each year she is ready to go back! We tried church camp, where her brothers go, but it was to big and too unstructured for my daughter. She looks forward to the activities and the schedule they keep. Being Christian-based, each camper receives a Bible from camp and they spend a little time each day in study with their counselors, but mainly they have FUN!! She has enjoyed activities like Giddy-Up (horseback riding), photography, Camp News, swimming, and they also offer archery, riflery, 'just for fun', and so many other activites that each camper gets to choose from BEFORE they go to camp. Also before they go to camp, parents fill out informatin for the Camp staff to know about their camper. Any concerns you may have, they want to know them, so they can help your child have fun and make friends! After the first year, you and your child will be hooked! The money is well worth the reward! Awesome memories :-)

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Great Camp for Asperger's ADD ADHD Kids! Highly Recommended!, Jul 28, 2010
reviewer: bonniesuzanne from Austin, TX
Our son has Asperger's Syndrome and this was his third year at Charis Hills Camp. He looks forward to coming to camp all year long! The counselors are amazing and the staff loves and cares for the kids and their families in such incredible ways. Everyone feels welcome from the moment you drive onto the property. The camp is spread over 100 acres and is laid out perfectly with great new buildings, cabins and barns. There are several lakes and lots of room to play. My son's favorite part were all of the activities that had something for everyone-everything from animal care with horseback riding to arts and crafts to geocaching (treasure hunting) to fishing and archery. The counselors work very hard to make sure every kid is included and feels a part of the group and to encourage friendships among the kids. Social skills are also worked on regularly, something that was important to us. We like that Charis Hills uses the bead reward system and it is fun to see the bead necklaces from each year with the special beads for various things from camp. We also loved the daily pictures of what was going on at camp and the award ceremony at the end. It was so much fun to see all the kids excited for their awards. The facilities at Charis Hills are new, very well built and top notch. Plenty of space. The food was very high quality and our son loved all of it and ate very well. He said everyone liked the food, even the picky eaters and no one had problems eating. We have been very happy with Charis Hills and really have no negatives. The camp has been a blessing to our family and our son asks to go back each year. He has made lifelong friends and it has given him self-confidence and helped him learn to be more independent. This is a great camp for boys or girls. Our son started in the younger session and is now in the teen session and both sessions are great. The sessions are each geared age-appropriately. Don't miss out on this great opportunity for your child to have a great camp experience.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

You can rest easy when your specialcamper is at Charis Hills, Jul 27, 2010
reviewer: Claudia339 from Bastrop, TX
My daughter has multiple disabilities, and going to church camp has always been iffy. Will they give her the meds correctly and on time? Will they be put off by her differences? Will they expect her to learn and compete like a typical kid? Charis Hills does a WONDERFUL job of managing all the kids' needs and still being LOTS of fun. The counselors were mainly special ed teachers or majors, and the counselor/camper ratio was something like 1 to 2.5. The nurses were great. The activities were entirely appropriate. My daughter raved over the food, which included following her special diet. I really enjoyed looking at the over 800 pictures they posted online throughout the week, so I could see with my own eyes that she was having fun. The farm animals there, all very gentle, were a great hit with my daughter. These people REALLY know how to make camp healthy, happy and safe. I would recommend this camp to anyone whose child needs to feel normal and one-of-the-group, while still having special needs met. They do such a beautiful job. I'm so grateful.

Was this review helpful to you?  


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Excellent place for a child with ADHD/Bipolar disorder!, Jul 16, 2010
reviewer: jancochran1 from Paris, TX
My son actually had an accident while at camp and hurt his shoulder. The owners of the camp took him to the emergency room right away, called me immediately and treated my son with loving care!!! Everyone at camp is very interested in the campers and their feelings, sensitive to their differences, and really work with the kids to help them build confidence and self-esteem. My son became so attached to Rand and Colleen that he cried when returning home because he was afraid he would never see them again. We have reassured Tristion he will definitely be seeing them again!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Highly Recommend!, Jul 10, 2010
reviewer: from houston from Houston, Texas
My son was here for his third year and talks about going back next year. He enjoyed all the activities, says the food is great. I enjoyed watching all the pictures online. The owners and the counselors do a really good job.

Was this review helpful to you?  


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Awesome camp, Jul 05, 2010
reviewer: kelly from Arkansas
My twins (boy/girl) have attended this camp 3 years in a row. My son has aspergers and it has been great for him. My daughter doesn't have any special needs and loves this camp. The staff are highly trained to work and care for all these special needs kids and they are just awesome. I look foreward to many years of my kids attending Charis Hills Camp.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Absolutely The Best, Jul 05, 2010
reviewer: Nancy & David from
Our son has attended 4 years at Charis Hills (2007, 2008, 2009, 2010) he is now 13. It is so hard to send your child off to camp, even tougher when your child may have some differences that make it even more difficult and downright scary for us parents. These folks are absolute PROS. They are experienced, educated, and caring. My son's time at Charis Hills each year has been instrumental in his emotional development, his self confidence, and his ability to deal with life's challenges. We have very diverse religious differences in our home (Jewish & Catholic). Charis Hills is sensitive to all beliefs.

Was this review helpful to you?  


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Great Confidence-Building Camp!, Aug 24, 2009
reviewer: bonniesuzanne from Austin, Texas
Our son has attended Charis Hills for 2 years and has gained so much from this camp. The counselors and staff are very well trained and can handle anything! They love the kids and get even the shy-est kid involved. All the kids feel accepted and gain self-confidence. The great variety of activities mean any kid can find something they like to do. The campers make lifelong friends and learn to get along with others. The new facilities are top-notch and will only improve as the camp grows. As the parent of an Asperger's child, I feel very blessed to have found such an incredible camp for my son where he can feel accepted and gain the self-esteem he needs to carry him through the school year. We highly recommend Charis Hills to anyone who will listen and look forward to many more summers at this awesome camp.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

A haven for special needs children, Jul 15, 2009
reviewer: mmillsap from Fort Worth, Texas
Our son has attended Charis Hills for two years (2008 & 2009). He loves it so much that he will be attending another session later this summer. The staff is top notch, with caring hearts and well equipped to deal with the campers special needs. There are lots of activities from swimming and photography to riding horses or archery. The facilities are also very nice and our son raves about the food. I would recommend it to anyone!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Super Fun Camp for Kids With Learning Differences, Jul 13, 2009
reviewer: Lynnk from San Antonio, TX
Charis Hills is a wonderful summer camp. Our kids have been campers there for two years now...and have had a blast! The counselors and staff do an amazing job of teaching the children that no matter who you are or what you are going through...you are wonderfully made by God. Our kids have come home every year with self confidence and lots of fun stories to tell! I would highly recommend this camp for children with or without learning differences.

Was this review helpful to you?  


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Charis Hills is fantastic!, Jul 10, 2009
reviewer: Cami from Keller, TX
My daughter has high-functioning autism. When she was 11, I took a leap of faith and registered her for one week of camp at Charis Hills, which at that time was located over five hours away from our home. I am so glad I did it. She had a great time at camp that first year. She is now 13, and for the last two years, she has attended the 2-week session at Charis Hills. Charis Hills provides a loving, nurturing and fun atmosphere for kids who need more help and supervision than the typical child. My daughter has enjoyed their activities, food, counselors, and has made some new friends along the way. She will continue to attend Charis Hills each summer. I highly recommend this camp and encourage you to consider it for your child.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Great Camp, Jul 06, 2009
reviewer: lwalker5@tx.rr.com from Plano, TX
My son is ADHD and impulsive. He has attend Charis Hills the last two summers and has been successful there both times. He is looking forward to going back next year. The camp's positive behavior systems works well for him and they are able to bring out the best in him. The campers are well supported by caring Christian staff. He enjoys the variety of activities and especially likes the fun (and well trained) counselors. The facility is new this year and is a wonderful place. I would highly recommend this camp especially if you have concerns that you child would not make it through the week at a traditional camp.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

She was so proud!, Jul 04, 2009
reviewer: artrandi from Phoenix, AZ
We love Charis Hills! My daughter spent her first camping experience at Charis Hills. To hear her tell her stories and sing songs that she learned was such a proud moment! I could tell that her sense of self got a boost, and that she had made some good friends. She thrived on the attention from the counselors, and felt welcomed. It was really cool to see the photos that the kids took at camp which were played on the big screen in the dining hall. She still has her bead necklace. Each bead was earned by doing a good deed; she felt very accomplished. She had new skills to show off. She really wanted to stay on for another week, and I'm sure she would have. We will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Wonderful Christian Camp for learning different kids, Jul 01, 2009
reviewer: mkjecbrown from Dallas, Texas
Charis Hills provided our two sons with a great learning experience. They enjoyed the many different types of activities they got to participate in each day. They had fun in NOVA, which is the structured learning time of each day. The Bible time was fun and upbeat and they were excited to get their own bible for camp! They were filled with tons of self confidence and their self esteem was boosted big time with all the encouraging words and actions of the many well trained counselors that were at camp. They are so excited about camp that they want to go back as soon as possible. And this was their first camp experience and first time away from home, and they had so much fun that they want to return as soon as possible! The structured daily activities was great for their learning issues. They loved the food each day! All the counselors and staff were wonderful and they only had good words to say about everyone that worked there. I would highly recommend this camp if you have a child on the autism spectrum who requires more one on one time with social skills training, team work, academics, and to boost their self esteem.

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 23 of 23 reviews Back to Paged View